We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, lovely staff”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As part of the pirate weekend with a ton of Goths, 4 of us stayed here to swim, drink and be merry. It was awesome. The room was clean (with activity books on the bunk beds for the 'kids'). The room was clean and tidy, however you couldn't leave the window open for security reasons with it being ground floor. It got a little stuffy.

The bars in the hotels were lovely, we made fine use of them and they let us have pretty much anything we wanted in our slushies! We comandeered a part of the bar with a boat in it and the singers started, they successfully put up with our antics and entertained us all.

If they could put better security (bars?) on the windows then it would have been amazing, I can't imagine how stuffy it would be in June/July/August!!

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Aileen E,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us during our Pirate Weekend in February! It sounds like you all had an awesome time with us.

We're sorry to hear you found your room hot. We advise keeping windows closed to keep the squirrels out, however we do provide fans for use. We are embarking on a phased refurbishment of this hotel to provide air conditioning in all rooms to resolve this.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,439 - 1,445 of 2,710 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I found this experience one of the most frustrating times of my life! The site is so hard to navigate and when you go out of the booking form area to decide what restaurant you want to eat in, you can't get back! I did this process 3 times before ringing and eventually getting to speak to a human by just pressing 3 every time. Got to speak to a very lovely 'Andrew' who made sure that we had everything sorted. He could not even see if we had managed to book the restaurant (as they only get to view the same screen as us!). He walked over to the restaurant to ensure that we were booked in and then the restaurant manager rang us to tell us that we were now booked in......service. Just hope the stay will be worth the money now!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Emma H,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're sorry to hear your difficulties experienced whilst booking online. We have passed your comments onto our web team to look into to ensure this process is smooth and easy to use for all our guests.

We're pleased Andrew has been able to help resolve this issue for you, and we look forward to seeing you all very shortly!

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Kids love this place, an x box in our room too! Service was good, all you can eat breakfast and themed rooms.
Beds are a bit hard but for one night it's ok, I wouldn't want to spend any more time here though.
Tv channels are not great in the bedrooms either but free wifi is handy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Jay C,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to hear your children enjoy their stays in the Alton Towers Hotel, and you find our service good, and all enjoy our themed rooms available.

We're sorry to hear your views on our bed comfort and TV comfort, and shall pass your comments onto our development team to ensure all our guests have a fantastic stay with us.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have stayed previously, almost yearly, at both splash landings and alton towers hotel, find that they can be a bit noisy later at night with families/groups etc running in corridors past your room but hey ho its a family hotel. Also previousl had felt alton towers hotel rooms were a bit tired. Stayed again in Alton Towers hotel, bathrooms revamped. modern, lovely, spotlessly clean. Arrived home today. We had room 139 at end of corridor and backing on to grassy area. Very peaceful and as room was at end of corridor, no noise from people running in corridors late at night. Ate at flambos restaurant both nights, food reasonable and plentiful, breaksfast in secret garden, lovely. Such a difference getting into that park and onto the rides an hour earlier between 9 and 10am. Will definately return.

Room Tip: ask for a room at end of corridor when there is reduced volume of people passing outside your room.K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Les4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Les4756,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent short break at the Alton Towers Hotel and visit to the Theme Park. We are glad that you noticed improvements, with the refurbishments of the bathroom, and found your room to be spotlessly clean and quiet. It's great that you enjoyed your breakfast and evening meal too!

Thanks again for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've stayed at the Alton Towers Hotel twice now, and both times it has been brilliant! The rooms are well equipped, with a lovely modern bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities with plenty of teabags/coffee and milk, and the beds are very comfy. My room overlooked the lake and fountain and was lovely to look out on. The 2 days for the price of one tickets for the park that you can get as a hotel guest are great value, and the early ride time is an added bonus. The Aqua Relaxation rooms in the Alton Towers Spa are well worth a visit, so relaxing and very affordable. The Secret Garden restaurant does a fantastic breakfast buffet which is all good quality, and the evening menu is varied, meals are delicious and well presented, and the service very quick. Booking a table is recommended, which you can do at the check in desk or beforehand online. The bar and evening entertainment is also brilliant, drinks are very reasonably priced. Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tink_On_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Tink_On_Holiday,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the Hotel, to the Restaurants and Spa! We agree that Early Ride Time is a great way to make the most out of your time with us, and the second day free Theme Park entrance is a great bonus for Hotel Guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for your 3rd visit!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I found the other reviews of Alton Towers Hotel really useful as I then made an informed choice to spend the extra on upgrading to the Moon Voyage rooms (lovely new furnishings, air-con-a must!-and quiet corridor). We are fortunate that we could take advantage of the Scottish school holidays finishing just before the English schools break-up and therefore avoiding the large Qs.
Food (Secret Garden and Flambo's in the Splash Landing Hotel) was plentiful and pleasant and the staff were lovely, especially the lovely blond haired woman in the gift shop (sorry I didn't ask your name). Evening entertainment hit the mark for all ages.
Loved the gardens and the woodland walk to the Theme Park was ideal, quicker than the monorail. I must say, I found all the staff to be excellent and assume that the resort is a huge local employer.
Importantly though, all the time I reminded myself that it was a Theme Park Hotel and as such, found it excellent.
Love the lifts! Can't wait to return with big and little kids.
Just one "geeky" point that might help the hotel, the fridge in our room had been boxed in with no place to vent so the heat build up in the drawer above was immense (good for drying socks!). I reckon you may need to replace a lot of fridges soon!! or just install vents in the built-in furniture to allow the excess heat to escape.

Room Tip: Moon Voyage rooms at the Alton Towers Hotel-quiet, well placed and still fresh. Love the alcove for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubblingBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear BubblingBrook,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Alton Towers Hotel in a Moon Voyage Room and visit to the Theme Park. We are glad that all the members of staff you encountered were so friendly and polite and that you enjoyed your evening meals in both of our Restaurants.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the fridge in your room, we will be sure to pass this information onto our Housekeeping Team.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arrived Saturday as part of a hen party. Left our bags in the locked room with the understanding they would be delivered to the room although after telling the person labelling the bags the name to put on them both spelling it out each time and eventually writing it on the whiteboard myself he still got it wrong resulting in our bags not being in our rooms and having to go and look for them! Our time in the park couldn't be faulted and was very enjoyable however our experience at the hotel ruined our experience. We booked our stay through 'Freedom' and it was a total shambles! We arrived for our meal at the restaurant to be sat at our table at 9. We then waited! Eventually the server came over and the bride to be had to prove on her phone that we should have had cocktails on arrival, he then had to check it was ok for us to get these even though we paid for them as part of the package! We also ordered food from a pre order menu only to have that changed before hand to a very limited menu. We then waited! We eventually got our drinks. I then complained on behalf of the party that we were still waiting for our food to be rudely told that it was on its way and to sit back down and the gentleman would come and speak to us after our meal. We then had our main meal which the party left more than half of due to the lateness, not one person asked if everything was ok? Surely clearing away plates of food hardly eaten should have raised alarm bells especially when your in charge? At this point one of the party went back to the room. After the deserts eventually came the bride to be spoke to another manager who knew nothing about our complaint as the gentleman previously spoken to had finished and hadn't passed anything on. She did however arrange for the drinks removed from our bill and for free wine at splash landings. We were also told we had missed the provided entertainment and made our way over to splash landings where we were told would be music etc. it was far from it. Some repeated music on low. We encounter several hen parties who were also thoroughly disappointed. The bride to be was upset and disappointed with her weekend and felt bad that her guests had not enjoyed there evening etc that she returned to her room quite early. I was planning on returning to the hotel with my family but unfortunately this experience has not lived up to what I hoped and I doubt very much I will return but seek to stay at a hotel outside the resort which is a shame as my boys had pinned there hopes on a themed room but with what we have experienced my money would be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're sorry that your recent stay at Alton Towers Hotel did not live up to your expectations. We are aware that you have been contacted by our Guest Relations Team, and we hope they have been able to work out a resolution to your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £40 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing