We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but restaurants not equipt to accommodate everyone”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Very clean but restaurants not equipt to accommodate everyone”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were lovely and very clean, service was great and staff were friendly! Only things I could say is that the restaurants are really busy and you must book early if you have children as last minute bookings mean waiting until 9pm to sit down for dinner, I found restaurants quite expensive but the food was nice enough. Arcades are nice and there is a couple round the hotel. All in all I really enjoyed my holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paigemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Paigemorrison,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel, and enjoyed our amenities across the Resort whilst also finding our staff friendly.

Our hotel restaurants are incredibly popular, and we do strongly advise to book early to secure a time which suits you. You can book these by calling our reservation team or by using our online booking form located in the Hotels section of our website.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    806
    483
    198
    132
See reviews for
1,431
396
7
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. The rooms were well equipped. The bathroom was immaculate however the doors and windows were covered with fingerprints. The room was also unbearably hot although a fan was provided in the room. The tables in the outside area were also very dirty with ants crawling on them. All members of staff were friendly, polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Claire1877,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel, and found our staff very friendly and helpful.

We're sorry to hear you found cleanliness could be improved in areas. We shall pass this onto our cleansing teams to review. We're also sorry to hear you found your room hot, we do provide a fan and windows open at both top and bottom to aid circulation, however we're sorry this affected your visit. We are embarking on refurbishing our rooms throughout the Alton Towers Hotel and these include Air Conditioning.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

As part of the pirate weekend with a ton of Goths, 4 of us stayed here to swim, drink and be merry. It was awesome. The room was clean (with activity books on the bunk beds for the 'kids'). The room was clean and tidy, however you couldn't leave the window open for security reasons with it being ground floor. It got a little stuffy.

The bars in the hotels were lovely, we made fine use of them and they let us have pretty much anything we wanted in our slushies! We comandeered a part of the bar with a boat in it and the singers started, they successfully put up with our antics and entertained us all.

If they could put better security (bars?) on the windows then it would have been amazing, I can't imagine how stuffy it would be in June/July/August!!

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Aileen E,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us during our Pirate Weekend in February! It sounds like you all had an awesome time with us.

We're sorry to hear you found your room hot. We advise keeping windows closed to keep the squirrels out, however we do provide fans for use. We are embarking on a phased refurbishment of this hotel to provide air conditioning in all rooms to resolve this.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I found this experience one of the most frustrating times of my life! The site is so hard to navigate and when you go out of the booking form area to decide what restaurant you want to eat in, you can't get back! I did this process 3 times before ringing and eventually getting to speak to a human by just pressing 3 every time. Got to speak to a very lovely 'Andrew' who made sure that we had everything sorted. He could not even see if we had managed to book the restaurant (as they only get to view the same screen as us!). He walked over to the restaurant to ensure that we were booked in and then the restaurant manager rang us to tell us that we were now booked in......service. Just hope the stay will be worth the money now!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Emma H,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're sorry to hear your difficulties experienced whilst booking online. We have passed your comments onto our web team to look into to ensure this process is smooth and easy to use for all our guests.

We're pleased Andrew has been able to help resolve this issue for you, and we look forward to seeing you all very shortly!

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Kids love this place, an x box in our room too! Service was good, all you can eat breakfast and themed rooms.
Beds are a bit hard but for one night it's ok, I wouldn't want to spend any more time here though.
Tv channels are not great in the bedrooms either but free wifi is handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Jay C,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to hear your children enjoy their stays in the Alton Towers Hotel, and you find our service good, and all enjoy our themed rooms available.

We're sorry to hear your views on our bed comfort and TV comfort, and shall pass your comments onto our development team to ensure all our guests have a fantastic stay with us.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have stayed previously, almost yearly, at both splash landings and alton towers hotel, find that they can be a bit noisy later at night with families/groups etc running in corridors past your room but hey ho its a family hotel. Also previousl had felt alton towers hotel rooms were a bit tired. Stayed again in Alton Towers hotel, bathrooms revamped. modern, lovely, spotlessly clean. Arrived home today. We had room 139 at end of corridor and backing on to grassy area. Very peaceful and as room was at end of corridor, no noise from people running in corridors late at night. Ate at flambos restaurant both nights, food reasonable and plentiful, breaksfast in secret garden, lovely. Such a difference getting into that park and onto the rides an hour earlier between 9 and 10am. Will definately return.

Room Tip: ask for a room at end of corridor when there is reduced volume of people passing outside your room.K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Les4756,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent short break at the Alton Towers Hotel and visit to the Theme Park. We are glad that you noticed improvements, with the refurbishments of the bathroom, and found your room to be spotlessly clean and quiet. It's great that you enjoyed your breakfast and evening meal too!

Thanks again for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've stayed at the Alton Towers Hotel twice now, and both times it has been brilliant! The rooms are well equipped, with a lovely modern bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities with plenty of teabags/coffee and milk, and the beds are very comfy. My room overlooked the lake and fountain and was lovely to look out on. The 2 days for the price of one tickets for the park that you can get as a hotel guest are great value, and the early ride time is an added bonus. The Aqua Relaxation rooms in the Alton Towers Spa are well worth a visit, so relaxing and very affordable. The Secret Garden restaurant does a fantastic breakfast buffet which is all good quality, and the evening menu is varied, meals are delicious and well presented, and the service very quick. Booking a table is recommended, which you can do at the check in desk or beforehand online. The bar and evening entertainment is also brilliant, drinks are very reasonably priced. Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink_On_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Tink_On_Holiday,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from the Hotel, to the Restaurants and Spa! We agree that Early Ride Time is a great way to make the most out of your time with us, and the second day free Theme Park entrance is a great bonus for Hotel Guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for your 3rd visit!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
213 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Property: Alton Towers Hotel
Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing