We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family hotel and great setting”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here from Sunday until Wednesday on a three night break including park tickets. Prices were very reasonable as we booked some months in advance, this is the best location for visiting the theme park speaking from experience as we did visit last year and stayed at a local hotel away from the park.

The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, our son has autism which we explained to staff on arrival and they could not of enough to help us, although the hotel does not provide room service, they delivered evening meals to our room each night.

The hotel is magical for the kids, with cbeebies characters roaming the hotel to meet kids and have pictures taken, there is also a fantastic pirate ship on the ground floor so kids can play and lounge and seating areas for the parents to relax with a drink and watch after a busy day at the theme park.

The food is as good as a Hilton hotel or any other premium brand hotel chain. The monorail to the theme park is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, or if you choose you can take the longer walk, approximately 20 minutes to the park entrance. The hotel grounds also have a great fountain water feature and seating area to relax for stroll around.

Only downside we could see was that the lifts were very slow, and we felt it easier to take the stairs and carry the buggy to save time, one lift was out of order at the time but this could definitely be improved on, nevertheless this could not detract from a excellent all round experience.

We will be back again, highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank M4rkbr4dders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear M4rkbr4dders,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent short break at the Alton Towers Hotel. We are glad that our staff members were helpful and accommodating, and you found the food to be of an extremely high standard. It's great that you enjoyed the Hotels location and surroundings too.

We will be sure to pass your feedback regarding the lifts onto the relevant department, and apologise that one was out of order during your visit.

Thanks again for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,432 - 1,438 of 2,710 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Reception and parking easy and friendly.
Room was not the Garden view we were told it was but other than that it was pleasant enough with comfortable beds.
The Garden room restaurant at breakfast is ok but why oh why do they run out of things in this day and age how much would it cost to have a few wifi cameras over the food so the cooks can see what is running out?
In the evening the meals are fine but can be a bit pricey, however a bargain compared to the buffet at Splash landings. If you enjoy a loud cafe style experience with acceptable but not inspiring choices waste your money there.
The most expensive one is in Emperor Grill in Alton towers but frankly it's worth it as the uplift is not enormous v the improved service and quality on offer.
Entertainment is fine but it surprised us the show repeated every night, we stayed 4 so you can imagine we wished there were more sets, or at least jumble up the different sets they do across one evening.
Great to have access to the park early and used the woodland walk twice.
Also you can stay in the Splash Landings pool between sessions when it's busy as a guest, so long as you have bought tickets, which means less wait for the slides.
Will stay again, definitely in Alton Towers not Splash Landings but perhaps not for 4.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RCZWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear RCZWhite,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel, and enjoyed the amenities we have to offer.

We also thank you for your feedback. Our chefs have constant updates regarding food availability in the mornings and so we're sorry to hear there were issues in the morning. Our entertainments programme is the same for both days, with various different acts across both of our hotels in which all residents can watch, however we'll pass both of your comments onto the relevant teams to look into.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Fantastic hotel themed throughout one of the best themed hotels ive personally stayed in, your emerged into this different world from the minute you arrive on the car park. inside the alton hotel is so magical there is Sir Algenons ship as a center piece with the stairs spiraling down three floors to the restaurant and bar.

Rooms are of a high standard all with silent night mattresses, the themed rooms are out of this world, see website for different themed rooms. If you are going to stay at the hotel there is lots to see and do and the live entertainment on every-night is always worth going to especially if you have children.

Cost of hotel can be pretty pricey especially if you have a family and if you want theme park tickets or water park tickets these can be booked with a room as a part of a deal although this might bump the price up even more.

Scarefest in October or fireworks in November these are the times you want to stay in the hotel as there is so much to do on park at the end of the day you just don't want the fun to end no matter how old you are. also traffic can be a nightmare so i would advise stopping over.

The alton hotel is more for couples and friends i think the themeing is alot more grown up and no matter what your age is always travel floor to floor in the lift, so well themed. If you do have a family i would suggest splash landings hotel next door both hotels interlink. if you fancy leaving the kids and the husband to go wild on the park and you want to relax the alton towers spa is the place to go fantastic relaxing place definatley an attraction worth visiting if you need to unwind. the spa is about to be expanded so look out for updates on alton towers.com.

I must also add new for 2015 the enchanted village lodges tree houses it seems like its going to live up to its name as Alton towers like to do worlds 1st. Im going to be stopping there in 2015 but will you!

overall review great hotel great location but can be pricey if you have a group of mates split the price stay over and be amazed.

Room Tip: all rooms vary in price depending on how many sleeping the themed rooms can be very expensive but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dazz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Dazz T,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Alton Towers Hotel, and found it to be a magical experience. We are sure that the advice that you have given will be very useful to any future visitors and we look forward to seeing you next year at the Enchanted Village!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed as a large group, visiting the park during the day then the spa the following day. Right from our arrival the staff were fantastic - helpful friendly and welcoming. They let us leave our bags while we went of to the park, as we couldn't check in until 3. We all came back from the park exhausted and needing a nap! Although the beds were comfortable enough, the room was too hot to sleep in though! The window only opened a couple of inches and had a slightly unnerving warning about intruder squirrels on it, and even with a standing fan on full power, the room was so incredibly warm. It wasn't just our rooms either - we had 3 that were all boiling - as soon as you opened the door to our corridor there was a wall of heat.


Our dinner in the restaurant was booked for 9, which was a little later than we'd have liked, but the food was lovely. Again, the staff was really friendly and helpful, but there were a couple of mix ups with our orders - and the table next to us had some issues too. By the time we'd finished eating the "entertainment" was all finished, so we wandered over to the Splash Landings hotel, where the bar was open later, but it was dead! There was a hen do next to us, but even lying awake in the heat, you couldn't hear a peep from the other rooms.

The breakfast was great - a good variety and everything I tried was perfectly tasty. If we'd been going back in the park, we could have loaded up and been sorted for the day!

Room Tip: I think we may have been above the kitchens and that may have been responsible for the heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hopscotch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear hopscotch85,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from all of our guests and we are pleased to read that overall you had a great short break at the Alton Towers Hotel. We are glad that all of the members of staff you encountered were friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed both your breakfast and evening meal in the Secret Garden Restaurants.

We understand that the rooms can get warm and therefore we do provide a fan in every room for all guests, we do have safety restrictions on how far the lower window can open to ensure children’s safety, but if you pull down the top window it should create a lovely breeze keeping the rooms at a comfortable temperature. We are sorry if this wasn't the case during your stay, our Reception Team will be happy to provide additional fans if required, and we have recently refurbished a corridor of standard rooms into Moon Voyage Rooms, which all contain an air conditioning unit.

Thanks again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for three days. Room comfortable and clean. We had a really nice time. Staff friendly and efficient. Restaurants are very busy and food was reasonably good. Good place to stay with kids and obviously alton towers. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Cal26_11,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel!

We take great pride in our Resort, and we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed our food, our theme park and our staffing!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were lovely and very clean, service was great and staff were friendly! Only things I could say is that the restaurants are really busy and you must book early if you have children as last minute bookings mean waiting until 9pm to sit down for dinner, I found restaurants quite expensive but the food was nice enough. Arcades are nice and there is a couple round the hotel. All in all I really enjoyed my holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paigemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Paigemorrison,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel, and enjoyed our amenities across the Resort whilst also finding our staff friendly.

Our hotel restaurants are incredibly popular, and we do strongly advise to book early to secure a time which suits you. You can book these by calling our reservation team or by using our online booking form located in the Hotels section of our website.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. The rooms were well equipped. The bathroom was immaculate however the doors and windows were covered with fingerprints. The room was also unbearably hot although a fan was provided in the room. The tables in the outside area were also very dirty with ants crawling on them. All members of staff were friendly, polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Claire1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Claire1877,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the Alton Towers Hotel, and found our staff very friendly and helpful.

We're sorry to hear you found cleanliness could be improved in areas. We shall pass this onto our cleansing teams to review. We're also sorry to hear you found your room hot, we do provide a fan and windows open at both top and bottom to aid circulation, however we're sorry this affected your visit. We are embarking on refurbishing our rooms throughout the Alton Towers Hotel and these include Air Conditioning.

We thank you for visiting, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Peter
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £40 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing