We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alton Towers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Teesside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Got back today from an overnight stay in a voyager room, two adults two children, seven and five.Room was fabulous, decor, layout and immaculately clean. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful and were knowledgeable regarding cariba creek, theme park etc. We dined in the secret garden and the food and service were both excellent.Prices were as expected, great value for kids with two menus for different age groups.Server was attentive and our meals arrived quickly. Breakfast was excellent and there were enough choices even for the fussiest diner.Staff were quick to get you seated and they were polite and cheery. Overall we all had a great stay and will definately be returning. Five stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Marty M,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you had a lovely time at the Alton Towers Hotel in a Moon Voyage Room. We are pleased that you found our staff members to be helpful and polite, and enjoyed both your evening meal and breakfast. We really hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    808
    482
    199
    132
See reviews for
1,434
396
7
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at The Alton Towers Hotel after booking it as part of a half price promotion by the Sun newspaper (including two free tickets for the park on an allocated date) Didn't really consider what the hotel was like as we need to stay somewhere because we live so faraway .That said was pleasantly surprised by the hotel itself it was very relaxing after the park ,the room was a good size and very comfy . We ate at the secret garden the food was nice enough and quite reasonable .We were in room 104 and having had a very early start were all ready for bed at about 9.30 ,however that room is very noisy and we could hear all the entertainment which luckily stopped at 10pm but we were sooooo tired it didn't keep us awake, but may affect others.

The park itself was, as expected very busy but we had pre purchased fast track for some of our favorite rides so managed to save time that way .The early ride time on Sunday was faaab went straight to the Smiler queued for about 20 minutes but by the time we got off the queue time was 90 minutes !!!We didn't have time to visit Splash landings but will factor that in next time .
All in all a lovely conclusion to the school holidays would love to visit again and maybe stay an extra night .However would be even better if it had a pool of its own as did not have time for splash landings but would have liked a quick dip !

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room .Wish we had !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suephCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear suephCardiff,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you had a fantastic short break at the Alton Towers Hotel and had a great time visiting the Theme Park. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have been desperate to stay in this suite for years now, and I have to say it was certainly worth the wait! I was absolutely delighted with the room, it is very girly, and perfect for a hen weekend. We were all able to get ready for our evening meal at the same time thanks to the seats and mirrors then when we had finished our meal (which was gorgeous as ever, in the secret garden) we were able to dance around with the disco ball in till all hours of the morning, drink the bottles of coke (diet and regular) eat crisps and chocolates that were all included in the room. Along with the fastpasses for two days for the runaway mine train, rapids and Charlie and the chocolate factory. We got loads of compliments on our outfits (we dressed as disney characters), and some of the other guests even asked to have their photo taken with us! I would definitely stay here again and would absolutely recommend this room to anyone thinking of having their hen party here! There were five of us, but the room does sleep six and there is an adjoining room which sleeps another four people, so could have ten in total.

Room Tip: Themed rooms are always a good choice and I would happily recommend the peter rabbit room, pirate su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZazzyGAltonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear ZazzyGAltonFan,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic short break at the Alton Towers Hotel in the Sleepover Room. It's great that you had such a lovely Hen Party with us and enjoyed your evening meal in the Secret Garden Restaurant.

We really look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived Sunday checked our bags in, quick dash and look round both hotels before heading straight to the park! We had fast track tickets and didn't need to que for anything.... BRILL!! My face was all over the boards on site welcoming my Hen Do and was a lovely touch. At 2.30 we had afternoon tea on the lawns overlooking the towers! Wow amazing! The food (there was soo much of it and it was incredible quality), staff, flowers down the table and location couldn't of been better. We felt like royalty. We went back to the rooms. We had the sleepover room and two connecting rooms off it and celebration room. Thanks to my bridesmaids who spent all week making it and also Aunties who had driven to meet us for the evening they were decorated incredibly and H2B had organised pitchers of cocktails for the party, roses, champagne and chocolates! We had tea in secret garden, lovely food and staff! Then partied in the sleepover room. Conga-ing at 2.30am round reception. Breakfast at Secret Garden and it was yummy filling us up for a morning of treatment and relaxation at the spa, it was lovely and relaxing and the staff were brilliant. Then back to secret garden for lunch and cocktails before heading home! Thankyou all so much for everything you did for us! Brilliant and would recommend the VIP team and Trevor Austin for a Hen Weekend or any special occasions you have!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Emma0308,

Thank you for taking the time to complete such a kind review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your hen weekend at the Alton Towers Resort in the Sleepover Room. We will be sure to pass your comments onto Trevor, we are sure that he will be over the moon to find out how much of a great time you had. We hope that you have a lovely wedding day, maybe we will see you again for a Honeymoon celebration?!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Alton Towers Hotel for my little boys birthday! We have been a couple of times now and the children love going.
It is a fun place to stay and I would have rated it 5 star only our room was directly above the live entertainment and it did sound like it was next door it was so loud!
We wanted to have a reasonably early night knowing we had two young children we were taking in to the park the following day but we were kept awake by loud singing!
Next time we go (and I would go back!) I will make sure that I request a room which is not on reception level above the bar!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teezer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Teezer32,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that overall you had a great time staying at the Alton Towers Hotel, and that your children enjoyed themselves. However we are sorry for the levels of noise that you experienced, our entertainment does come to an end at 10.30pm, but we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the relevant department to be reviewed. During the booking process, you can request specific rooms or locations in the Hotel, so we would highly recommend this for your next stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed on a Sunday Night in August, 5 of us including kids of 9,12 & 14, for a birthday treat. Did the whole experience, theme park - good, water park - don't bother & secret garden restaurant - ver good (all reviewed seperately). The hotel was great, the staff were great and the food was great. It was fantastic to walk back from the park, soaking wet thanks to the great British weather, and relax and not join the traffic getting out. The only gripe was the cost we had have 2 rooms so it worked out a bit pricey but to answer my original question, "was it worth it?".............yes it probably was.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent short break at the Alton Towers Hotel, and had a great time visiting the Theme Park. We are glad that you enjoyed your evening meal in the Secret Garden Restaurant too, and found our staff members to be so helpful and polite.

We do have rooms that can sleep up to 5 in the Alton Towers Hotel, and rooms that can sleep up to 6 in the Splash Landings Hotel, however numbers are very limited, so they can become fully booked quite far in advance, especially during peak periods.

Thanks again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Have literally just got back from a 2 night stay as a family of 4, in a moon voyage room, as a bit of a treat for our children & for our anniversary. Nice touch with the moon voyage rooms having a separate corridor, that can only be accessed with your room key. Once inside it's well laid out, with the kids bunk beds & x-box area separated by a rounded wall from the main bed area, main bed had a giant teddy sitting on it, unfortunately you can't take it with you! Decor was fun for the kids, although it was very dark in the room, even with all the lights on. Beds were quite comfortable & shower was very powerful...But we did have some issues..the door wouldn't lock, it was the same with the window, the x-box wasn't working & something has to be done about the noise..!..I honestly think the walls are made of paper! You can hear EVERYTHING in the next door rooms & the corridor & from outside...come on alton towers you charge enough, now make sure it's worth it..!! Over all a good stay, but very over priced.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 185Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte S, Online Sales & Information at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear 185Angel,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that overall you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at the Alton Towers Hotel in a Moon Voyage Room. It's great that you liked the separate corridor and the décor of the room.

However we are disappointed to read of the problems that you experienced with the X-box and doors and windows within the room. We do hope that these were resolved during your stay, but if you would like to discuss this further, please send a copy of your review to guest.relations@alton-towers.com and a member of the Guest Relations Team will be in touch. Please be assured that all of your comments will be passed back onto the Housekeeping Team.

Thanks again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future.

Best wishes,
Charlotte
Alton Towers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
1.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
8.9 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
375 reviews
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Property: Alton Towers Hotel
Address: Farley Lane, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alton Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing