We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,007)
Filter reviews
3,007 results
Traveller rating
1,045
926
585
263
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,045
926
585
263
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moon voyage the secret garden explorer room theme park splash landings water park alton towers evening entertainment themed rooms family room single bed pirate ship my daughter santa sleepover x box woodland walk park tickets
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 3,007 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Came back today from a one night stay with my husband & 9 year old son. We had taken advantage of an offer on a Moonvoyger Room on a B & B basis only.
I had read previous reviews & worried, but perhaps some people expect the Moon on a stick - or we were lovely.
We were wowed by the hotel decor. And the lifts - scary if you don't read the notes in the doors. Very quirky!
Room decor & layout was great, BUT I do have to say that although we didn't hear the entertainment (we were in Room 309 - do you don't hear all the downstairs noise), fellow guests were very inconsiderate when talking on the corridors & slamming doors.

Note for Management: I'd love to see some polite notices about reminding guests that some other guests may be sleeping. Most people just forget their surroundings.

The staff were lovely & helpful too.
If you have children under 16, this is a great hotel
Splash Landings & Cbeebies hotels are great for under5s.
I'd recommend anyone staying at the hotel to have a mooch about as there are lots of quirky bits & bobs.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Melanie B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad to hear that you had a great time when staying with us in the Alton Towers Hotel. It is great to hear that you loved the layout and we thank you for passing on your thoughts about the noise. It is also great to hear that staff members were great with you during your stay.

We hope you visit again very soon.

Kind Regards
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Returning after a winter break here at Alton that didn’t quite live up to expectations, first time around, have to say really impressed. Staff were extremely welcoming, would recommend that you definitely check in early so you can book your breakfast and dinner slots. You cannot check into your room till after 3pm but if you want a good breakfast time you need to book early. We stayed in the Moon voyager room, it’s a really lovely room and the bonus of bunks with their own tv and game station for a chilled evening meant we could all relax and have a bit of space.
Park was great fun and we are looking forward to our second day.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ebbers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Ebbers77,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for giving our Resort a 5* review. It is so great to hear that you had a great time when staying with us. It is great to hear that all our staff were really helpful with you. We are so glad that you love the room and the Park and we also hope that you enjoy your second day!

Kind Regards
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Came to this hotel 17 years ago, and was wowed. I had to return for a one night stay in June 2018 and read some reviews saying it had gone downhill. However, they are wrong. Customer service, friendly, helpful and accurate. Room, lots of room, beds comfy and more facilities than I expected. Area we were in was quiet. Breakfast, amazing..... Brilliant choice and suited all three of our varying tastes. Never saw anyone not smiling the whole time... Well done Alton Towers, BETTER than it was in 2001! One slight down, the Wifi, wasnt brill. But we didnt need it as I was enjoying myself too much

Room Tip: We overlooked the lake and were close to the Spa. This made it quieter
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Max2469

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for giving the Resort a 5* review. We are so glad to hear that you had a fantastic time when staying with us. Its great to hear that all our staff were great with you and that the room was great for you as well. We are glad that you loved your stay with us.

We hope you visit again very soon.

Kind Regards
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

After reading so many negative reviews on here it really put me off this hotel. But after our 1 night stay I was amazed at how fantastic this hotel was.
We checked in around 4pm and there was no queue at reception. My ID was checked and 2 room keys were printed out.
The room was fantastic. We had 1 lovely double bed and 1 single bed with the option to pull out a mattress to make a third bed as well.
There was a lovely smart TV there and a good selection of tea and coffee (and biscuits too!). I've stayed at many 4* hotels in the past and I would not rate this hotel any lower than these.
Additionally, the breakfast was also fab!

The only negatives I found were the fact that there was only a single plug socket in the room. Other than that the room was clean, spacious, and we had a fantastic stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank ReviewerSam999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad to hear that when you checked in it was done swiftly. We are also so happy to see that you enjoyed the room and the tea/coffee selection, along with the biscuits.

Our Teams work hard to ensured that you have a great breakfast ready for your day ahead and we are glad you were able to experience this.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We popped in as we were staying at the Splash Landings hotel for a drink and see the entertainment. Firstly it was decorated really nice and the pirate ship looked great, it had nice decoration with lots of tables and chairs. The restaurant looked nice but the food looked very pricey.
The entertainment was mediocre at best, great for little kids but boring for everyone else. This is where it all goes wrong THE BAR!!
The bar is card only so there is no cash taken over the bar. They was an old couple with their grandchildren who didn’t have a card only cash so they couldn’t get served. The drinks are very expensive £23 for a cheap bottle of Pinot. £4.50 a pint of lager. They was only only 2 people serving on a Bank holiday weekend Saturday night. Even they said it’s shocking that the prices are so high and not enough staff. Tips take your card and get ready to be ripped off and wait forever for a drink. I’m didn’t see the rooms and are supposed to be nice.
Alton Towers go and look how Butlins treat their holiday makers reasonably priced drinks, good comfortable rooms and great entertainment.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi andrew l,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to see that when you came to see our Hotel that you found that the decor and food looked good! We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the prices of the bar and that it is card only. We will take your feedback and pass it on appropriately.

We hope to see you again,

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews