We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idea”
Review of Alton Towers

Alton Towers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$56.15*
and up
Alton Towers Resort Admission Ticket with Meal...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Alton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Escape to the fantabulous world of the Alton Towers Resort - there's so much going on, the fun never stops! England's largest theme park offers 500 acres of attractions and rides the whole family can enjoy including X-Sector, Forbidden Valley, Dark Forest, Gloomy Wood, Katanga Canyon and CBeebies Land!
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You should open at 9 and shut the queues at 6 so gives more time to get on all the rides.and leave restaurants open an hour ish after closing cause thats the time everyone wants food and is hungry not half way round

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor for the Alton Towers Resort.

We really do appreciate receiving comments from our guests as constructive criticism helps us improve as a resort..

All feedback is welcomed as this helps us to improve our standards, service and facilities for our guests. This is something that will be shared with the relevant teams for them to take the relevant action where required.

Thanks again for your review and for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"theme park"
in 1,675 reviews
"big rides"
in 960 reviews
"cbeebies land"
in 1,396 reviews
"fast track tickets"
in 312 reviews
"queue times"
in 640 reviews
"runaway train"
in 197 reviews
"log flume"
in 464 reviews
"sky ride"
in 316 reviews
"sonic spinball"
in 200 reviews
"nemesis sub terra"
in 248 reviews
"ice age"
in 274 reviews
"free tickets"
in 175 reviews
"thorpe park"
in 304 reviews
"merlin passes"
in 188 reviews
"longest queue"
in 173 reviews
"main rides"
in 222 reviews
"popular rides"
in 148 reviews
Filter

306 - 310 of 14,773 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Queue management for Monorail was woeful. Instead of 'setting up' next load of passengers before next train arrived, staff simply stood around on empty platform and THEN sent trains out half full.

Park appeared ill-maintained and tatty. One Roller Coaster was shockingly rusty. No excuse, particularly in light of well publicised serious accidents in the past. A fresh lick of paint was long overdue in many areas.

Toilets however were pristine and not new, full marks to hygiene staff. Aquarium was also pristine and a very worthwhile experience in itself.

Beautiful area of the country, get 'off the beaten track' with a good map as we did.

Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Julian L,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor for the Alton Towers Resort.

We really do appreciate receiving comments from our guests.

We are disappointed to hear your comments regarding the Monorail and the upkeep of the park.

All feedback is welcomed as this helps us to improve our standards, service and facilities for our guests. This is something that will be shared with the relevant teams for them to take the relevant action where required.

We were very glad to hear that you were impressed with the maintenance of our toilet facilities and the Sharkbait Reef.

Kind Regards,
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Alton Towers many times a year and every time is a different trip. I love the new rides and attractions and the new food outlet stores by Wickerman, I'd definitely recommend! Hotels are ok if you can get it at a cheap price, I don't like Cbeebies hotel as I think it takes away from the Alton Towers hotel and brings in many kids which weren't there before.

1  Thank TravelGPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TravelGPH,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic visit here at the Resort and that you have left a 5* Review!

At the Resort we are all about ensuring that our guests leave us with such memorable experiences so it’s such a delight when we receive feedback such as yours. We loved reading your comments in regards to Wicker Man and also the new food outlet stores..

Thanks again, and we hope to see you all again soon!

Best Wishes,
The Customer Services Team
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited alton towers paid for a 2 day visit

Our group was about 25 people

Broken sewerage pipe
Rides braking down while on them

The enterprise ride was leaking hydrolic oil
When i brought the matter to the parks attention i was told they just hadnt cleaned the ride ... absolute rubbish i own a funfair an i know it shouldnt of been like that or open
When we went to complain about our visit 2 of the staff told me the same generic brush off

Its my opinion that ride wasnt safe an ruiend my visit as we felt unsafe

1  Thank Jolie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jolie S,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We are very saddened to hear of your experience. We pride ourselves on memorable and amazing experiences for all that visit or stay at our Resort. We apologise if your visit has not met your expectation. Our rides and attractions receive a thorough daily inspection, alongside rigorous maintenance and testing.

Thanks again for your review and for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Alton Towers Resort


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back yesterday from Alton towers this was our third visit and still enjoyed it however the opening times are crazy by staying in Alton towers itself you get early entry but there are only three rides open at 10 then you have to wait until 11 for the rest by then the queues are very long! My daughter had brought her boyfriend for the first time and it was a shame that they didn't manage to get everything done due to the times.I know they keep saying that this is not peak times but it is still summer and light until around 10 oclock at night so should stay open much later.I think they should take a leaf out of florida theme park times which are open until late so you get pleanty time to do what you want! Also another major problem is the rides breaking down which is so frustrating when your running out of time.

1  Thank jambette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear jambette,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor for the Alton Towers Resort.

We really do appreciate receiving comments from our guests.

We are disappointed to hear that you were unable to experience all of the rides due to stoppages and a lack of time.

All feedback is welcomed as this helps us to improve our standards, service and facilities for our guests. This is something that will be shared with the relevant teams for them to take the relevant action where required.

Kind Regards,
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alton Towers also viewed

 
Alton, Staffordshire
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Alton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing