We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Breathtakingly Beautiful!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Sweethills

The Sweethills annex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Sweethills annex
The annex
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
44 reviews
The Sweethills annex
The annex
Secluded garden area. A perfect place to relax in the sun.
Kitchen
Small dining facilities in the kitchen
Kitchen
Shower room/WC
Shower room/WC
Shower room/WC
The annex
Secluded garden area
Cottage garden infront of the annex
View to the front
View to the front
View from the rear
View to the front
Wintertime
Wintertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MattnBex
North Luffenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtakingly Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! This beautiful little cottage is a hidden gem in the fields of Staffordshire. We live in the sticks, yet the scenery and openness was still breath taking!
My partner and I booked this little cottage for a weekend getaway to visit Alton Towers, just 3 miles away.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Dorothy, the owner who was most welcoming. After a guided tour around the little cottage and beautifully maintained garden, Dorothy had also provided BBQ facilities and tea/coffee refreshments.
The bedroom was a good size, filled with light and views of countryside. The kitchen was modern and contained everything you needed. The bathroom had a lovely shower cubical, along with complimentary toiletries and was extremely clean.
Everything about it was so perfect, our only regret is that we only stayed one night!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing - It was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jemz1990
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Me and my partner stayed here to go to Alton towers for a weekend. It's only 10 minute drive and its such a nice relaxing location, bedroom was so lovely

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A no-brainer. Click 'Book'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Dorothy & John understand why people choose to come to the country. Our privacy and space were respected from the very start. That's not to say they were not available, but really the place is well kept that we didn't need to refer back to them. The property itself is decorated in a modern yet rustic manner. Particular note about the bedding, towels & bathroom - all were very clean though really the whole place was immaculate. We brought our dog along and he too loved it. Dorothy & John were most accommodating and welcoming of him too. In short, definitely recommend a weekend stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickbi198...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed on Friday 25th October. The cottage is in a great location for Alton towers & the little village of Alton. The cottage is situated on a farm attached to the owners home but its very private and peaceful. The cottage has its own parking space, garden & little sun house. The cottage is decorated gorgeous very modern, with a kitchen, small bathroom with a lovely shower & a good size bedroom. The cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location & the deco
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views from the annex
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt7128
stoke-on-trent
1 review
“The Most peaceful relaxing getaway we have had in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Well what can we say about our stay at the sweethills i stayed here with my partner on a lovely kid free break over Valentines day weekend February 2013 and we couldn't fault it, it was peaceful and relaxing, the apartment was finished to a very high standard and was absolutely spotless the owners were both lovely present people who clearly wen out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one including arriving to a complimentary bottle of wine and a box of my favorite chocolates there was a pint of fresh milk tea coffee and sugar which for a self catering break we thought was lovely the kitchen is well stocked with everything you could need, the bed was amazingly comfy their was even a selection of DVD's to watch a dvd player and tv , ample space to store your cloths and despite our stay being in the midle of winter snow everywhere and it was freezing the apartment was kept lovely and warm and really welcoming and homely to come back to would recommend the sweethills to anyone wanting a nice relaxing getaway with their partners - Matthew Callear and Bev Woodall thanks guys :-)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the high standard of finishing and furnashings
Liked least: nothing it was fab
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottersamm...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! Perfect for dog owners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just left Sweethills after staying for a night and I've got to say it was absolutely lovely! Greeted on arrival by Dorothy, who was very friendly and welcoming, and left us some chocolates and fresh milk! The bungalow was clean and inviting, and the views and walks were just spectacular! Rented the bungalow for the weekend due to it being my
partners birthday and he had a great time. Also took our German shepherd dog and the place was perfect for him, plenty of walks and a huge shared garden for him to play in! Lovely, big 5 stars will come again! Great price too!
Thank you.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing