We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant right in village centre!”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hoi An, Quang Nam-Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant right in village centre!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I grew up in Alton and have never before found a place to truly enjoy a great restaurant meal. The Royal Oak has fresh fish - I had squid with chilli flakes and Alioli for a starter and a large portion of mussels for the main. I've lived in Barcelona for a big part of my life so I know my seafood and well done the Royal Oak!

Definately recommend The Royal Oak Restaurant. Taking my mother next week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    54
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely place to grab dinner!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We visited The Royal Oak on a weekend at Alton Towers.

We were staying nearby in a B&B and chose to eat her because of the reviews on trip advisor. We did not have a reservation and when we arrived the place was very busy but the owner managed to make room for us anyway.

The food was lovely and the portions were huge. I would definitely recommend the steak and the chicken supreme.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous fresh food”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Loved our meal at this establishment. Very busy, which is always a good sign and the tasty platefuls of food spoke for themselves!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank harrisrogerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a pub, not a restaurant, but a great mix of each!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Dont let the outside fool you. It may look like a converted house, but the interior is a nice contemporary environment. The car park at the front is very small, but this is a very minor quibble.

The food is not cheap, however the price reflects the healthy portion sizes and the sheer quality of the food. The burger is literally one of the best burgers I have ever eaten (and I have had far too many), and you can see the care and attention in all of the food including the children's meals which are often poor elsewhere. My only criticism is that the food could do with some veg or something green on the plate.

Still a great meal out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank begaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Food - One of Favourite Pub Restaurants”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The food here was outstanding. No it is not the cheapest but there is a reason for this, massive portions, good quality, tasty wonderful food. I have never ever seen a meal of Pork Belly quite like it. The service is friendly and it feels like you are on a really proper night out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClovellyGuestHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

 
Alton, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing