We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Our third visit to this super inn was as good as the previous two. On our arrival we were greeted by Margaret the proprietor as part of the family. In no time at all we were then shown our accommodation for our three night stay (one of the caravans).This was comfortable clean and adequate. All the food and drink provided was wonderful as was the service provided by all the staff. Returning to the breakfast room was a great experience and finding soft toys that had been there since our first visit as well as new ones was good fun. All in all, a great place to stay, great service, and super location and very near Alton Towers. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fozzy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

Great Location 8 mins drive to Alton Towers, Value for money it really could not be beaten for price and Service nothing was to much trouble for the very friendly staff, Peakstones Inn had it all for a weekend at Alton Towers.

We arrived at about 22.30pm and even though the restaurant normally closes at 9pm we were offered food if we wanted. The well stocked bar / lounge is warm and cosy and has a huge selection of flavoured drinks and shots they even had one of my daughters favourite drinks tutti fruitti cider.

We booked a caravan for our stay and it was clean, dry and warm, the staff had been in at some point before our arrival and turned all the heating on for us arriving and everything that we needed worked, although there are about 6 static caravans located to the rear of the inn, this is not a caravan site don't expect stunning views, they are great value for money as rooms for a night and using them as a base to travel out from they also offer more space to relax and crash out than standard hotel rooms.

Breakfast as advertised was full english with lots of toast and was well cooked, you also had the option of having a cereal before your main breakfast and there was a good selection to choose from, orange juice, coffee and a small selection of different teas were also available, the breakfast rooms decoration is unique almost every available inch including the roof is covered in stuffed toys, not to eveyones taste I would imagine ( you can use the main lounge for breakfast if you don't ) but we loved it's funky style as it made for a fun start to the fireworks weekend, most of the other families kids who were in for breakfast seemed to think this room was fantastic.

We really enjoyed our stay at Peakstones Inn and we will be booking this hotel again for our trips to Alton Towers and I would recomend it to anyone looking for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Very nice home cooked food, homely pub atmosphere and close location to Alton Towers made our weekend a perfect family break. Margaret made us feel very welcome and the chalet was clean and tidy and we were able to park our car right outside the room. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paskyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed at the Peakstones with our 3 children, 3,9,11, in one of the 3 bedroom static caravans. when we arrived we were greeted by Margaret, (we had paid in full before we arrived)Having shown us all around the Pub lounge bars and themed restaurant with which we wre thoroughly delighted (we had to drag the 3yr old away) and they were fascinated with the round pool table. We were also given information as to opening times and food etc., We then went to the caravan which had at the time of booking been explained that they were older caravans, used for bed and breakfast and not self catering, all the beds were made up and fresh towels would be put into the caravans daily and if we wanted anything else just to ask.

We were also told about the work that was ongoing as to the log cabins which were to be replacing the caravans, but there would not be anyone working on the land whilst anyone was in the caravans.

Margaret and her staff were great with the children and they all want to go back again as soon as we can (Margaret is like the pied piper with all the kids following her around)

We can not fault the service, food and hospitality, the caravans were clean and welcoming and a good deal all round.

Visiting from Bristol.

Sue.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanwhiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Up until last year it never occurred to us to stay anywhere else other than the hotels at Alton Towers, until the credit crunched! We found Peakstones via Google. When we first rang to book 5 of us, we were asked if we would like a room or a caravan. I asked for a caravan as we like to get together after dinner for a chat, and thought it would be more spacious. We were greeted at the pub by Margi with a big brimming smile and the keys to the caravan, we went and had a look and were more than satisfied with the standard, immaculatley clean with sharp crisp white bedding and towels. The location is fab, some 5 mins in car to the theme park, the themed breakfast (along with some 1500 cuddley friends) beats 4 star hotels than we stay in at London. Margi and her very friendly staff can not do enough for you. Margi is a wealth of knowledge of hints tips nearest shop for lottery etc, proper traditional home cooked pub food at great prices . We no longer say we are going to Alton Towers with the papers free tickets, we say we are going to see Margi!! We have recommended to other family members who have stayed with children who played outside on the lawn area and Margi even joined in! excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccarthyclan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We booked into Peakstones Inn for a 2 night stay in one of their static caravans. We booked this due to the location for alton towers. When we rang to make the booking, we were told that we would be staying in a 3 bed, 8 berth caravan. Our party consisted of 2 adults & 4 teenagers. When we arrived at Peakstones we went into the bar to be greeted by the owner. She asked for payment before we were showed the caravan. In hindsight, I really should have asked to see the caravan before making payment. We were shown to the caravan & I was surprised to say the least. It was very old & tatty looking. I looked around the 3 bedrooms & found them to be cold & damp. Even the bedding was damp. As we had paid & had nowhere else to stay we decided we would have to make the most of it. As we had arrived at 5pm, the kids were quite hungry & wanted hot dogs for a snack. I tried to light the oven but found there was no gas. I looked in the cupboards & drawers & found there was no cutlery, cups or crockery. Our eldest child went to the bar area & asked if they had forgotten to supply us with these & to ask what the problem was with the oven. She was told that as it was bed & breakfast, there was no cooking facilities in the caravan. Hence there being no cuttlery or gas! The only form of heating we had was 2 small electric radiators. The gas fire was a useless feature! Our stay in the caravan is not something I would want anybody to experience. Im not the fussy type but that was just awful! We thought we would take the kids over to the bar as we were told that there was a pool table & dart board to keep them entertained. We were told that the pool table was out of order so they had nothing to do other than play darts with a set of darts that were falling apart. Needless to say we will never stay at Peakstones again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlou80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We read the negative review on here and were a little bit wary of booking but proceeded onwards to stay for 3 nights, owing to the location to the Towers. We had a friendly welcome, good accommodation, a hearty breakfast that lasted the whole day through! Fabulous evening meals and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely return again, if needing accommodation in that area - Margaret is a font of information with directions/hints and tips. All the staff were approachable and made you welcome, what more can you ask?? PS the shower in our lodge was brilliant! Thanks again to Margaret and her team.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelticGalCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.9 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
391 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
11.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant

Address: Cheadle Road, Alton ST10 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £67 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peakstones Inn, Piggery And Friends Restaurant Hotel Alton
Peakstones Hotel Piggery And Friends

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing