We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of the week after going to the Scarefest in Alton Towers. It took us around 5 mins to drive there from the main entrance and was really easy to find. We stayed in a chalet and it was quite nice, clean on the whole, and warm which was welcome after a long day. The only problem was the water pressure was very low in the morning and this made for a cold shower for my husband- 15 mins later when the pressure returned (we assume this is due to demand) the shower was warm again- his loss!!! The pillows and quilts could do with replacing as they were a bit thin and I have to say, one of them although clean was a bit smelly- much to the amusement of my children. However, it is the end of the season and we assume this will be sorted shortly so don't let that put you off. The pub is really nice and quirky with 'roundish' pool tables and a dart board with a an extra layer of numbers.
The breakfast is served between 8-9 am and was very good. Choice of cereals, juice and a lovely cooked breakfast. The owner was very friendly and this makes a difference so thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from staying here while visiting Alton towers . Stayed in chalet one night which was Lovely but Margaret let us move to a caravan next day for the rest of our stay for a bit more room as we had two teenagers with us. Food was delish my son is a fussy eater and cleared his plate every night and loved his hot fudge cake desert tht he says he's goin bk to see Margaret for. Margaret the owner couldn't have been anymore helpfull and Ben my son took a shine to her will defo be returning. X

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have stayed here for several year now when I have visited Alton Tower not only is it a stones throw away from the park but I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when I am visiting , it is lovely and has every thing you could want and need after a long day out , I have stayed in a caravan and in a chalet, both have been very comfortable and very cosy.
Margaret and staff have always been very lovely, accommodating and the food is great, the breakfast sets you up for the whole day, all this just adds to a brilliant holiday !!
so if you are visiting the Alton area and need a place to stay choose this place because it is well worth your money !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph_how
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Set minutes from alton towers this is our second stay now at the piggery.an inn full of character. Excellent real fires and friendly locals. Spacious family room, lovely breakfast,nothing went uncatered for. Margaret is lovely and very accomodating of our 5 children. A must!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oz2044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After staying in a chalet here for 1 night after visiting alton towers it certainly did not live up to the reviews. The chalet was finished to a very poor standard with the shower pole hanging off, mismatching bathroom suite and general woodwork and fittings that look like the were put up in the dark. The bed continually squeaked with any slight movement and having glass panels down the side of the door with no curtain certainly woke us very early! As for the breakfast room it just looks very dusty and oppressive. No choice of toast at breakfast.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Majoroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had a fantastic stay. Family of 4 in chalet. Bunk Beds and a Double bed. Located just 5 min drive from Alton Towers. Dinner was from the bar menu and Breakfast was good but nothing special.
As a first time visitor to this B&B I found it a little confusing getting into the pub to check-in as there is no signage and pub only appears to open after 7pm.
Would stay again without a doubt.

Room Tip: If poss get a chalet or caravan, just accross the carpark but away from the noise of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Staying over for the night after visiting the park, well what more can you want! The owner and staff are so friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean, the food and breakfast was lovely. The owner even called in the karaoke guy to entertain after I asked was it on, just a request as I had seen it mentioned in a review. So all in all the Peakstones Inn is a fabulous stay and we'll worth the fee, which was very reasonable. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tan2themax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.9 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
7.4 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
7.0 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
386 reviews
12.6 mi away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant

Address: Cheadle Road, Alton ST10 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alton
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peakstones Inn, Piggery And Friends Restaurant Hotel Alton
Peakstones Hotel Piggery And Friends

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing