We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rare gem !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A rare gem !!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed with my two sons in this beautiful B & B on the 28th for one night and can not begin to understand the comments made on this site by a previous customer. Margaret greeted us warmly and looked after me as I had just been stung before we had even introduced ourselves. The family room we had booked was spotless and very comfortable and the decor was not at all dated. On booking Magaret had warned me that from the room I would be able to hear the noise from the pub which I told her was fine but there was no loud music midweek and nothing above normal talking which quite honestly had no effect on us as we were soo tired after being at Alton Towers for the day. We had dinner in the pub which was freshly made and was great plus our breakfast in the morning was the same with plenty of extra tea and toast. We were given loads of extra tea and coffee for our room when we asked and the cost of everything was a real bargain. I am glad that we found this beautiful B & B to stay inn and would definitely reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    46
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
75
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We were recommended to stop here by a family friend .myself . partner and our three kids traveled frome Chelmsford and found the peak stones Inn to be a lovely friendly place to be. between days to alton towers which is ten minutes away. Clean rooms and good food. Would certainly recommend others to go. enjoy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ideally located within 5 minutes drive from Alton Towers and a fantastic breakfast - that's it for the good points!!

We were 2 adults with 3 children who had spent a busy day at Alton Towers during Scarefest last October and were looking forward to a good nights sleep as we returning to Alton Towers the day after - this was not to be as the DJ/karaoke carried on until well past midnight (midweek) and you could hear everything, word for word as if he was actually in the bedroom with us. To add insult to injury he could be clearly heard saying "I hope the family in the family room directly above here aren't having too much trouble getting to sleep!" which was met to a round of raucous laughter.

Prior to booking the stay I had spoken to Margaret on the phone and she seemed extremely pleasant and friendly, however, when we arrived we were ignored and left waiting almost 10 minutes to check in. After that Margaret barely spoke more than a few words to us - not the lovely welcoming lady that had drawn us to staying here after reading good reviews.

The decor in the pub and the rooms is very dated/drab and the whole place could do with sprucing up - if only for a lick of paint!

I would definitely NOT stay here again or recommend it if you are expecting a good nights sleep despite it's close proximity to Alton Towers.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the pub if you are wanting a good nights sleep - IMPOSSIBLE with the DJ continuing un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRach19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

There are many reasons you must stay at Peakstones Inn
but the best reason is“Very warm and welcoming hosts.
Margaret, the owner is extremely kind”
Rooms are beautiful, breakfast excellent.
I am glad that I chose Peakstones Inn stay for our accommodation
I would recommend Peakstones Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we have just come back from here we had a lovely time Margaret is one of the nicest lady's I have met in a long time she made us feel like we was part of the family nothing was to much trouble can't wait to see all the good things she is going to do there can't wait to go back will see u again soon thanks for our love stay x x x

Room Tip: this B&B is 4 mins away from alton towers and the manger of this B&B was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I call Peakstones Inn my second home! Margaret, the owner is extremely kind and polite and helps with any enquiries you may have. The breakfast is delicious and ditto to the evening meals. Accommodation is very good and the pub is gorgeous!

Love it, thank you Margaret XXX

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in one of the chalets with our two boys aged 12 and 10 for 3 nights in the Easter Holidays. Great location to Alton Towers and not too far from the Peak District and the caves and walking that it has to offer. The owner, Margaret, is a star. Very helpful, friendly and down to earth. We had a problem with our heating and hot water the first night and Margaret did her upmost to sort it out. Boys loved the breakfast room full of teddies and left a soft toy pig there, won from Alton Towers, to add to her collection. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustGoForIt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
1.9 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
11.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
7.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant

Property: Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Address: Cheadle Road, Alton ST10 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peakstones Inn, Piggery And Friends Restaurant Hotel Alton
Peakstones Hotel Piggery And Friends

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing