We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$360
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel(Uttoxeter)(Great Value!)
US$114
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel(Ashbourne)(Great Value!)
US$103
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Uttoxeter)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
70
50
10
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
50
10
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomround poolalton towershost margaretdry sense of humourstayed here for three nightsstayed in the family roompeak districtgreat showerb and bshort staydouble bed and bunk bedsfood was lovelyday passtheme parkyear old sonchalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2009

we stayed here in 2007 and returned august 2009.we stay in the chalets that are self contained with bunk beds for the kids and a double for the adults, a shower and toilet, t.v. and tea making facilities, the rooms are clean and tidy and my wife being quite fussy about cleanliness feels very comfortable here, the kids love it , the only thing is we both suffer with bad backs and the mattresses are not very thick..saying that we are not at home and you are not paying for a 5 star hotel..and staying for a few nights is not really an issue..you can come and go as you please, the bar is very nice and the staff are very helpful and friendly the food is very good in the bar as is the breakfast, the breakfast room has lots of teddys in it, there are comments about these on this site, i can asure you the kids love them they are a talking point and they are a fun, and if you are going to the park isin't this why you are going? at the week ends in the bar is karaoke, we stayed at the start of the week so cannot comment on saturday nights.. margret is a lovely lady and she and her staff have always been nice helpful and happy..we also found that staying here we have a clear road approach to the park, and yet if you stay on the other side of the road (north) there can be long que's to the park on some days, (but the park does seem to get cars in quite quick)..so in our opinion if you want a bed and breakfast stay that is clean, friendly a place to put your head down, and good food at an affordable price this is it.. if you expect a 5 star hotel well you might be slightly dissapointed..we are going back in october this year halloween fest and hope to stay here again if not fully booked up!! p.s we had 4 years of holidays in butlins gold accomodation chalets and they were not as nice as these.. James family plymouth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feelthetower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This is by far the worst place we have stayed, the caravan was old, shabby, dirty, and set in what can only be described as a junk yard. The tv didn't work, there were no self catering facilities at all. we had booked for 2 nights but left after 1, and would have left immediately had we been able to find alternative accomodation

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank roasterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Stayed here with a group of friends recently, couldn't find anything wrong with it whatsoever! Fair enough yes the funky round pool table was out of order, but that didn't bother me as I'm not a crazy pool person!

The owner, Margaret was lovely - chatty, helpful and seemed genuinely interested in us as guests, what our plans were - advising us on things that would make our trip away better!

The food was lovely, we pre-booked the meals in the morning & they were ready for when we had returned from the theme park, in the evening.

The atmosphere in the whole place was very welcoming and cosy, with a few unusual things that made the place unique - e.g. the Teddy Bear Room (which I have to say is very unique but makes the stay that little bit fun & different), the dart board with the 3 triples?? (haha not much of a darts persons, but I did have a go with my friends!!) & the round pool table!!

The location of the inn is very good, with it being just a 10 minute drive away from the theme park! It was a little difficult to find, as have never driven there before but we should be able to find it much easier next time, having been there.

We stayed in a caravan for the one night, and found it to be clean & very well looked after. Our stay was definitely a happy one and shall definitely return here when am next going to Alton Towers!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Ive seen some bad reviews for Peakstones but i couldnt disagree more. I stayed there with a group of 6, we are all under 21, and most of us students. Booked over the phone with no trouble whatsoever, even though it was sometimes frustrating when they didnt answer the phone. I originally booked for 4 of us, then had to change it to 6. This again was not a problem. Once we got there eventually (It is quite difficult to find if you don't know the area too well) we were greeted straight away by Margaret, the owner, and she was a bubbly, chatty, welcoming person. Went straight in a bit earlier than first planned, as we were supposed to check in at 4.30pm, which is probably why the doors are kept closed, and we paid for our stay there and then. We stayed in one of the caravans that they have and found no problems with it. We planned on eating there that night and Margaret even suggested to us that we order now and that it would be ready for the time we would like. We did this and came back from playing Mini Golf at Alton Towers to a great meal. Good choices on the menu. Being students it was never going to be cheap but compared to other places the prices were reasonable. Watched the Euro 2008 final with no complaints and played on their unusual dartboard. One problem was that the circular pool table was out of order and this was something I was looking forward to being snooker loopy. Beds were comfy, caravan was warm and fell asleep easily. Woke up next morning and had a great full English breakfast in the Teddy Bear room, and then left to go to Alton Towers. It is so close to Alton Towers. So easy to get there from the B&B. Great fun stay. Good food, lovely owner, comfy accommodation and superb location to Alton Towers. Only slight problems were that the pool table was out of use and the B&B was hard to find. But in the moddle of nowhere, anywhere is difficult to get to. Margaret made us feel welcome and I will stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnykeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We recently stayed at the Peakstones as part of our hen weekend trip to Alton Towers. The staff were great and we had so much fun, especially at the karaoke on Saturday night.
Chalets are comfortable and have tea/coffe facilities, towels are replaced each day and beds made so it's nice to come back to after a long trudge around Alton Towers.
Breakfast which is included in your stay was very good and the evening meals were also tasty and good value.
Margaret, the proprietor and her staff were very helpful and did all she could to make our stay a fun one including: letting us decorate the bar on the Saturday night, getting in drinks that she didn't have and generally providing a freindly atmosphere.
Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PimmsandChampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews