We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House
Ranked #2 of 12 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“1 night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

me and my boyfriend stayed here for his birthday I was very impressed very clean friendly helpful. and the pub down the road the food was amazing. we've decided to do this every year now and will be 100% staying here on our next trip to Alton towers. As a couple id recommend the marlin suite was really nice. thank for our stay we will be seeing you again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Really pleased that you enjoyed the Marilyn room. Its a touch of luxury for couples to enjoy the whirlpool bath and the four poster bed.
Look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
174
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at Bank house with my daughter, neice and nephew for a visit to Alton Towers I must say I would usually stay either in the Alton Towers Hotel or in a local Premier Inn but as they were all booked up I thought I would give Bank House a try and I have to say it was impressive for a B&B, our host gave us a great welcome and showed us the rooms.
Room 1 the Two Tone room according to my daughter and neice it was comfortable and clean although on the main road it was a little noisy but after 10pm there was not a car to be seen or heard.
Room 5 the Punk room myself and my nephew stayed in, very comfortable, clean and very quiet eventhough there were a few families staying at the B&B.
Our host gave us a great reccomendation for dinner at the Bulls Head pub just 200 yards down the road the food and beer were fantastic.
Before dinner I took the kids for a walk on the old rail track bed and was treated to fantastic veiws, wildlife and ice creams at the Ramblers Retreat.
With Bank House being so close to Alton Towers it is a great stepping stone for a great day out making my 4hr drive there worth it.

Room Tip: Room 5 the Punk room was on the side of the building away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review us so well.
We're sorry you had trouble with the telly. We had the problem( disconnection from the dish) sorted the next morning and hope it didn't detract from the enjoyment of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Really lovely place, the rooms are totally unique and you can see how much thought and care has gone into their design. The owners are very kind and friendly, they even gave me some painkillers as I had a banging headache after overdoing it at the towers! Breakfast was delicious, so much variety- we'll definitely stay here again highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EHaynes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
We would definitely like to welcome you two back for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just a short distance to Alton Towers nice stop over for a night or 2. Short walk to a lovely pub Royal Oak.

Owners are a liitle over the top but very friendly and will force you into eating loads at breakfeast. Pancakes to finish it all off.

stayed in the Mod Room which is OK just watch out for the step near the bathroom.

Next time at Alton Towers I will book!!!!

Room Tip: Book the Punk room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your frank and honest review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Do hope we see you again for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a beautiful place, the owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. We stayed in the Marilyn Monroe themed room and can't wait to re visit to see some of the others. Would highly recommend and the breakfast is exactly what is required before spending the day in the theme park

Cally and Carl

Room Tip: Marilyn Monroe has a whirlpool bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Eh up, superb is great news for us all at Bank House. Probably the staff will want more pay if this keeps up!!
Thank you sincerely for your generous comments and look forward to you returning for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We weren't too sure what to expect when we booked this hotel and found out we were staying in the 'punk rock' room. All the rooms have different themes and I think you get to choose which room you want, but we were quite late booking and didn't get a choice. However, upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely owner of the hotel. She welcomed us in and showed us to our room. In our room she went through the information book which included local places to eat which was really helpful and showed us how the shower worked etc.

Breakfast was served in the morning and all cooked food is made to order (much better than half cold bacon from a buffet) but cereals, fruit and yogurt etc were all laid out ready to help yourselves.

Overall it was a lovely place to stay; the room was clean and comfy, the food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mft1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your super and very flattering review of Bank House Alton.
When we are so busy it makes our job very rewarding to read such kind comments.
Do hope we see you again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place. Such a warm welcome by the owner. The room was amazing, so cosy and made us feel so at home! The 4 poster bed was extremely comfortable....the whirlpool bath was perfect after a whole day spent at Alton Towers - bliss. The owner was very helpful when we asked where was best to eat, she told us The Royal Oak and a few others but we picked that one which is a 1 min walk down the road.... The food was delishious, couldn't fault it in anyway. Hope to come and stay here soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely kind review of Bank House.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another visit and we promise the same service and reception on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
1.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
7.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
12.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
0.9 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House

Property: Bank House
Address: Bank House Smithy Bank, Alton ST10 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Bed and Breakfast 1 mile from Alton Towers Resort. Bank House is located in the heart of Alton village and within walking distance of all of the pubs/restaurants. All rooms are themed and en-suite with freesat tv/dvd, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge and hairdryers. Four poster rooms have whirlpool baths. We offer Champagne, Sparkling wine, chocolates, flowers etc for special occasions, prices on application. Free on-site parking and the bus to Alton Towers stops outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing