We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bank House
Ranked #2 of 12 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding night!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Myself and my husband booked out the whole of the B&B for our wedding night! Lynn and Maurice's rates were much more realistic than our wedding venue and the themed rooms were an extra perk for our family and friends who stayed with us. All of whom have since commented on how fab the hotel was and have already started spreading the word!
We personally stayed in the Marilyn suite which added the extra sparkle to our wedding night, plus the fact that Lynn had decorated our room especially with banners, balloons and bubbly!
We woke in the morning to eat breakfast together where every choice was catered for and the service was speedy!

Lynn and Maurice will go out of there way to try to accommodate your every need, and they'll do it with a smile and of course a bit of banter!

Room Tip: Definitely look at the website photos to choose your room, depending upon if you want romantic, funk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaKett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Aww thank you its not often that a bridal party is as much fun as yours was.
We are thrilled to have hosted you and your guests and thank you both very much for your kind and glowing review.
Trust we looked after all your guests(they're such good drinkers)
Best wishes for a long and happy marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    42
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
174
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Felt very welcomed to this lovely b&b and perfect location to Alton towers in a beautiful village. It's walking distance to nice pubs and the themed rooms and very original. We stayed in the Marilyn room which was great. I would personally recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Short, sweet and to the point.
Thank you so very much for your kind review.
Do hope we have the chance to welcome you back for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely accommodation and the breakfast was outstanding with so much choice. We would love to stay here again. It is ideal for Alton Towers which is about 5min drive away. Lovely village and the people are so friendly. Thank you for a great stay x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglejane6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Really appreciate your kind comments.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room in which me and my girlfriend stayed felt quite homely and I enjoyed the stay, the location isn't that far from Alton Towers, it's around a 10 minute bus ride which isn't that bad. The customer service which they provide is very friendly. When we was there we didn't have our breakfast for various reasons but the owner sets out a nice table for you if you're going to eat there in the morning. Their customer service was very friendly and I wouldn't mind staying there again if I traveled up there. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend Bank House to anyone looking for a place to stay in Alton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back next year. Same service guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before visiting alton towers and the alton towers hotel.. As a little add on to a family break away, we stayed in the flintstones room which the kids were thrilled at, and we lived the separate sleeping area, so much easier to get the kids to sleep when they are excited!! Lovely host explained the local area and recommended a lovely pub to eat in... We were in a hurry to leave in the morning to get To alton towers for the early entry so had a quick breakfast (cereal and coffee) but we were bought out sausage and bacon sandwiches so we could take them with us!! Lovely place highly recommend and would definetly return... Thankyou for a great stay x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
What an amazing review, thank you so much.
We're delighted that you and your children enjoyed the Flintstones room and we would love the chance to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Brilliant accommodation and services provided. This proved to be a most enjoyable stay with very helpful and enthusiastic staff. Information about the local village was provided and recommendations with regards to restaurants was incredibly helpful. Breakfast was outstanding, and the choice meant there was something for everyone. The Marilyn Monroe Suite had a wonderfully charming ambiance, and its features including the four poster bed, as well as the whirl pool bath were fantastic.
We were certainly made to feel at home during our stay and I would recommend this to anybody.
Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Themed bed rooms to suit all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely kind review.
We really appreciate your comments and know it helps prospective customers too.
Do hope we see you again, same service guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed here a minimum of twice a year now, and last year it was three times - they are friendly, the rooms are great fun, styled very well, and very clean - the breakfasts are REALLY good - if you go to Alton Towers - this must be your ONLY choice of place to stay.

Room Tip: Loads of themed rooms - take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
You are a truly amazing guests and you've introduced us to most of your friends and family too.
Thank you so much Gordon and of course we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you again. You're just a B for punishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
1.0 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 12 in Alton
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House

Property: Bank House
Address: Bank House Smithy Bank, Alton ST10 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Bed and Breakfast 1 mile from Alton Towers Resort. Bank House is located in the heart of Alton village and within walking distance of all of the pubs/restaurants. All rooms are themed and en-suite with freesat tv/dvd, tea/coffee making facilities, fridge and hairdryers. Four poster rooms have whirlpool baths. We offer Champagne, Sparkling wine, chocolates, flowers etc for special occasions, prices on application. Free on-site parking and the bus to Alton Towers stops outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Alton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing