We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B, wonderful hostess and delicious breakfast! Highly recommended!”
Review of The Warren B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Warren B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Warren at the beginning of November for a night before Alton towers. Alison immediately made us feel very welcome and showed us to a beautiful room in back of the property. Wow! Spacious, immaculate with a beautiful on-suite bathroom and stunning views of the countryside. The double bed was massive and one the most comfortable beds I have slept in! In the evening we took a quick 5 minute stroll to the local village Alton for drinks and food. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and plentiful with a choice of cooked and cold breakfast.

If a great location ( Alton Towers is 5 minutes away by car), comfort and excellent customer service are on your requirement list then you should choose this place!

Thank you for you hospitality Alison! We will definitely stay here again! Claire & Phil x

Room Tip: All 3 rooms look fantastic and have separate entrances to the rooms for total privacy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkle155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Warren and I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for The Warren B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Warren is definately the only place Id want to stay in when visting Alton Towers. Its such a lovely place to stay with great rooms, brillant hosts, a delicious breakfast and stunning scenery. Allison made us all feel very welcome and you are certain of a great stay. Rooms are spotless, beds really comfy and the extras such as a fridge and fresh milk in the room really set the place apart! I would recommend The Warren to everyone as its very close to Alton Towers and much better value then their own hotel.

Thanks Allison

from Gillian, Lindsey and Paul!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we really enjoyed having you to stay and hope returning to the night shift wasn't too traumatic for Paul. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Last minute booking as Alton towers was full ! But John and Alison could not have been better cut out for the job :-) both amazingly friendly helpful and just lovely people :-) my daughter Abbey and her friend Chloe both said they want to stay there next time :-) high praise indeed from two eleven year olds :-) we will definitely try the warren first in future :-) thank you for a lovely weekend :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdabsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I'm glad we were able to help with accommodation for you and high praise indeed from 11 year olds, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We wanted to celebrate our sons 10th birthday by taking him to Alton towers.We booked a family room at the warren where we explained it was our sons birthday to which on our arrival we were welcomed by the hosts Alison and her two delightful children Ben and Hannah. We were amazed that Alison had put up balloons and a birthday banner as well as baking a scrummy cake,so far this was above and beyond what we expected. The room was immaculate and clean with a lovely view. The breakfast was perfect with proper crispy bacon!!! A good little extra was Ben and Hannah's tuck shop in reception definitely budding entrepreneurs. Overall a excellent B and B and it was a pleasure to meet the hosts John and Alison and their children . Thank you for making our sons birthday special,we will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jrlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed the cake! I think birthdays are very special events for the whole family so I'm glad we were able to be part of Jack's day and make it a day to remember. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Warren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed overnight on 17/10/13, opted to stay there as it had the family room ,our daughter and her pal came with us and they needed their own space ,so the adjoining room with bunk beds was ideal.
Accommodation was spotless and had everything that we needed,even torch and umbrella for short walk into village for our supper.Hosts truly cover all the bases !
Breakfast was really good and plenty of choice and hosts phoned local pub to arrange our supper and were able to give us insight into all the pubs for food.
We did go for Alton Towers ,but will go back to The Warren and use as a base for wider exploration of this area, as excellent walking and close to pottery factories etc.
Perfect place to stay with lovely people.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The family room has proved to be a welcome addition to our property as it gives some privacy to both children and adults and yet you can all stay together. We are starting to really explore the countryside so we will be able to give some more insight onto great walks in our local area as we are very fortunate with the beautiful countryside as well as a big theme park! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at The Warren and I've got to say it really is deserving of it's excellent ratings. The room was very comfortable, very cosy, nice to have it's own front door. Great views from the breakfast room and the location is excellent for heading up into the Peaks or of course for Alton Towers. Alison and John really are superb, friendly hosts, really making the extra effort to make our stay that much more special for us.

Next time we'e in the area, this is where we're staying.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

It was great to be able to welcome you to The Warren and we look forward to you returning whenever you are in the Country!! I hope you had a great trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Warren was an absolute delight . The room was large and modern with a spacious bathroom and a separate entrance hall. Our hosts Alison and John could not have been more helpful during our stay. The breakfast were excellent and the view from the breakfast room across the adjacent valley was worth the trip. With some excellent pubs just down the road you would be hard pressed to find a better B&B to stay in. I have paid a lot more for a lot less in B&Bs in the past and would happily give The Warren 6 stars if it were possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossco90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M, Owner at The Warren B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.3 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
0.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warren B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warren B&B

Address: Battlesteads | Staffordshire, Alton ST10 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: £81 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Warren B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warren is a beautiful property located on the edge of the village of Alton, situated in a delightfully tranquil setting with stunning views over the Churnet Valley. We are close to Alton Towers, Splash Landings, The Peak District, The Potteries and many other places of interest. Perfect if you want to explore this under-appreciated part of England with its many attractions. From our extensive local knowledge we can direct you to special places that interest you. The Warren is open all year to accommodate couples, families and those whose business requires a short or longer term stay. All rooms are en suite and prices include full English or continental breakfast. We can cater for any special dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Warren B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing