We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the crown of Alton”
Review of The Warren B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Warren B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Probably one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. Alison and John run a spotlessly clean B&B with great facilities and great views over the valley. It was great to be greeted by a friendly couple who are clearly passionate about their business. Thanks guys we will see you in August kids in tow.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for The Warren B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

we have just spent a lovely two nights at The Warren, the rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious and clean. The surroundings to the b&b are beautiful, looking down into valleys. Alison and Jon made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, also adding little special touches. Breakfast each morning was delicious with individual needs(including fussy children) catered for. We look forward to staying next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

my husband was 50 and we went to uttoxeter races and ub40 concert afterwards. Alison and John are wonderful people, very polite and friendly. The rooms are beautifully decorated and everything you need for your stay. Alison greeted us and showed us to our room and then gave us a bottle of cold bucks fizz to celebrate, and gave neil a gift for his birthday which was a lovely touch. We asked if they could book us a taxi, and because the taxi firms were busy due to the race day , John gave us a lift to the racecourse which was wonderful. We were given the key to our room and were told to come and go as we pleased. The views from the rooms were breathtaking and you could simply sit with a drink and relax in the beautiful gardens. The breakfast was excellent and you could order what you wanted and take your time to enjoy the views from the dinning room. nothing was too much trouble for Alison and John they made our stay wonderful and we will be going back again and highly recommend this B&B to our family and friends. Once again thank you so much Alison and John.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shooby24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Wonderful place. Everything you could want for a special get away. Rooms are cosy and delightfully decorated. Hosts are really friendly and make you feel right at home. There are lots of special touches that really make it a difference and the views from the bedroom and patio are sublime. We will not be staying anywhere else when we visit this area in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After our wedding we travelled up through sun and showers to get to The Warren, for a rest and Alton Towers the next day.

Alison gave us the warmest welcome, and spoilt us with bubbly, chocolates and cake.

The room was spotlessly clean with everything you need.

Breakfast was amazing, with a wide choice.

We had dinner at the local Royal Oak, and the food was amazing.

Cannot recommend the Warren enough, and Alison you are a star, we will return!!

Dont just beleive the hype, go and check it out for yourself.

Room Tip: The rooms are seperate from the main house, you have your own front door so can come and go as you p...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have just returned from a two night Easter break at this very lovely B&B. I booked on the assumption that the wonderful reviews I had read on Trip Advisor were dependable and we were not disappointed! As a party of 3, we stayed in their twin room which was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated with lovely furniture and extremely comfortable. Alison and John provided a very tasty, good quality breakfast and they really did 'go the extra mile' with thoughtful extra touches such as a chocolate egg for my son and chocolates for the adults at our breakfast table on Easter Sunday morning. Alison and John are extremely friendly and helpful hosts who made our stay that bit more special. The Warren is only a 5 minute drive from Alton Towers which is another reason to stay here. In my honest opinion, you would be really hard pushed to find a B&B of this quality. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night on 19th April (during Easter bank holiday weekend) after a day at Alton Towers.

We found out about The Warren from a TripAdvisor alert which put it in the top 10 in the area and after seeing the reviews and pictures of the views, we decided to make a weekend of it rather than drive straight home. It was only the week before but luckily they had a room free for the night. We booked with Alison by email and no deposit was needed being so close to the date. She explained they don't have credit card facilities for payment but that was fine with the advance warning.

We kept in touch with Alison by text closer to and on the day so she knew what time we'd be arriving. The B&B was 6 minutes drive from Alton Towers and easy to find. Jon received us and showed us to room 1 on the ground floor behind reception. Very comfortable, spacious bedroom and en-suite with it's own little hallway, and the decor is pretty, clean and fresh. We took a hot chocolate out into the garden to enjoy the views while the sun went down. It all felt quite homely and relaxed. There were nice extra touches like a little tuck shop and DVDs to borrow in reception. No problems with the wifi, very easy to connect to.

We asked Jon about somewhere good to eat and he phoned to book us a table at the Bulls Head in the village, which was 10 minutes walk away, easy to find your way there and back, with very good food and service in the restaurant.

With breakfast, we filled in an options sheet the night before and could tailor our cooked breakfast from a list of items, which I liked. You also put what time (within the breakfast hours) you want to eat so service was quick. The breakfast room was on the second level, very pleasant and made the most of the views. It was raining but still beautiful. Breakfast was clearly local produce and delicious. And a very nice extra touch was the little box of Thorntons hot cross bun flavour chocolates Alison put on the table, which were delicious later!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
1.3 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
0.8 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Splash Landings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
13.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Warren B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warren B&B

Address: Battlesteads | Staffordshire, Alton ST10 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range: £80 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Warren B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warren is a beautiful property located on the edge of the village of Alton, situated in a delightfully tranquil setting with stunning views over the Churnet Valley. We are close to Alton Towers, Splash Landings, The Peak District, The Potteries and many other places of interest. Perfect if you want to explore this under-appreciated part of England with its many attractions. From our extensive local knowledge we can direct you to special places that interest you. The Warren is open all year to accommodate couples, families and those whose business requires a short or longer term stay. All rooms are en suite and prices include full English or continental breakfast. We can cater for any special dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Warren B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing