We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wychnor Park Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I purchased a deal for four of us for afternoon tea. The grounds are lovely & nice to walk around if you can. We were served by a young lady who was friendly & looked after us well in a relaxing atmosphere. We asked for our wine first & then sandwiches were bought out. Then a pot tea arrived with our cakes. The Tea pot was re-filled with water when requested. The cakes were nice, even though some may have been shop bought. All in all a good experience for the price we paid. I would not have paid the usual rate though!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you had a lovely time with us.
Our food and beverage operations are franchised so we will be sure to pass on your comments to the manager.
Louisa Herrero
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Wychnor Park Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Visited Wychnor as Diamond Resort members. Had two apartments as we had friends joining us with their 3 children. Both apartments were excellent - well furnished and maintained. Both very clean. Staff at Wychnor, as usual, were very friendly and helpful.
Our friends (their first visit) were very impressed with the resort, and appreciated the range of activities for the children.
Overall, another good stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ryan10_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

It is our ethos to deliver great holiday experience to our members and guests and we are delighted to read that yours was no exception. Please do visit us again soon!

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a let down this was. I purchased a deal for my friend's birthday for afternoon tea. I have had afternoon tea in a lot of places but none were as bad as this. When we arrived we were asked did we want tea or wine first and we said tea. The waitress (who was wearing black jean's, not great in a hotel restaurant) bought in two white old looking cup's with a tea bag in each. When we took the tea bag out we had to put it next to the cup on the saucer, Not great!. Then the sandwiches which were dry and had cheese slices and processed chicken on were bought out on a scruffy old dinner plate. The 6 thin slices looked lost and so un-appetising. We had by this time no tea left so i had to ask the waitress if we could possibly have a pot of tea. Why we didn't get that in the first place i don't know!. The cakes came on a 3 tier stand then with what looked like two small shop bought scones, 2 choc chip cookies, 2 slices of lemon tart and 2 dry brownies. We didn't even bother waiting for the wine which we would of had to ask for as nobody came over to ask if everything was ok. Wish i never had bothered, you would get better in a run of the mill cafe!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank kathcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We take great pride in offering great service and since we have taken over the restaurant we received a lot of very positive feedback; therefore it is with disappointment that we learn about your dissatisfaction and will address this with our chefs. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Bektas Ketenci
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a 3 day stay in June as diamond resort members. As a family of 5 with 3 young children we were nervous about arrival. Upon arrival the receptions were warm friendly and welcoming. We stayed In have main house and our room was beautiful and clean and full of character.
The grounds are beautiful and the pool was brilliant for the children.
All staff were friendly and very helpful,directing us to local attractions aimed at the children.
Overall so relaxing and friendly that we are staying again this month for a week. Hopefully we can stay in a log cabin and take In the beautiful views

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loopyloo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Delivering great holiday experience and creating good memories is our priority and we are pleased to know that we were able to offer you this. We are looking forward to your next stay!

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

For a 10m2 not air conditioned gym and use of the swimmingpool they charge 70 pounds, internet wifi for one device 27 pounds for a week. So even before you've started your down 100 pounds. With kids internet and swimmingpool is why we booked here. The house we stayed in is very noisy, sounds like the house is going to fall apart when walking upstairs. The house is ok with a washjng machine small dishwasher and 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets. We stayed here with 4 adults and 2 kids. House was spacious enough but again very noisy.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Visitor_from_Utrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for you feedback, we are glad you took the time to share your experience with us.
We are sorry you were disappointed with the charges for our leisure facilities.
We are glad however that you found the apartment to be spacious.
We hope you will return and visit us again in the future.
Louisa Herrero
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful 6 day stay at Wychnor Park (as a Diamond Resorts member) has a left a very positive impression. The extremely spacious apartment within the main house felt luxurious and everything that we needed was available. Staff on the front desk, in the bar/restaurant, housekeeping and poolside were all very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. For us, it was a great base to visit Lichfield, the National Memorial Arboretum and Alrewas and to do some canal-side walking. We also spent some time at the Barton Marina - with special mention to the Red Carpet Restaurant andCcinema. The only slight disappointment was the meal in the resturant - steaks not quite cooked to order and a disappointing duck offering. However, we will definitely return. Thank you.

Room Tip: Largest rooms/suites are in the building (Rooms 1 to 7) with great views from large windows. If you...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Planehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you had a great time at Wychnor Park Country Club, and that you would like to come back here in the future. We’re sorry to read that you were disappointed with the food in our on-site restaurant, though: we strive to deliver a high quality of food, and we’re sorry that your experiences didn’t reflect this. Please be assured that this will be addressed with our food and beverage operator. We really hope that this didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Louisa Herrero
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place has excellent accomodation in a lovely setting. The staff are very helpful. However having paid £124 for a room I resent being asked to pay extra to use the pool and to pay a silly sum for the benefit of wi fi.The food was awful. On Sunday evening I had to return my starter as it was cold in the middle. Mains should have been advertised as Sunday lunch leftovers served in a pool of gravy as that is what we were served.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCChester482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad our staff could help you have an enjoyable stay with us.
We are sorry you were disappointment with the extra charges for our onsite facilities, we have forwarded this on to our senior management team.
In addition we are sorry to read that you had a problem whilst dining in the restaurant, our food and beverage operations are franchised so we will pass this on to the operator on site.
We do hope you will return again in the future!
Louisa Herrero
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-under-Needwood
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
9.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,678 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
505 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
424 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychnor Park Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychnor Park Country Club

Address: Wychnor Hall | Nr Barton Under Needwood, Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton-under-Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Barton-under-Needwood
Price Range: £63 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wychnor Park Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling in the UK, you will want to stay in a place that represents the brilliance of this majestic and historic area. You will have never seen or experienced anything like Wychnor Park Country Club. By staying here, you are ensuring that you and your family will be having the holiday experience of a lifetime.Wychnor Park Country Club dates back all the way to the period of Queen Anne. You will find yourself among 55 acres of some of the most stunning estate grounds and take in some of the most breathtaking, panoramic views. The Great Hall, housed here, symbolizes an age of gracious living.At Wychnor Park Country Club, you will find plenty to do before even heading off the grounds to explore. We have a golf course that brings in enthusiasts from around the world. You may also want to enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool. Either the golf course or the pool area is a great place to spend time with family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wychnor Park Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychnor Park Country Club Hotel Barton Under Needwood
Wychnor Park Country Club Barton-Under-Needwood, Staffordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing