We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother in Law happy!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barton-under-Needwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shoulder of Mutton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I booked two rooms at this place for my Mother in Law and another lady relative. Stayed 7th August. They were both very happy with quality of rooms and welcome. Shame is that at time of writing this review (7th October 2012) the place appears to have closed down and to let signs are showing. Shame as clearly a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked two rooms in advance via email requesting a travel cot and child’s bed however on arrival the male owner claimed he knew nothing of this despite our hard evidence, (printed out email) not even an apology, which was disappointing. The female owner is delightful and really makes you feel welcome she went out of her way to accommodate us. The food is outstanding and definitely the pubs asset. The rooms are small and tired and are not big enough for cots/child beds. The pub is tried but undergoing renovation. If you are going to the pub to get drunk and need a place to pass out this is perfect. If you want a relaxing weekend away this will not happen. The rooms over look the smoking area, it is very noisy(which it clearly states on the website) until around 2am and the walls between the rooms are not very thick. My advice takes your ear plugs, leave your children at home and take expandable waste garments and you will enjoy!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night as my family were staying in the area.

The rooms were nice, very clean and tidy. The pub is a friendly place and the locals were friendly.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jock1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have recently stayed at this beautiful ,quaint and friendly B&B.We found the food second to none and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this Family run B&B for anyone thinking of visiting this area or just needing to get away for a quite and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for room no; 4 . It has recently been renovated to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I completely agree with Caroline I wish I had read her review before I booked. We had the noise from the young people down in the smoking area until 2.00 in the morning. We asked them politely to tune it down and they just got louder. The language was dreadful and we could hear the whole conversations. We then rang the pub number and asked the lady who answered to speak to them but to no avail. It had taken us five hours to get to the place and the next day we had to drive the five hours again after having less than five hours sleep. I would not use the place again and I would not reccommend it to anyone. The food was good but we were in the area for a special occassion and we could have eaten anywhere. It was the nights accommodation we required. We departed expecting an apolgy or explanation but nothing at all was said.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank brenda_kelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Shoulder of Mutton is a relatively nice pub, with good parking in a lovely village. My partner and I booked a Friday and Saturday night, to attend a wedding. On booking I called to ask about the potential noise from the live music and was told that the rooms were separate and would not be effected. This was not the case, as it could be heard word perfect in our room until gone 11.30pm. Worse than this, however is the fact that the rooms all look out on to the pub smoking area and so loud, drunk people can be heard as late as 1am, as if they were standing next to you. There is absolutely no consideration given for any guests staying or attempting to get some sleep.

The room itself was the double, which was very tired. The carpet had seen much better days, as had the walls and fittings. On the whole it was clean, i.e. bedding, towels, sink etc and the drinks were in good supply. The bed was wrecked, causing us just to roll into each other and it is on the small side.

The shower ensuite again was clean, but had holes and cracks in the wall. The toilet seat shifted when sat on, as it was broken and generally aged. The shower was ridiculous with almost no pressure, washing hair was a nightmare and you got cold as there was not enough water to cover you.

Breakfast was pleasant and it would seem that the food side of the pub has been concentrated on, with absolutely no attention having been paid to the accomodation. A vastly overpriced room and a pretty awful stay overall, especially due to the noise.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break staying at "The Shoulder of Mutton" in Barton under Needwood. Our room was small but I think some of the others might have been a little bigger. There was everything you needed including the usual hospitality tray and toiletries in the shower room.
We ate our evening meal here too and the food was excellent, freshly cooked and hot. The lager battered cod was the best battered cod I have had for a long time and was just like what you get at a seaside! Our stay included a Sunday when meals are not served after 6.00pm. We had our main meal while out at lunchtime and our hosts kindly had sandwiches prepared for us ready for us to eat as our "tea" at a time which suited which was about 7.30pm when we had them in the bar with wonderful shandy made from local bitter.
A very convenient B & B if you are visiting the National Memorial Arboretum which is only a few miles away.
Thank you. We would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-under-Needwood
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
74 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.1 mi away
The 3 Horseshoes
The 3 Horseshoes
#1 of 2 in Barton-under-Needwood
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Shoulder of Mutton Inn
4.4 mi away
The Old Baker's Cottage
The Old Baker's Cottage
#1 of 1 in Newborough
71 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wychnor Park Country Club
Wychnor Park Country Club
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Address: 16 Main Street, Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton-under-Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-under-Needwood
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a much loved community pub in the heart of one of Staffordshire's prettiest villages - Barton under Needwood. We're close to the A38, National Memorial Aboretum at Alrewas and nearby Lichfield and Burton upon Trent. Our B&B has 4 ensuite bedrooms and is currently being refurbished - we hope to reopen them in January 2016. We have a warm, welcoming lounge bar, more lively pool and darts bar together with a children's indoor play room, free parking and lovely beer garden. We serve home-cooked, comfort food - simple but delicious! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shoulder Of Mutton Barton-Under-Needwood, Staffordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing