We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the way from Surrey to the shoulder of Mutton!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shoulder of Mutton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barton-under-Needwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shoulder of Mutton
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the way from Surrey to the shoulder of Mutton!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family of four came to Wychnor for a one week stay and stumbled across this wonderful pub. Under new management, and with a lovely new refurb this is a pub/restaurant that must be visited by all. The new boss Mark,and his team are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food is incredible. I have never tasted anything so delicious. I highly recommend the pork Belly. This evening meal out was thoroughly enjoyable and will be a memorable part of our holiday.will most definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaloops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Lisaloops1,

The team want to thank you for writing such a glowing review for us and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves!

We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully we can have some more dishes to match the high standard of the belly pork!

Many thanks and kind regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We enjoyed a great dinner at Shoulder of Mutton for New Years Eve with friends.

The food at the Shoulder is always good, under Barry's stewardship, and New Years Eve was no exception. All the tables were full, but the service was good and the food was delicious. The menu offered a few choices for each course and was supplemented with both sorbet and coffee & chocolates as standard. The menu was very good value for any night out, but for New
Years Eve it was great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We recently stayed at the Shoulder of Mutton hotel in Barton Under Needwood. We understand that the pub has recently moved into new management and overall is turning the establishment around.

To start with the positives:
- The staff were attentive and very friendly
- Breakfast was lovely, prepared and served at table service by the manager. We were very surprised at the quality of the breakfast compared to the quality of the rooms. There was a large selection of options from the cooked menu. We both opted for the full english which was well prepared and came with thick cut bacon, eggs how you like them, a large herby sausage, beans and tomatoes and toast (either white or brown), there may have been mushrooms but I can't remember, I also think black pudding was available. Tea and coffee were plentiful and a large jug of fresh orange juice was available to help yourself too. The manager was very attentive and very personal and attentive.

What can be improved:
Please note that the pub only has 4 rooms for accommodation and the current manager is only temporary to help get the pub back on track and make improvements. I suspect accommodation isn't his top priority. If you are looking for a romantic place to stay for a weekend in Barton/Lichfield to explore the area, I would look elsewhere. If however, you're expecting a large evening and need a place to sleep to be legal to drive again in the morning, this accommodation will satisfy your needs.

- Our first impression of the entry to the accommodation was that this part of the pub needs investment. The carpet on the stairs leading up to the rooms is a rather old and shabby patterned style.
- The rooms are basic but have all the essential amenities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits, en-suite bathroom, wardrobe, lamps, bed etc :) The decor is quite dated however. The carpet was stained and almost threadbare at the head of each side of the bed. The window was double glazed, but was sash-style and loose fitting, cold, draughty and noisy. The bathroom was very basic with just a shower (no bath). Amenities were provided (shower gel, shampoo). The towels were quite old and mine was stained with what I assume was foundation/makeup from a prior guest.

The accommodation overlooks the smoking area outside the pub and is very noisy late into the evening. Coupled with the useless window, this made it a difficult place to get a good nights sleep.

I hope that the accommodation is improved as otherwise this appears to be a lovely country pub on the up and I wish the current manager all the best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I booked a table at the shoulder of mutton for my birthday and ten of us sat down to eat lunch, when we arrived Barry the landlord was there and greeted us and got us settled in and made sure we were alright the day started very well we all ordered our food I opted for the homemade chilli con carne which was delicious a few of the party had ordered the 6oz homemade cheeseburger which they all said was very tasty and they were happy with, Barry the owner also came over and wished me a very happy birthday which he didn't have to do but he did which was very kind, both Barry and Adam the barman were very good the service was very friendly the food was excellent thanks for such a great day and experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We held a family dinner party for 10 a few weeks ago. The staff where both friendly and attentive. The food was outstanding value for money, and a massive cut above traditional 'pub fare', not complicated or overly fussy, but interesting enough to be a real special occassion treat.
This pub manages to combine all the qualities you'd look for in a restaurant, relaxed atmosphere, excellent food and first class service. The interesting aspect is that the public bar - separated from the 'restaurant' side is lively, bustling and fun. The management have pulled off the tricky task of catering for both 'foodies', and 'night out at the local' crowd. The perfect local pub!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-under-Needwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have now been back four or five times since the new managers took over a couple of months ago, which confirms what we think of the standards of catering, service, and value for money. We've enjoyed steak nights, pie nights and standard dining nights, nothing is too much trouble for the staff, we'll be continuing to use this village pub and eatery.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This pub has just reopened after 9 months of closure and the comments for 2012 are out of date
as this pub has just been taken over by a new team of guys that are very friendly and the food we had was great. Me and my wife had a good night and the food was very good and cooked to order. Both my wife and i had steaks and were cooked to perfection and well worth a visit.
The specials night looks great value for money and we will be booking in for that one.

Thanks barry keep up the good work.

lee

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-under-Needwood
3.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Property: The Shoulder of Mutton
Address: 16 Main Street, Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton-under-Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-under-Needwood
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a much loved community pub in the heart of one of Staffordshire's prettiest villages - Barton under Needwood. We're close to the A38, National Memorial Aboretum at Alrewas and nearby Lichfield and Burton upon Trent. Our B&B has 4 ensuite bedrooms and is currently being refurbished - we hope to reopen them in January 2016. We have a warm, welcoming lounge bar, more lively pool and darts bar together with a children's indoor play room, free parking and lovely beer garden. We serve home-cooked, comfort food - simple but delicious! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shoulder Of Mutton Barton-Under-Needwood, Staffordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing