We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barton-under-Needwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shoulder of Mutton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

What an amazing meal we just had here!! The service ana attention to detail was second to none.
The food, for a lunchtime menu was fab! The ingredients fresh ana presented beautifully!
Refurbished to a very high standard and the landlord extremely friendly and went out of his way to make us welcome!
Thankyou thankyou for a very enjoyable time xx

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnafoley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Donnafoley3,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write us such a fantastic review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you liked our menu and had a good meal.

We have launched our weekend specials board and will be looking to expand on our lunchtime in the near future....it would be great if you could pop in and sample them!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and myself had a delicious carvery meal on Sunday. There was a choice of three meats and a good range of fresh vegetables. Would highly recommend and will certainly visit again soon. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
1  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Katie L,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor - as a pub under new management we really appreciate it.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your carvery with us...We are putting on gammon and lamb in the next couple of weeks for you to try so we hope to see you again!

Many thanks and kind regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Called in on Saturday evening and were lucky to get a table as someone had just rung to cancel theirs. My husband and I both had the slow cooked pork belly and it was absolutely delicious, the best I've tasted. The staff were friendly and attentive. Overall a really good experience and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diniann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi there Dinainn

A big thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip-advisor. We are so pleased your were able to join us for a meal and that you enjoyed it so much.

Please come back and soon us again soon.

Many thanks and kind regards
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Four of us returned to this pub to check out the new menu under the new chef. We were not disappointed, the choice is wonderful and the quality superb. It deserves to be more popular, and with this quality and variety will assuredly become so. We shall be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Pjthorp,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our new menu - the kitchen and front of house team have worked very hard to put it together!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited this pub by chance,as the place we meant to eat was very busy.At the time of writing this review the pub is a bit of a work in progess.The landlord told us he had only been there 2mths,the restaurant is freshly decorated and the staff are all friendly and helpful.
Our food was freshly cooked and we didn't have to wait ages,good portion sizes too.We both enjoyed our meals,and will definitely be visiting again.
All in all an enjoyable visit to the Shoulder of Mutton,well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ELAINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

HI Elaine H,

The landlord and management team would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed our fresh food - chefs new menu comes out soon so it would be fantastic to see you back with us.

Many thanks and Kind regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

IWe have. Just had a lovely lunch at The Shoulder , the new manager and his partner were warm and very attentive , it was evident that some refurbishments had been done , the toilets have been totally redone to a very high standard ( I can remember the old toilets !!) and there is a new section for people to eat when the new Carvery is all up and running , Our party consisted of 4 adults and two children ( my daughter being 2yrs old) , there was no high chairs but we were assured that they were in the process of dealing with that, We had the recommended Sunday Lunch specials Beef ,Turkey and Pork (with proper crackling) Mmmm , plenty of veg and delicious rich gravy , the beef was cooked to perfection ( I like it ever so slightly pink ) so happy days !!. Everyone in our party was pleased with their meat ,nice and moist ,juicy etc . Pipping hot broccoli and cauliflower cheese . Finished off with traditional yummy sweets and coffees . Considering these two have only been open for 8weeks ( after a total shutdown and refurb ) they're doing a grand job and I wish them well . We will be taking some older friends next time ( they went to the old place and were not impressed ) and I know they will be this time !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamfian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Lamfian,

We are delighted you enjoyed your sunday lunch with us recently.

You will be pleased to know the carvery should be up and running in the next 3 weeks and rest assured the meat, gravy (and of course) crackling will be as good as last time!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor and we hope to see yourself and your friends and family very soon!

Many thanks and kind regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This pub has just been renovated and looked as if things still had to be finished in some areas but what has been done looks good and gives the eating area some private areas.

We stopped for lunch mid week and it was very quiet. (apart from our party of four plus a two year old there was just one person in the pub). The staff were very friendly and as one would expect with so few customer attentive to our needs.

The food was cooked from fresh and not just microwaved offerings and arrived in a reasonable timescale bearing this in mind. The menu is not extensive but I assume that is to allow them to use fresh produce wherever possible. Everything was of a high standard.

The menu for little ones was in some cases small versions of the standard fare. A welcome change from nuggets and fries.

Will certainly go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Rodger D,

We are pleased you like the look of our renovations and the menu suited your needs.

As you stated we still have some finishing touches to do and with this we do plan to extend our menu whilst still using fresh produce wherever possible - hopefully when you next join us these things will be place!

We really appreciate you taking the time to review us and we hope to see you and your family again soon.

Many thanks and kind regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barton-under-Needwood
8.3 mi away
Amber House
Amber House
#5 of 13 in Burton upon Trent
70 reviews
5.1 mi away
The 3 Horseshoes
The 3 Horseshoes
#2 of 2 in Barton-under-Needwood
70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wychnor Park Country Club
Wychnor Park Country Club
#1 of 2 in Barton-under-Needwood
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
79 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Address: 16 Main Street, Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton-under-Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-under-Needwood
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a much loved community pub in the heart of one of Staffordshire's prettiest villages - Barton under Needwood. We're close to the A38, National Memorial Aboretum at Alrewas and nearby Lichfield and Burton upon Trent. Our B&B has 4 ensuite bedrooms and is currently being refurbished - we hope to reopen them in January 2016. We have a warm, welcoming lounge bar, more lively pool and darts bar together with a children's indoor play room, free parking and lovely beer garden. We serve home-cooked, comfort food - simple but delicious! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shoulder Of Mutton Barton-Under-Needwood, Staffordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing