We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barton-under-Needwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Shoulder of Mutton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I came recently with some family visiting. And I was pleasently supprised. I am fairly local anf havent been to the shoulder for a long time, but I will be visiting again soon. The food was fantatstic, cant rate it enough and the service was kin, fast and friendly. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleighJane92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi AshleighJane92,

Thank you for such an amazing review.

Its great to read some local faces are coming back into the pub - we have expanded our menu so hopefully there will be lots of new things for you and the family to try.
We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks and kind regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My partner and I came up from Bournemouth to visit family. Had a fab meal & evening. Excellent food and good value. Service was excellent and we were made very welcome.
Would definitely recommend and come again.
Tina and Jim from Bournemouth

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spudster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hi Spudster1 (Tina & Jim)

We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us recently.

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, and although we understand its a long way to travel we hope to see you again soon!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went here for dinner a couple of days ago and the food was amazing. Staff are lovely and welcoming too. Also came for lunch a couple of weeks back and the food was fab then too! Will definitely be coming again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emzickins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi Emzickins,

We are so pleased you enjoyed dining with us on the couple of occasions you mentioned.

We would like thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We hope to see you again soon!

Many thanks and kind regards
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

What an amazing meal we just had here!! The service ana attention to detail was second to none.
The food, for a lunchtime menu was fab! The ingredients fresh ana presented beautifully!
Refurbished to a very high standard and the landlord extremely friendly and went out of his way to make us welcome!
Thankyou thankyou for a very enjoyable time xx

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnafoley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Donnafoley3,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write us such a fantastic review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you liked our menu and had a good meal.

We have launched our weekend specials board and will be looking to expand on our lunchtime in the near future....it would be great if you could pop in and sample them!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and myself had a delicious carvery meal on Sunday. There was a choice of three meats and a good range of fresh vegetables. Would highly recommend and will certainly visit again soon. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
1  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Katie L,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor - as a pub under new management we really appreciate it.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your carvery with us...We are putting on gammon and lamb in the next couple of weeks for you to try so we hope to see you again!

Many thanks and kind regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Called in on Saturday evening and were lucky to get a table as someone had just rung to cancel theirs. My husband and I both had the slow cooked pork belly and it was absolutely delicious, the best I've tasted. The staff were friendly and attentive. Overall a really good experience and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diniann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi there Dinainn

A big thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip-advisor. We are so pleased your were able to join us for a meal and that you enjoyed it so much.

Please come back and soon us again soon.

Many thanks and kind regards
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Four of us returned to this pub to check out the new menu under the new chef. We were not disappointed, the choice is wonderful and the quality superb. It deserves to be more popular, and with this quality and variety will assuredly become so. We shall be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOM_Barton, Manager at The Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Pjthorp,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our new menu - the kitchen and front of house team have worked very hard to put it together!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Shoulder of Mutton Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barton-under-Needwood hotels
5.1 mi away
The 3 Horseshoes
The 3 Horseshoes
#1 of 2 in Barton-under-Needwood
67 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wychnor Park Country Club
Wychnor Park Country Club
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
480 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
Travelodge Burton A38 Northbound
#1 of 1 in Barton-under-Needwood
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Address: 16 Main Street, Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton-under-Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barton-under-Needwood
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a much loved community pub in the heart of one of Staffordshire's prettiest villages - Barton under Needwood. We're close to the A38, National Memorial Aboretum at Alrewas and nearby Lichfield and Burton upon Trent. Our B&B has 4 ensuite bedrooms and is currently being refurbished - we hope to reopen them in January 2016. We have a warm, welcoming lounge bar, more lively pool and darts bar together with a children's indoor play room, free parking and lovely beer garden. We serve home-cooked, comfort food - simple but delicious! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shoulder Of Mutton Barton-Under-Needwood, Staffordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing