We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Step out of the dark” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regales

Regales
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$61
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Step out of the dark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a find.. I was lucky enough to be taken to this restaurant by a work colleague having previously driven past on a daily basis at 70 miles an hour not giving it a second glance.How wrong I was.
This is the old Little Chef on the northbound A38 near Barton Under Needwood. It has been completely transformed. As the title says, if your used to eating your Indian meals in dark dingy surroundings prepare yourself for a treat, the bright clean modern restaurant is perfectly reflected in the fresh, tasty meals,
So, if you want to carry on eating in the dark drive on... If you want something special give it a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank glenjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    20
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Visited for the second time with friends. ( first time slightly worse for wear so didn't count..!! ). 15 of us arrived without a booking on a Thursday night. They were very accommodating and arranged tables to fit us in. We then waited quite a while for drinks order, and had to shout up. Drinks arrived about 5 minutes later, which was fine. We then had pops n pickles and tucked in. Fresh and crispy with good portions. A considerable time passed without our order being taken. After a while, we shouted over. Food ordered........although we ditched starters due to the concern over time. ( they lost out here due to slow service, shame ). After a further wait, the food arrived. I have to say it was very fresh, tasty and packed with flavour. I had a cracking tandoori chicken Massala and my wife a chicken shaashlick. The meat was tender and packed with flavour. Would definitely be back. All in all, the food was beautiful but the speed of service was pretty poor. If they could only get the service right it will be top drawer



Helpful?
4 Thank Westy1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton-upon-trent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Walked to Regales to discover a warm welcome in a beautifully decorated, spotless restaurant.
The food was excellent, as was the service.I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank juliakeepsmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent find, top quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We came across this restaurant by accident whilst visiting Burton on Trent. The quality of the food and service was excellent. The ambiance was clean and contemporary. Thoroughly recommenced

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal and not the usual run of the mill curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have now been to Regales twice, midweek and weekend, and had good service and great food both times. The menu is broad and I can recommend the monkfish curry, the dishes use some unusual spices to create spicy but not overly hot dishes. This is going to be a regular haunt.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JML572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regales also viewed

Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Regales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing