We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boxing Day lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dial

The Dial
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Boxing Day lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Booked lunch for boxing day. This is a family business owned by James & Emily who run it to a very high standard.The restuarant was extremely busy, the service was efficient, staff friendly asking if everything was satisfactory.
The quality of the food was excellent. Well presented and good value for money no wonder it was a full house
The bar selection is outstanding I think they must have every drink imaginable.
If you haven't visited The Dial give it a try you won't be disappointed.
Barry & Jenny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Favourite772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    192
    51
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“** ABSOLUTE JOKE OF A PLACE **”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I've lived in burton all my life and my dad lives in Inverness, he's come down for the Xmas period, tonight the 20th December 2013 we decided to go out for the evening with one more of my pals, on approach to the door of the dial we were greeted by the door man, who said:
NOT TONIGHT LADS, WE GOT TO MANY BLOKES IN.......

Barring in mind the time was only 20.40 so not late in the slightest way.

We all looked at each other and said ahhh are you for real,,, to cut a long story short any way we never caused a scene just laughed it off and jumped in a taxi to ashby and had a cracking night.

SO JUST TO RECAP TO EVERYBODY THE, DIAL IS NOW OFF MY LIST OF PLACES TO GO... WHAT A JOKE OF A PLACE AND OBVIOUSLY THE MANAGER THATS RUNNING THE PLACE IS A JOKE....

TUT TUT

Helpful?
3 Thank Ronnie823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is one of our family's favourite restaurants, and it's a great experience from the warm greeting, the brilliant attention to one's every need to the delicious food. Every sort of taste is catered for, from traditional to classic including oriental dishes alongside trendy fish and chips.

This restaurant has a great wine list too, and the pricing is very fair. We visit regularly for lunch, for family occasions and for more intimate celebrations and we have never had a bad meal or a less than warm reception.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super smiley and awesome brussell sprouts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great friendly staff, superb choice of meals. Excellent quality.
Nothing is too much for anyone at the restaurant and you are guarenteed to find something to your liking on the menu

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shakira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed! !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Turned up with my partner early Saturday evening, a la carte menu has pretty much gone only a couple of dishes on there. My partner had a medium rare fillet steak with chips, when it eventually turned up steak was cold and no chips! When we asked our waitress about the chips she snapped back" did you order any!" No I replied there on the menu "well do you want them , then!" Was her response?! Will not be going again any time soon!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rayblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dial also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Dial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing