We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wing Wah

Wing Wah
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I love Wing Wah!! Overall the pre-prepared dishes aren't that great but the Teppanyaki, Dim Sum and Chocolate fountain more than make up for it. Great value and I always leave there a VERY happy lady :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mand240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    153
    110
    54
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“felt a little saddened”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We've had some good times here so for our family get together for my sons 15th birthday it seemed a great idea. I booked 3-4weeks in advance to get the 'glass room' as i have autistic twin nieces who require alot of supervision due to their extensive special needs and we did not want to disturb other diners. I did explain this. They cannot eat the food but i was happy to pay for their places. So they wouldn't feel left out and to help them cope with the surroundings we gave them snacks which can eat. We were spoken to about this at the table and the managers comments passed on by a pleasant waitress were harsh. We were told that we could not do this again. i offered to pay again but was left feeling embarrassed and scolded. We were also spoken to about our method of payment and snapped at by the cashier who seemed to think we would not pay fully before leaving because we settled the bill in our 4 groups at the til?! There were 20 of us. Very disappointed by their ignorance towards special needs. We were discreet and respectful and made to feel discriminated against and watched! No tip left!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fishug14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Poor Tonight”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Waited ten minutes to be seated, far too few waitresses and waiters on duty. Thirty five minutes for drinks to arrive. Interestingly customers in front of me left a tip of around £15. The waiter on the till put it in the till and transferred £3 to the tip jar.

I use this restaurant regularly and travel 20 miles to get there, but if am not surer I will make the effort again. The waiter bringing our drinks just rudely slammed them onto the table and walked away. Placed the wine in front of my 8 year old daughter. We'll done. Cheer up or look for another job. .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a good venue to try different foods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

if you like to try different Chinese foods then this is the place for you, although they do have chips on the menu! of an evening they have various sweets including a chocolate fountain which my son loves, same choice of sweets in the afternoon without the fountain.
the Wing Wah has recently had a revamp so everything is fresh, the only down side is the Ladies, a little cramped !
If you want a specific time for your meal celebration I would recommend booking a table otherwise you may be given a time span for your meal.
But all in all yes I would recommend this venue although not a place for a cosey romantic meal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank alsladyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coalville
2 reviews
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I went here for my nephew's birthday and it was fantastic. The staff were very friendly we were served and looked after by someone called Simon and seated and looked after by someone called Eva. The food was brilliant and always filled back up as so as it was getting low. The food catered for the whole family and we have some fussy eats too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tripp989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wing Wah also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Wing Wah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing