We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just a short note to thank everyone at the Dovecliff for making Paul & Catriona's wedding such a memorable occasion.
From the moment we were greeting at the door to when we checked out, the staff were friendly, efficient and courteous. We booked the whole venue for my son's wedding and I have nothing but praise for everyone connected with this hotel.

Thank you all very much - a superb day

Room Tip: Just book it - trust me these people are professionals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartonWolfwolvesaywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, Owner at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your kind comments, we try our best to provide the best service, and were pleased to hear that your special day was perfect. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards.
Tony Sachdev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    102
    51
    29
    14
See reviews for
114
149
2
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We cannot praise the staff enough for their truly first rate service led by the newly appointed manager Jason. The hotel layout and grounds worked extremely well for our daughters wedding reception. We decided to opt for exclusive use for the day which I think helped our guests to feel more relaxed. The hotel has character and charm and a very nice 'feel' to it. The bedrooms and reception rooms were all very clean and of a good standard. The grounds were delightful with areas suitable for taking some lovely wedding photos. The wedding breakfast was very good and quickly and smoothly served.
A little work to be done to throughout by way of some freshening up of paintwork here and there but this is far outweighed by the overall standard. I would certainly recommend Dovecliff for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollybolly056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, Owner at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you, your comments are much appriciated.
Kind Regards
Tony Sachdev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathrow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a meeting that was held at the venue.

The rooms although very clean are very dated and my mattress had seen better days. The curtains in room three did not block out the light so it meant a couple of early mornings. Included in the room was bottled water - a nice touch and the shower gel and shampoo were of good quality - The shower pressure is poor.

Breakfast was clearly cooked to order and hot and well cooked on both days. Afternoon tea at the hotel look amazing the scones were freshly baked on the premises and would be worth a return visit for.

Dinner is at best okay and I wouldn’t eat dinner at the hotel again.

The grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments and I will certainly look at the mattress and the curtains in this room. We do try our best to ensure all our guests are happy throughout their stay and so I was a little disappointed to read that you thought dinner was at best ok. If you would like to get in touch with me at the hotel I would be happy to listen to your reasons for this and attempt to put them right.

Kind regards
J Manton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Having wished to go for a while a group of us booked in for Sunday Lunch. It started off well by being shown through to one of two wonderful morning rooms. We were hosted by a member of staff who was very helpful and brought us the drinks in no time at all. We got called through to lunch and in the bar area a gentleman was playing the piano which was a nice touch. It went down hill from here when we had two other members of staff look after us over our meal. It didn't help that they couldn't speak much English and asking for things seemed to much effort. The food was of standard quality with the meat over cooked and the vegtables overbooked and from a standard mixed pack you would find in the supermarket.

I hope standards will pick up as this is my wedding venue hence why we wanted to try the food.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

I live near the Hotel and have lunched and dined there many times over the last 25 years. My younger son, who lives in Jordan and had become engaged to a Jordanian girl, wanted to hold a Civil Wedding Ceremony at the Hotel because he, too, had enjoyed a lunch there in the past and thought it would be geographically convenient for wedding guests from Yorkshire and London. There would also be a group of the Bride's relatives arriving from Jordan who would want to stay there for two nights. The engaged couple and I met Helen, the Hotel's Wedding Coordinator, last September and we were able to agree on all the major aspects of the Wedding. Helen's advice was invaluable and proved totally reliable. On the day before the Wedding the Jordanian party checked in and found the accommodation to be suitable in every respect. The Ceremony went very well, the Dinner and wines were excellent and the subsequent disco was enjoyed by all. The lounge areas were able to provide comfortable seating for those who wanted to 'sit out' the dancing. We were grateful not only to Helen but to Jason, the maitre d'hotel, to Philippe, the chef, and to the bar staff. It was a memorable day and all the guests enjoyed themselves thoroughly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdtaylor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, Owner at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you Mr Taylor for your kind comments, we are all delighted that this special day was enjoyed by everyone. We pride ourselves in delivering excellent service. This will not be possible without experienced team - Helen the wedding/events co-ordinator, Jason the Asst
Manager and Phillipe the Head chef. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

We did not actually stay in the Hotel but, went for dinner as we live locally.
Very nice setting & decor. Can see why its a favourite for Weddings.
Menu had a reasonable selection. I ordered the fish but, had to send the 1st offering back as it was very over cooked and the second alternative fish option was only a little better. My wife had an over cooked Duck so we did not proceed any further and cut our losses got the bill and left.

When you send food back you really don't expect the same mistake ie ,they over cook the fish !
Poor response from staff as they look at you as if you'd over cooked the fish at the table when their backs had been turned !

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, Hotel Director at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Thank you for your comments. We welcome the feed back from our guests, irrespective of its nature, to enable us to continually strive to improve the quality of our product and the overall experience of dining out.
I would, however, like to point out that when you did express your dissatisfaction with the fish you were offered the alternative fish, with no hesitation, and which was prepared and brought to you straight away .When the restaurant supervisor cleared your table he asked if everything was to your satisfaction your comment was that the fish did not taste fresh. When you proceeded to pay your bill and mentioned to my co-director that you did not wish to pay the service charge because you had to send the fish back, he apologised and not only took off the service charge but also the charge of the alternative fish you had. He also assured you that we get fresh deliveries almost every day thus ensuring its quality. He again apologised for you not having had a pleasant experience.
This Saturday was not particularly busy as there were only 51 guests served, out of which we served the same fish to 7 other diners. None complained. In fact, the comments we received on the night were all positive and complimentary. There was, however, no mention of the duck not being up to standard, from yourselves, on the night. Again there were no negative comments from any other diners.
We do, however, take your points on board and again apologise for the food was not being to your liking. We try our best and pride ourselves in the quality of food and service we provide and if you were to revisit I will personally ensure that you do have a pleasant dining experience.

Tony Sachdev
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

I didn't actually stay here but will soon. Finding it by chance on Google, we used it for an informal meeting in a very comfortable lounge. This is a charming hotel and the staff, particularly the lady who looked after us with tea, cofffe and sandwiches a delight.
Just how a hotel should be. Menu looks inviting and when I can find a reason to stay I will

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing