We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Our Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had our wedding reception here in August 2012.

We looked at many venues but from the moment we stepped into hallway we had that 'feeling'. The features, the creaks, the smell, the gardens, not too big, not too small - it was just what we were looking for.

We arranged to meet a wedding co-ordinator to discuss our requirements and prices. We had Stacey who was our dedicated point of contact. Stacey made us feel immediately comfortable and relaxed, there was no pushy sales pitch, everything was in plain English and all our questions were answered swiftly.

We booked over a year in advance but Stacey kept in contact throughout the whole period right up until the big day. She was able to reassure us when needed, and able to accommodate some bizarre requests (every wedding is unique right?!). We got to choose every aspect of our wedding, the wealth of choice was astounding!

Please do ask for Stacey if you consider Dovecliff Hall for your wedding, she is an absolute credit to the venue and is extremely good at her job! Almost anything you ask for and its done!

Dovecliff can recommend a wide range of established companies for the 'bits and bobs' (disco/chair covers/flowers etc) which are reliable and reasonably priced. They have no problem with you using other companies either. We would definitely recommend Dave the Pianist, it added that extra special touch for us and was excellent value for money!

The food and menu choice was simply exquisite. We chose the Lamb which was mouthwateringly tender and full of flavour. They offer packages which you can mix and match however you like. You also get to go and have a FREE sample meal of some of the choices before you make up your mind, these are full portions, not just a smaller size. (Note: not all places give you a free sample, a lot charge you for this privilege!)

For the evening we chose the hog roast, this is done by an outside catering company but is all sorted through Stacey. It went down a brilliantly with our guests and we would really recommend a hog roast for something a bit different!

We came several times to sort things out and to take a look in all the rooms etc (and it was never any trouble!). We were offered hot drinks every time - Their cafetiere coffee is amazing, especially with cream!!! The Bridal Suite is simply Stunning with fantastic views and a wonderful bathroom. If only we could've stayed for one night longer!! Each room had its own character and feel. We preferred the older original rooms to the newer ones. The Bridal Suite is complimentary and you get a discount on the rest of the rooms. We managed to fill these fine!

The staff were all very smartly dressed and polite. They knew their job well and were very efficient (Especially when serving our food). The bar is small, but perfectly adequate and there were plenty of staff on for our guests. One request that we had was for a certain type of beer to be available. This wasn't a problem and on the day of our wedding that beer was flowing very nicely! To us it was little things like this that went the extra mile!

Price wise we believe it was probably on par with other places we visited. However, we felt that Dovecliff exuded quality and attention to detail that other places didn't. It was big enough to cope, but small enough to have that all important personal touch!

Since then, we have revisited (reminisced?) a few times for afternoon tea, which is lovely and fabulous value for money with a groupon voucher! We are always remembered which is humbling.

Would I recommend Dovecliff?.... In a heartbeat! We definitely made the right choice here.

Also, due to our brilliant wedding co-ordinator Stacey, everything went perfectly smooth on the day!

Martin & Claire Ridgers

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    103
    51
    30
    14
See reviews for
114
151
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We held our wedding reception at Dovecliff Hall on Saturday. The staff at Dovecliff have been fantastic to us especially stacey and Jason - Thank you.
The hall is set in beautiful gardens overlooking the river, as soon as we saw the hall from the top of the drive way we were blown away, then when looking around the hall we just knew it was just what we were after for our 'English Country' theme wedding. There is lots of different rooms, each individually styled and this made some fantastic photo opportunities....I would also recommend sam at The Florist gate for the amazing flowers that looked fantastic with centerpieces from Sensational Centerpieces and Aimee at Decor Chic for the lovely chair covers. Everyone along with dovecliff worked together to create such an elegant reception room. We had so many lovely comments and our guests really enjoyed themselves and so many people loved the food, it was excellent. Were so lucky to have found dovecliff. Can't wait to stay again! X

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsPearson2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.W.Leicestershire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Been here many,many times over the last 26 years years. Have always enjoyed the set menu at lunchtime and keep revisiting for the best Bread and Butter pudding in the world! I have also used this venue for team meeting of c 12 people. The meetings are held in the lounge or library and you then go through for lunch in the Orangery. Great setting, very helpful staff. The place is starting to look a little tired now but don't let that put you off. Recent visit was for Sunday lunch . The beef was excellent as was dessert, my favourite with a Cointreau twist!.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We all had a wonderful afternoon tea at the Dovecliff for my sisters baby shower. We held the small party in the library which was a fantastic room which looked lovely with the decorations that the staff had kindly put up for us. The staff were so attentive and ensured we had plenty of fresh tea and coffee throughout the afternoon. The sandwiches and cakes were delicious I don't think a crumb was left on the plate. I would highly recommend the Dovecliff as a great venue for a baby shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed at the Dovecliff Hall at Easter and got a very good rate on Hotels.com. A country house type hotel in nice grounds with plenty of parking, it's conveniently located near to the main road into Derby. The room was very comfortable and quiet and included tea and coffee making facilities. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was first class as was the inclusive breakfast. In summary, the Dovecliff Hall is a little gem of hotel - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyinghatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are on business in the East Midlands or just require a weekend break away for it all then I can certainly recommend a stay at the Dovecliff Hall. I have just returned from a short weekend break feeling much better for enjoying excellent service, good food and accommodation in a wonderful charming location set in beautiful Staffordshire countryside. A real gem!

Room Tip: All rooms at the Dovecliff have a charm of their own
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardforceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights while we explored the area. The staff were extremely welcoming. The rooms were large, well decorated and very comfortable. The room temperature was high, but it was easy to control the radiators. Breakfast was cereal, fruit juice and full English. Drinks in the bar were expensive, but that is to be expected. All in all an excellent hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have great views of the river Dove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith4529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing