We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over expensive, average quality, rude but more importantly, inadequate wedding staff.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Over expensive, average quality, rude but more importantly, inadequate wedding staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was an usher at my mates wedding and the night before we had a meal at the venue as a get together. The pork was fatty and greasy and the grooms steak was awful. The staff were either ignorant or rude. I had 2 pints of diet coke which cost £8.80......

The next day came and everyone arrived at the venue after the service.
Where to start?... The drinks package arrived as ordered. Then its a paid for bar which is standard. However 2 drinks will cost you almost £10 and if you have a double vodka and coke expext to pay £11 for it. Ouch.

But price isnt the only issue. Far from it.
They forgot the canopes for the wedding reception for a start. Fairly basic stuff. I went to ask where they were on behalf of the groom and was told 100% they were not ordered.
After they investigated, it turned out they were ordered and Dovecliff just messed it up. Still 100% about that? Shocking stuff and basic wedding planning. So no canopes then.

Other niggles are there is no microphone for speeches. Ridiculous.
A guest asked for an extra small bread role and was told no, only one allowed. He couldnt even buy one.

No flexibility on a wedding day is shocking.

The rooms need updating although the bridal suite is quite nice.

We had a great day at my mates wedding due to the company there. Dovecliff is over expensive and they do not have the expertease to put on wedding receptions convincingly. My advice would be go elsewhere.

Ive noticed the last few reviews are quite negative. Maybe it used to be better and has had a change of owner or manager or something. Who knows.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rich5wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are sorry you feel the need to complain about your friends recent wedding. To address your points:
Any issues raised with the food provided at the pre-wedding meal were addressed on the evening and the Bride and Groom commented afterwards that they had enjoyed a lovely evening with good food.
Our bar prices are comparable with other local hotels and it must be remembered that we are a country house hotel and not a public house.
With regard to the canapés, our Wedding Coordinator did make a mistake and after realising this approached the Bride and Groom and family to apologise. The bridal party acknowledged it was a genuine human error and although it was unfortunate were happy to accept the apology and the subsequent financial compensation which was offered. All other aspects of the wedding went exactly according to plan with everyone enjoying the food and drink provided. On check out the next day the Bride gave our Wedding Coordinator a hug and thanked her and all the staff for all their efforts. Mistakes can happen but the quality of any establishment and its staff are shown in the way such situations are handled.
In response to an extra bread roll being requested, there are always extras and we will ascertain which member of staff was concerned and ensure they are aware of this fact. We always do our very utmost to accommodate guest requests and this will be addressed.
We have never been asked for or felt a need for a microphone for speeches in the function room and I can assure you after overseeing over 300 weddings in my time at the hotel this would have happened if it was felt it was required.
I am not sure why you felt some staff were ignorant or rude and this was certainly not the feedback we received from the Bridal party.
We pride ourselves on the huge flexibility we offer to all guests and we have NEVER received a negative wedding feedback. Quite the contrary if you look at wedding reviews this year. It would seem that you feel the Bride and Groom were not satisfied and I will personally speak to them on their return from their honeymoon to see if this is indeed the case.
Helen Lofts
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    101
    49
    29
    14
See reviews for
114
146
2
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

this hotel is highly over-rated ,booked into the the superior rooms that needed to be freshened up staff never seen ,4 of us booked in and both rooms very scruffy and of a very poor standard.best part of this hotel is the free slippers they supply ,not much more to say will never return.

Room Tip: not much to talk about highly over-rated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul26051960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

There were 5 of us in our party and I managed to obtain a fantastic late deal through tripadvisor. The setting is lovely, with a sweeping drive as you approach the Georgian house. Inside it is rather "faded grandeur" which is a shame, as it could with a little effort be really lovely. Our three rooms were fine, with good facilities (although the showers were a bit pitiful). However, everywhere could benefit from a deep clean. Bedding, linen and towels were all good quality and spotless, so no complaints there.
The overall feeling is that the Hotel is chronically under-staffed. The first staff Member we saw appeared to be receptionist, manager, bar waitress and later waited on our table at dinner. The food was good - if pricey - £9 for three small pieces of cheese, crackers, grapes and celery was quite expensive, I felt, and my Husband had to ask for butter and then received a saucer with two tiny triangles on it!
Breakfast was fine, although the waitress did not explain that there was a self-service buffet table for cereal and fruit juice (described as freshly squeezed, but I don't think a fresh orange had been anywhere near it!). The full English was very good, nice bacon and sausages together with black pudding which pleased my Husband.
Overall the experience was a strange one - there are lots of little things which need addressing and it appears lots of cost-cutting is going on but we did quite enjoy our stay. However, I would not have been at all happy if I had been paying the full price!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FouroaksHoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I have,,for the last 25 years, enjoyed the dining services of this Hotel, it was our first choice for personal and family occasions. However, our visit for luncheon on the 24th of August 2013, with four guests ,was an embarrassing disaster.The pre lunch drinks were served in a scruffy bar which aiso accommodated a pile of cardboard packing cases. The main course menu comprised three choices, Moroccan Chicken, Salmon and a Vegetarian dish served with basic vegetables and sauces; anything else was extra. Compared to our previous experience the standard of cuisine and service was poor- one individual acted as receptonist,
waitress and accounts clerk.
From a warm welcoming atmosphere this hotel has been converted into a place of cold indifference. The prices were always high but represented good value for money, the exact opposite is now the case.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, Front Office Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for posting your review and we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent lunch. Our set lunch menu comprises a two course for £12 or three courses for £14.95 which we believe is excellent value for money and has been a huge success since its launch in June and is the menu which I believe your party chose from. However, running alongside this is our 'a la carte' lunch menu which offers huge variety both in selection and price and may be combined with the set menu if desired.
There was another member of staff on duty but at the time you arrived and paid she was dealing with guests making booking enquiries and would have been on hand if she was required.
There was a cardboard box in the bar which was awaiting collection and should have been moved away from the bar area and i am sorry if this was unsightly during your pre-lunch drinks. Please feel at liberty to call me and speak to me directly if you wish as these matters are always dealt with more effectively on a 'one to one' basis rather than on a public forum. We do hope you will return.
Helen Lofts
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at Dovecliff Hall hotel on 6th July. From the first day we found the venue, 12 months ago, to the day itself they couldn't have been more professional and helpful. They made us feel like nothing was too much trouble and supported us every step of the way. A far cry from the "corporate" venues you often get, Dovecliff oozes charm and character and you definitely feel that you are getting the personal touch. I cannot praise Laura and Peter enough for ensuring that all went smoothly on the day. For anyone wanting a beautiful, characterful wedding venue with excellent food, attentive service, beautiful rooms and impeccable organisation then Dovecliff is the place for you.
Thank you for making our big day so perfect in every way!!!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lcole10644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Fantastic hotel, very clean, helpful staff and good food. We had a spacious ground floor room which had it's own little terrace overlooking the river. Only minor point was that the drinks at the bar were a little on the pricey side,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was my first visit to Dovecliff for a meal with colleagues and it was really outstanding. The setting is stunning and the hotel very old and beautiful.

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed all 3 courses and the service was excellent. We were able to have drinks on the terrace as it was a lovely evening.

Warm potato and chorizo starter was good, followed by a tender lemon chicken breast and finished off with a highly recommended bread and butter pudding with Cointreau.

A few members of the party had the milk fed rabbit and said it was outstanding.

A truly memorable occasion definitely requiring a return visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cintsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing