We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wedding Co-ordinator who is charm personified - plus a great lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“A Wedding Co-ordinator who is charm personified - plus a great lunch”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Did not stay here but had a business lunch on a cold November day. Our waitress it transpired is the hotel wedding coordinator and she was a delight. Pleasant, attentive and informative without being intrusive.
This is a country house hotel with just 9 rooms and so its income is not going to be that great. I suspect that perhaps the bedrooms may be dated for the taste of some but maybe I am wrong.
the public areas are very warm and welcoming and I thing I will stay here sometime and see if the rest of the place is as good.
Oh and by the way the food was excellent - the blade of beef was 'to die for'

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    107
    52
    30
    14
See reviews for
116
156
3
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This must have once been a lovely Hotel. Now it is very tired & sad. A lot of pictures are missing from the walls of the very well proportioned rooms the furniture is lacking & uncomfortable no flowers no welcoming feeling from a " Country House Hotel"
The service was poor to bad the staff did not really speak very good English let alone understand the Menu or the Wine List. We were there on a Monday night as members of a party of 12 all pre booked & arranged .Ordering dinner took ages & when it came it was moderate, the Steaks inedible.
A Dog charge of £20 per dog in this" sporting area" is very steep .Rooms clean but dark. and whoever designed the bathrooms never thought about having to use them, loo paper attached to the wall behind the loo!
The ground were lovely, perhaps they should spend more time on the inside and less on the outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philippa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Accomodation excellent overlooking river and spacous. Evening meal starter and main course excellent although desert disappointing after quality of other courses.
Would definately return, if you are considering taking advantage of the evening meal be sure to book DB&B rate in advance as this offers good savings !
Would happly consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room on the side of the hotel overlooking river valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My other half booked this hotel as a birthday suprise for me.
I loved it.
Beautiful location, the grounds were lovely
Rooms are amazing, big bed (sooo comfortable) the bathroom was beautiful, all the little extras you would expext to find - shampoo, soap ect. Complimentlky tea, coffe, hot chocolate, water (Still & Sparkling)
The food is to die for. The evening meal we had was beautiful a great choice. And the same for beakfast, a lot of choice there too.
The staff were brilliant. They made our stay very enjoyable.
We will definity be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We searched for places to stay near Burton upon Trent in order to visit an elderly relative in hospital and came upon Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Although we only stayed 1 night we had an enjoyable stay; the Hall itself is very impressive, service was good, our room was comfortable (and quiet -very important) and the food was good.

We had dinner at the Hall and really enjoyed it; good soft medallions of beef, a nice piece of halibut and a cracking bread and butter pudding to finish. All washed down with a bottle of a full and buttery Chilean chardonnay - that was reasonably priced (I can't understand previous complaints on this site about drink prices - Dovecliff is no more expensive than other establishments of its type).

All in all a very short but perfectly enjoyable stay.

We got a good deal for our stay which included breakfast - looking through the hotel's brochure it also does some great DB&B deals...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I can not speak highly enough for Dovecliffe, the food and staff are wonderful, the afternoon tea is worth trying and evening meals are great, there is a wide choice and the conservatory area is a wonderful place to eat. We shall keep returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belouski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way to North Wales and were impressed as soon as we turned into the driveway. It was an ideal spot for weddings (see other reviews) and there were a number over the following weekend.

The Hotel was about 10 minutes from the M1 and I would guess about the same from the M6 (although we did not try it as we went to Stoke to see the pottery which was about 30/40 minutes away). It is a quiet country house within some very well manicured gardens. There was plenty of parking for residents.The public rooms were clean and full of character. Our room was large as was the bathroom. Both were clean and well kept although the room could have done with a central ceiling light rather than three table lamps. Although overlooking the driveway the room was quiet although a little warm but an open window soon remedied that. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

As we anticipated arriving late we had eaten on the way so did not try the restaurant that evening but the breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked. It was served in a verandah with lovely views over the gardens.

It is certainly a hotel we will return to and one we will bear in mind if travelling long distances on the motorways.

Room Tip: Our room although on the front of the hotel was quiet but I would think that rooms on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exile42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
497 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
312 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing