We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing lunch visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Solney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing lunch visit”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It is a long time since I last ate here so I was keen to see what the present owners have to offer. The building is a little forbidding from the outside but the setting is lovely. The welcome was indifferent - as was the service; such a shame. The food was good but unspectacular and immediately forgettable, My portion of pheasant breast was enormous; far too large and overwhelming. It was described as 'served pink' but that was wishful thinking. The starter of roasted duck liver on toast with raisins was very good, though and my guest enjoyed both the shellfish starter and the lemon sole main course. The mark-up on wines is eye-watering. Overall, this place lacks 'personality'. Where was the supervision in the restaurant and why did the young man behind the high reception desk remain seated both on arrival and when dealing with the bill? Worst of all, why is a 10% service charge added automatically to the bill? Surely this is an old-fashioned practice? Oh dear, it is such a shame that so many good things are forgettable and a few, niggling shortcomings remain firmly in my mind!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbbarrie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent lunch with us. I am so sorry that the welcome and overall service did not exceed expectations.

Obviously all points that you mentioned are great feedback and it enables me to ensure that all members of staff are informed so that our normally high standards can be maintained.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    103
    51
    30
    14
See reviews for
114
151
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Sunday 17 th nov check in was 3 pm. We had a function to go to at 5 they kindly let us check in at 1 lovely hotel only thing breakfast was a little early 7.15 - 9.15 the views from the room were fantastic. Would stay here again, when back in burton upon trent

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your great comments on your recent review. We always try and accommodate guests needs where possible.
I appreciate your breakfast time comment, this is something that I shall be evaluating to a possible change in the near future.

Hopefully see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had an overnight stay required for a bit of business in Burton-upon-Trent and the options of Premier Inn and Holiday Inn Express did not sound too good for my other half.
She did however start digging into alternatives and came up with Dovecliff Hall Hotel in nearby Stretton.
Glad she did as we had a very pleasant stay. Its a bit dated, however we felt it was part of its charm. Our room was large, clean, good bed and usual tea/coffee and nice biscuits were what you would expect in a nice hotel.
Bathroom again was a big room with the only downside being the cheap plastic toilet seat which was so unstable due to its flimsy nature.
The staff from the reception to the waiting staff were all pleasant and attentive as you would expect.
Food was of a very good standard and with a bit of improvement could be of a fine dining experience. Next morning was an excellent full breakfast which was welcome for our long journey home.
I cant honestly say we are likely to be in the area again to make a return visit, but if we did, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Check the hotel's own site for any deals as you may get a B&B rate cheap elsewhere, the incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for your recent kind words from your review. Sorry to hear your feedback regarding the bathroom situation, this shall be addressed in the new year as we are going to be concentrating on a refurb project in some of our rooms.

In the new year we shall be introducing our new menus also which will improve the dining experience in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Did not stay here but had a business lunch on a cold November day. Our waitress it transpired is the hotel wedding coordinator and she was a delight. Pleasant, attentive and informative without being intrusive.
This is a country house hotel with just 9 rooms and so its income is not going to be that great. I suspect that perhaps the bedrooms may be dated for the taste of some but maybe I am wrong.
the public areas are very warm and welcoming and I thing I will stay here sometime and see if the rest of the place is as good.
Oh and by the way the food was excellent - the blade of beef was 'to die for'

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This must have once been a lovely Hotel. Now it is very tired & sad. A lot of pictures are missing from the walls of the very well proportioned rooms the furniture is lacking & uncomfortable no flowers no welcoming feeling from a " Country House Hotel"
The service was poor to bad the staff did not really speak very good English let alone understand the Menu or the Wine List. We were there on a Monday night as members of a party of 12 all pre booked & arranged .Ordering dinner took ages & when it came it was moderate, the Steaks inedible.
A Dog charge of £20 per dog in this" sporting area" is very steep .Rooms clean but dark. and whoever designed the bathrooms never thought about having to use them, loo paper attached to the wall behind the loo!
The ground were lovely, perhaps they should spend more time on the inside and less on the outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philippa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Accomodation excellent overlooking river and spacous. Evening meal starter and main course excellent although desert disappointing after quality of other courses.
Would definately return, if you are considering taking advantage of the evening meal be sure to book DB&B rate in advance as this offers good savings !
Would happly consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard room on the side of the hotel overlooking river valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My other half booked this hotel as a birthday suprise for me.
I loved it.
Beautiful location, the grounds were lovely
Rooms are amazing, big bed (sooo comfortable) the bathroom was beautiful, all the little extras you would expext to find - shampoo, soap ect. Complimentlky tea, coffe, hot chocolate, water (Still & Sparkling)
The food is to die for. The evening meal we had was beautiful a great choice. And the same for beakfast, a lot of choice there too.
The staff were brilliant. They made our stay very enjoyable.
We will definity be returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSBeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing