We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.. Beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stay.. Beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely afternoon tea...nice views from the room of the river.....breakfast was super really fresh.. Would recommend and would definitely revisit.. Staff very helpful...lovely weekend treat..........reasonably priced too

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenhls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear helenhls

Thank you for your kind feedback, myself and the team at the Dovecliff are so glad that you had a lovely stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    105
    51
    30
    14
See reviews for
115
154
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I searched many different wedding venues before coming across Dovecliff, from the moment of our first enquiry the staff at Dovecliff went above and beyond to accommodate us. Along with the stunning venue this was a great contributor to us booking our wedding here. Everything went smoothly from the moment I arrived on the eve of the wedding until we left on the day after the wedding.
All of our guests commented on how lovely the food was and how helpful & polite all of the staff were. After all everybody wants their guests to be well looked after & for their wedding day to run smoothly.

If you are just looking at this venue for the hotel facility I would certainly recommend the honeymoon suite, although all of our guests that stayed said that their rooms were lovely the honeymoon suite is gorgeous.
A special mention for Sarah who really looked after us throughout the whole process and made sure that our wedding was everything we could have wished for.

Wedding-11th January 2014

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Lucy C

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your special day with us. We always strive to ensure that not only do you have a magical day but your guests have a great experience too.

It was a pleasure to look after you all and I do hope that we will be welcoming you again to Dovecliff Hall soon.

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

One night, B&B, was a present from my Hubs on our 10th anniversary. It is wonderful, the staff are friendly, the food is good, the bed was so comfortable we could have slept another day away. Only one or two issues, light bulbs blown and not replaced, no menu in our room, and an empty salt cellar on our table, and I found a cobweb in the bedroom! Seriously though, it was a memorable stay. The dinner menu was well presented, and cooked to perfection, an excellent choice of wines at a very reasonable price. Both Hubs and I were very pleased, and we will go back again.

Room Tip: There is no double glazing so there is noise from wind and weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Jane B

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide me with your feedback.

The minor issues are big issues to me and I have filtered this case to my staff, detail is very important and something that we strive for daily.

However I am glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here Last Night On A Groupon Deal,incl Tea & Scone On Arrival.Excellent Staff,Lovely Soothing Well kept Georgian Mansion & grounds.Well Worth The Extra £10 to stay in One of the Original Georgian Rooms.Probably Expected a Little More from the cooked breakfast,Tomato Was hard,Sausage had grissle in it & coffee only luke warm,breakfast still ok though overall.Really liked the place & setting.Excellent value on a Groupon Deal.Hope to stay again at this sort of price.

Room Tip: Pay the Extra £10 to stay in the original building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear john s

Thank you very much for your comments.

I am so sorry that breakfast was not up to our usual high standard. My head chef has looked into this experience and spoken to his staff and with our butcher to avoid this happening again.

Hopefully we shall welcome you again back at Dovecliff Hall in the future.

Kind regards


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Was a little worried after reading some recent reviews, but needn't have been too concerned. Afternoon tea on a groupon deal for two.

We asked for decaffeinated tea and green tea, it wasn't an issue and both were Twinings teas. A glass of sparkling wine each and three finger sandwiches-ham, cheese and cheese and cucumber, not the most adventurous of fillings. The cheese was mature and tasty although the ham was plastic tasting. A plain scone with cream and jam, the scone was delicious and a zingy piece of lemon drizzle cake, fresh and moist. Absolutely fine for what we paid and to spend sometime in pleasant and interesting surroundings.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fatandfrantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear fat and frantic

Thank you for your positive report regarding your recent afternoon tea visit.

I am sorry that you felt are sandwiches were not adventurous enough and our butcher supplied ham was not up to standard. This is feedback that I shall remember for when I seek to do another groupon offer in the future.

Kind regards


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Visited for afternoon tea and an overnight stay on 6th March.
We were made to feel very welcome at the start. Check in was quick and easy, we were asked if we would like dinner that evening and said we would like to check the menu first. A menu was presented for us to take to our room. Our room was very clean and well presented, warm and of a good size. room 10 overlooking the river at the rear of the building( no road noise, although the river was in full flow and we could hear that, which is fine )
We had a look at the menu and decided to eat in..
The service in the restaurant was excellent and the waiter (Miguel) very professional even topping our wine glasses up whilst on his way back to the kitchen( which doesn't happen very often these days) and checking if everything was satisfactory.
The meal was tasty and well cooked and we chose to have the cheeseboard also, but with a gap between courses, which was no problem to the staff at all.
All in all a very enjoyable experience.
All staff we came across seemed eager to please and made sure we were happy in all respects.
We intend to return at some point, maybe for longer this time.
This would be a lovely place to hold any type of celebration, particularly using the Orangery/ conservatory.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear suan_thornley

What terrific feedback, thank you very much for taking the time to report on your recent stay with us. It means the world to us that our customers leave content and happy. And from your kind words we have successfully achieved that...

I have passed on your praise to my team here at Dovecliff and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest regards


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I would like to congratulate the Dovecliff Hall Hotel for the work and attention to detail they put into our son and daughter in law's wedding at the end of February.
We had a wonderful time from the moment we arrived on the eve of the wedding right until the morning we left.
On the eve of the wedding the hotel provided a private dining room solely for a family meal, enabling relatives from the USA to catch up with family they hadn't seen for a while. The menu was comprehensive and the food excellent.
The wedding day itself was fabulous, the service in the sunlit orangery was delightful and the dining room for the wedding breakfast was beautifully laid out with excellent food and service. In fact we found all the staff to very polite and attentive, but must give special thanks to wedding coordinator Laura, who despite also being a guest made sure everything went very smoothly ensuring a perfect day.
Many thanks,
Malcolm and Jenny Steven.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Malcolm S

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, it was a pleasure looking after you all and please come back and see us in the future.

Kind regards


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
480 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing