We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose the Dovecliff Hall Hotel for our wedding in March 2014. The lead up to the day was dealt with in the most professional way by the team at the hotel. Once we had the basics sorted - date, numbers, entertainment, menus and the timings for the day, it was plain sailing. We were allowed to put our own ideas for the details around decoration, music and order of events with the utmost support from the hotel. All of our ideas were well received with a definite "can do" attitude from everyone at the Dovecliff. During the run up to the wedding the hotel manager Stuart and events manager Sarah worked closely with us to ensure everything was as we wished. On the day itself we could not fault the staff - everyone from the new starter David, the waiter Miguel and all the rest of the fabulous waiting and bar staff worked flawlessly to make our day truly special. In particular our wedding event manger Sarah was superb. There wasn't a single moment during the day when she wasn't on hand to smooth the running of what was the most perfect wedding we could have imagined. We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough, either on that day or the numerous other occasions we have returned for some beautiful family events. Fabulous staff, fabulous food, fabulous venue - what more can we say?

Room Tip: The Lord Burton suite is well worth the little extra it costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear John M

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your special day here at Dovecliff Hall, I have passed on all your feedback to my staff which really does help the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards


Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a track day at Donington. It was a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with spectacular views in all aspects. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to help us when we had left property behind by sending this to us on their day off! The breakfast as stated was tasty and when I asked for beans which were not on the menu the request was accommodated without any issue. Thank you for a lovely stay Dovecliff Hall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkAnnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear UkAnnon

Thank you for your kind comments, we all look forward to welcoming you back to Dovecliff Hall again.

Kind regards


Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A beautiful place, our wedding day was fantastic!! The venue is gorgeous with stunning surroundings, the hotel is not too big so it felt more special as it was just our wedding there and our family occupied all of the rooms which was lovely, very private and great to share the next morning at breakfast all together. We stayed in the bridal suit which is gorgeous, all rooms are lovely. The staff were brilliant throught out our stay and on our wedding day, a big thank you to Sarah our wedding co-ordinator she did a fantastic job from start to finish, even our tables for our wedding breakfast were dressed so beautiful. The food was amazing all our guests said how amazing everything was. We want to do it all again!! We have re-booked the bridal suit for our 1st wedding anniversary. A big thank you to everyone at the Dovecliff for an amazing day. Lisa and Andy Judge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LisaJudge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear LisaJudge123

Thank you kindly for taking the time to place your feedback on tripadvisor, myself and my team are so glad that you had a great time at Dovecliff Hall.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your 1st wedding anniversay!

Kind regards

Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I viewed many wedding venues before deciding on Dovecliff and we could not have been happier with our choice. The staff were all friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. The building and grounds are magnificent even on a cold and windy day in November. We got lots of beautiful photos in and around the well kept grounds. The foods was lovely and we had many comments on the service.
We stayed the night in the bridal suit which was perfect and many friends and family occupied the other rooms and said how well presented they where.
A special thank you to our wedding co ordination Laura for doing a fantastic job setting up the wedding breakfast room/tables with such attention to detail. Thank you to all the lovely staff at Dovecliff for making our day so special we look forward to returning in the near future.

Mr and Mrs Mason

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Tanya M

Thank you for your kind words regarding your wedding you had with us. You have captured just why Dovecliff Hall is such a great wedding venue in your feedback, it was an absolute pleasure looking after you and your party. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards


Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in a superior room...Very nice building in a country setting.Spacious roomvery clean and nicely decorated.Very friendly staff..Breakfast tasty and freshly cooked..Nice garden to relax in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear LancashireDolly

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on tripadvisor, I am so glad you had a good stay with us recently. Be sure to visit us again in the future where we look forward to looking after you.

Kind regards


Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Usually when you go to the georgian hotels they are rather tired and showing their age. This was very well presented, very clean, large modern bathroom comfortable bedroom.

The staff were very courteous and offered to help.

The countryside around the hotel was beautiful and made for a relaxing night before the next day's business.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazza2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Kazza2609

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your great feedback to tripadvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards


Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have made a number of visits to The Dovecliff over the years - usually for a birthday lunch or some special treat. My husband and I love coming here because we love the ambiance of the house and gardens and have always been pleased with the food. It's so nice to come here for lunch, retire to the dining room for coffee then finish up with a walk around the grounds.

My two daughters came up from London and took me out to afternoon tea here today. We were surprised there was no menu - we were just shown a box of teas when we asked what was on offer. Also, we were expecting to be in the Orangery but we were told that they had finished clearing tables for lunch so we were in the dining room. We were also surprised that we weren't asked if we wanted champagne to start and were bought the tea straight away so it was too late to ask. Tea consisted of two finger sandwiches each, two tartlets each, two pieces of cake each and one scone each with jam and cream to share. The bread in the sandwiches tasted very cheap. They were very plain sandwiches - smoked salmon, cucumber and ham. The ham was tasty. The tartlets were lovely - lots of fruit and cream but the cake was a huge disappointment. A slice of very heavy lemon and plain chocolate cake. The scones were warm and fresh and there was just enough jam and cream. The website advertises strawberries but these did not appear.

We have had afternoon tea out a number of times in London and they really seem to go out of their way with the cake selection so this was a bit of a let down.

It's the first time I have been here and come away disappointed. All the more so because my student daughter (who can Ill afford to) paid for it. I do hope the Dovecliff takes this on board, I want to give it 5 stars but they need to up their game as far as afternoon tea is concerned. Afternoon tea has become quite a big business but I am sad to say the Dovecliff does not live up to expectations on this occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Navybluebiplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Navybluebiplane

I am so sorry that we let you down recently, this really isn't our normal ways of service as you know from visits gone by. I have recently had some new members joining the team over the last couple of months so I can assure you these issues that you reported will be addressed.

I am also working with chef at the moment for ideas to add to the current afternoon menu so that it can be compared to afternoon tea venues that you find in the Capital.

Do please come and see us again I will ensure that your experience will be a marked improvement.

Kind regards


Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
515 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
341 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
467 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing