We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“thank you”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

thank you for a lovely time for my daughters wedding,you all worked hard ,our room was lovely ,clean breakfast brill ( the wedding was 2nd august)food good the only worry was that the drinks brought at the bar was charged at what they could get away with ( very naughty!!!!)
other than that would recommend

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hewitt737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    103
    51
    30
    14
See reviews for
114
151
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A stop over for our road trip. Very nice place and rooms, but the bed in room 110 was not very comfortable as part of the divan base had sunk so I felt like I was sleeping upside down. So we did turn ourselves round half way though the night. The shower head needed descaling or replacingThe breakfast was good and plenty of coffee. The staff were nice and friendly,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The afternoon tea was okay, it's just a shame there was no choice on the type of sandwiches or cakes. The food itself was lovely, especially the scones. The staff seemed friendly, but I expected the waiters to check on us throughout the afternoon tea, i.e. if we need any more tea, but they left us to it; we didn't see the waiters again after they served our tea.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Fabulous surroundings. , excellent choice of meals , family party of 20 this lunchtime , they couldn't do enough for us x
Food was gorgeous , every meal was excellent, tasty. & hot
Recommend to all , value for money , gardens are well kept & lovely to walk round

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jof7702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear jof7702

Thank you for your Sunday lunch comments which I have passed onto chef.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We came across this Hotel by accident really, the setting is beautiful and grounds are well maintained and pretty. Our room was large however the furniture was all a bit 'mismatched' even down to the lampshades over the bed, on our arrival there was a hair grip and a toe nail clipping on the floor, the hair grip we left in situ!
The staff were all so friendly and very attentive. I thought the selection of cereals etc at breakfast was very poor with the 'homemade'muesli being Alpen. The cooked breakfast was cooked to order but they didn't get the order correct and the plates were not hot.
On checking out I did mention these items to the receptionist and it was explained that they are in the process of refurbishment.
All in all a lovely place with great potential, however attention to detail is important, we saw ashtrays outside full of dog ends and dirty glasses left outside for the whole three days which we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Votierjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Votierjude

Thank you for your recent feedback. I am so sorry that you witnessed general housekeeping under par here at Dovecliff Hall. All points have certainly been discussed at great length with my staff to ensure that the standards you witnessed shall not be repeated.

As you mentioned we are always looking to improve the overall look of the hotel and more rooms are in the pipeline to be refurbished.

Please if you have time email me direct at stuart@dovecliffhallhotel.co.uk so that we may discuss your findings further.

Kind regards


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here before and it is a beautiful hotel. Peaceful, comfortable, and excellent service. Very reasonably priced, and ideally located just off the A38. The staff are friendly and helpful, and can't do enough for you. The cooked English breakfast was really good and served piping hot.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RobRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear RobRees

Thank you very much for taking the time to give trip advisor your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards


Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this venue off the back of a purchased Groupon voucher.
From entering the hall it was disappointing to see that their were shabby elements to the decor, curtains missing from windows where their were fittings, exposed energy saving lightbulbs with not lamp shades, I'm general a very tired unenviting reception area.
With the weather being nice it would have been nice to sit outside. We asked if we could do that, no attempt was made to put up the parasols and make it a pleasant experience whilst waiting for the meal to be served.
On serving the started it was accompanied with a side salad which was brown and had a large fly crawling on the plate under the food. This was very off putting and when outlined to the waiter he just said the chief sent his apploigies. The glasses and table wear were dirty and had the be removed.
Coffee and tea were offered at the end of the meal to which we accepted but the tea never arrived.
In review of this establishment it was very disappointing and embarrassing for me as I was taking a friend to dinner. The service was slack with no attention to detail. The food was substandard from its claims to have a credible chief, Frankie and Benny's were on the same par for the offered meat balls and mash. Very poor quality food in surroundings that needed smartening up to justify their claims

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Claire S

I do apologise for Dovecliff Hall not reaching your expectations. I am sorry if service and quailty standards had not been met on this day. I have held discussions with my restaurant manager and Head Chef so that we can ensure that this never happens again.

Please email me direct so that we can discuss further:- stuart@dovecliffhallhotel.co.uk

Kind regards

Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
6.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Property: Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovecliff Hall Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing