We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Industrial Victorian History at its best”

Claymills Victorian Pumping Station
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just 1/4 mile from A38 Burton North junction. Brown signs from junction but not on A38
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Industrial Victorian History at its best”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Group visit by some members of the Morgan Sports Car Club.
I spent some time looking at the web site of the pumping station - it's good, but if that whets your appetite, don't delay, head there today! The actual Station is well worth a visit, particularly on steaming days. From the Lancashire boilers to steam powered beam engines 4 stories high one can spend hours here (in fact I did - over 6).
All the auxilliary plant and additional engines are also worth careful perusal, plus the workshops. While some areas are off limits to the general public just wandering about this is for good reason, but chat to a volunteer and there is a good chance of being guided around those areas.
All the volunteers were extremely friendly, they obviously know a lot about the history and mechanics of the site and are prepared to answer all questions (no matter how silly some questions may seem).
Thanks for a great visit and the opportunity to assist starting 'C' Engine!
Oh and with all the interesting steam engines and workshops, the cafe does excellent tea/coffee and home made cake - NOT to be missed.
A big, BIG thumbs up to all the volunteers!
(Graham & yellow Morgan "Buttercup")

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham-G4FUJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    35
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
burton on trent
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“In short it was fantastic”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I went on easter monday while on one the streaming open day. I took my 2 year old and my 5 year old. In short it was fantastic.

There was an easter thymed teasure hunt set up which the older kid enjoyed and the younger enjoy all of the sights and sound and stair. All of the staff were great very helpful and knowledgable. We were not charger the 2year old as he is under school age. All this fun just £7.50.

I would definitely recommend this place

Helpful?
2 Thank alfiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lucky to visit on a Bank Holiday when 'Steam is up', with all the pumps and engines running, the blacksmith hard at work. The site has been so brilliantly restored but it is an ongoing process. Seeing how steam was generated back in the late 19th century and the Victorian bath that the workers and their families were allowed to use in a time when taking a bath was a complete luxury. It is so well worth the very small admittance fee particularly when you see that the money is being put to such good use. A marvellous example of British Heritage that should never be lost. Definitely go again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottykat49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unstone Green
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place for a visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Especially as the Morgan Car Club was there too, so loads of classic Morgans to ogle, as well as the pumping station, which was in full steam. Superb machinery, superb buildings, and really helpful volunteers who were really pleased to chat. I went in my 1966 Series 2 Land Rover, so was not too out of place in the car park! A must go again sort of place. Certainly in nice weather!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LordUnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertville, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A brilliant guided tour of this fascinating place.”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A guided tour by Steve, one of the volunteers, gives you an excellent detailed history of this pumping station. Well worth a visit even if you don't know anything about steam. We look forward to returning on a steam up day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claymills Victorian Pumping Station also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Claymills Victorian Pumping Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing