We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Pascal at The Old Vicarage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fine English cuisine with a French twist served in relaxed and comfortable surroundings.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had lunch at this restaurant today and it was really top notch. The menu is interesting and the cooking is special. The Butterfly sardines and the Morrocan lamb were lovely starters. The lamb in particular was melt in the mouth and served with a lemon couscous, pitta bread and tsaziki. Mains were calves liver which my wife said was really well prepare d and cooked. My duck breast with a sweet and sour sauce on a bed of noodles with mushrooms was a triumph. Sweets were delicious. We had the Assiet de Gourmand and all five were wonderful. Extra praise for the Brownie which was chocolate heaven. It's not cheap but it's worth it! The service is not at the level of the cooking, but it was OK.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    78
    22
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
153 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great sunday lunch, and surprisingly cheap”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Eleven of us went to The Old Vicarage for Sunday lunch. We had drinks in the garden and were under no pressure from the staff to take our table, even when our reservation time was long gone. When we asked to be seated, we were taking inside without delay.

The food was great, and surprisingly cheap for a three-course meal of that quality. And there were plenty of staff around and they were all polite and attentive.

This was my first and only visit to this restaurant, so have no experience of it in the evenings, but for a Sunday lunch, it was an excellent destination.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cookery demonstration AND you get to eat it afterwards!”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

For just £30 each, I took my mum and I along to Pascal's for a cookery demo. It was relaxed, informal and good fun. The chefs' willingness to share their trade secrets and help us understand how to cook better was refreshing and valuable. We ate the same menu in the restaurant afterwards and enjoyed the company of others from the demo. It is a really lovely thing to do, especially with my mum.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreaLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The English Midlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“We are all over 55 and, yes its a great venue”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Has Ageism started to blight trip advisor?

This is a wonderful venue, Great Food, well presented and served as restaurant food should be served.

If you want Fast Food or Razamatazz try an American style diner! This is a French Restaurant and a quality venue.

We went with Friends and were prepared to drive 25 miles to enjoy this establishment.

One of our local restaurants has gone very much Bistro/ Informal style and this is not something we want when dining out on a special occasion.

Pascal, Keep up the good work!

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton on trent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“always fresh and delicious”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Pascals has been top of our list of favourite restaurants for ages and has once again delighted us with a delicious meal in wonderful relaxed surroundings. Staff are efficient and friendly and the food is ample and exquisitley prepared and presented. Always excellent value for the wonderful things on offer. No hesitation to recommend to friends. Busy enough on weeknights to have attmosphere. Treat the MRS ...you know shes worth it!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank forgotmetoothpaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pascal at The Old Vicarage also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Acton Trussell, Stafford
 

Been to Pascal at The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing