We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class meal”
Review of Anoki

Anoki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First class meal”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I was delighted with my first visit to Anoki. The restaurant looks great decorated in a traditional style with a modern contemporary twist. All the staff are dressed up and we had excellent service from start to finish.
The food is excellent, especially the special grill starter and the lamb chops. The nan breads are lovely if a little heavy. We ordered too much as usual and took the left overs home.
Great stuff, we will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gravey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    81
    63
    36
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Over priced and overated or just wrong menu choice?”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have driven past the "pink" lights of Anoki on a number of occasions and finally decided Saturday to give it a go (my 11 and 13 girls love a good curry so why not?)

We arrived early 5.30 and took advantage of the 2 for 1 main offer nevertheless our final bill with service charge was £108 (included 4 starters, 4 main courses I large glass of wine, I large Cobra and 2 lemonades). Had the food been amazing the cost would not have been an issue however..... the main courses were OK but I have certainly tasted better.

On the positive it is a very nice setting with great service from authentically dressed waiter/waitresses and very well presented food. The starters were also good portions (and my favourite part of the meal) and with hindsight we could have had one to share between 2 rather than 1 each.

I note a number of other trip advisors rave about the food so perhaps we made wrong meal choices (I had Chefs recommendation Cod and also tried 2 different Chicken dishes that my family had none of which were stunning).but who knows perhaps there are better dishes we didn't find.

Will I go back probably just to see if it was a one off but not in the near future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckleyHappyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful food”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After reading good reviews about this restaurant I was expecting good food and a good service. However the food and service I received was shocking. The food was swimming in oil after I had specifically requested less oil. On contacting Anoki to complain I was greeted with a response to not order food from them in future. Bad food and extremely disappointed with the service. Would not recommend. Garry G

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Indy441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Rating from not a great curry lover !”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Went for an 18th birthday party meal.great friendly welcome .We all decided to go for a special set meal option.The starters were many and varied but despite warning by waiters to leave room for main course they were too nice to leave.The mains were all the usual suspects and very tasty.Then unprompted the staff brought out a birthday cake for the birthday girl All adding up to a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epocmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“High quality Indian”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We visited Anoki for the first time this week having driven past it lots of times saying "we should try that place" - they have a lot of very positive reviews and quite rightly so!

Service was great, very pleasant and attentive staff, very polite yet appropriately chatty.
The restaurant itself was very nice inside, you easily forget you're right next to a very busy road!
The food was delicious, both me & my wife tried new dishes we had not sampled before as well as more regular dishes and we found all of them to be absolutely delicious!

A meal with drinks came in at around £85 which isn't cheap, but this is a very good quality establishment and we will definitely visit again!

Helpful?
Thank HostileSmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anoki also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Anoki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing