We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Almost Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Queens Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton upon Trent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Three Queens Lodge
Essex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had 2 rooms in the three queens lodge as there were 5 of us. The rooms were of a good size. clean and comfortable, the only real downside was the stuffiness, no air conditioning and impossible to open a window at night as we were on th groundfloor with a busy street right outside. So not only was it very noisy if a window was opened also did not feel safe. Also was very surprised that there was no phones in the rooms even if only to contact reception or in our case the folks in the other room. And though we had booked together were at opposite ends of the lodge.would have been nice to be next door or at least a little closer. I think any future booking we would ask to be upstairs. Our evening meal in the hotel was very good breakfast was average. On the whole though a very nice and very reasonable place to stay.

Room Tip: Aim for an upstairs room if you want a window open, but be warned it is near a noisy main road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sudawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Me my hubby and two daughters have just returned from a 3 night stay.

Now I'm trying to put this in the nicest way possible........
On our arrival the location was not as EXPECTED, when looking on the website it appeared to be in a quiet area, but instead it was basically on a busy roundabout with sirens at night.

The Receptionist greeted us and with a kind sympathetic smile told us our room was on the top floor.
Three flights of steep stairs later we reached our rooms!!! There is no lifts!!!
The room was nice clean and tidy with plenty of room.
Now all I can say though there was no air con in these rooms and it was very warm and sticky all the time, even with the window open !!
The staff did give me 3 fans which unfortunately did not really help
( I think I could of blew colder air myself!!!)
The beds I we found were rather uncomfortable too.
The bathroom was lovely and tidy with shower cubicle.

We booked here for closeness to Alton Towers and basically it was a lot further than we EXPECTED as with all the little country lanes in which we had to drive it was a good hour there and back!!!

We booked one meal deal and ate once there and paid.
The Breakfast was nice though they seem to be out of stock on certain things that where on the menu and where waiting for delivery. Cooked fresh.

Bar snacks and sandwiches where nice but little pricey as of the drinks, £3.60 for pint of lager.
Main Menu was not enough choice as of the kids menu as well found it hard to choose especially with kids.

Staff where really friendly and pleasant, (though on checkout day cleaner nearly walked in room , (even when door had a do not disturb sign on), then followed to come in again to ask what time we we're leaving!!! lol

Overall it is a nice hotel/lodge but if you are looking for a family base to go to Alton Towers on a cheaper budget stick to Premier Inns as they are much better and value for money...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMack79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I've stayed at the Queens on many occasions over the last over the last 6 or 7 years, formerly in the hotel proper and on the last two occasions in the lodge. This is a warm, clean,comfortable and friendly hotel and I have always been met with curtesy and helpfulness by all the staff.

Breakfasts are of good quality with a good and varied choice.

The bedrooms are of good standard with comfortable beds and a variety of amenities - there is no difference in the qualities of the bedrooms betwen the hotel and lodge.

All in all a more than pleasant place to stay when in Burton

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torbay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

my husband and I stayed one night as he came to watch Torquay United play Burton we stayed in the lodge and could not have asked for more! staff friendly and helpful had a drink in the bar everywhere was clean and it was situated very conveniently for the town would highly recommend to anyone! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Selected the Three Queens as it was central for a number National Trust Properties and other attractions we wished to see. Booked in for six nights with breakfast in the adjacent hotel, and pre-booked to eat in the hotel on three nights.

Lodge is easy to find, there is sufficient car parking. Rooms are a very good size, clean and comparable with Travelodge/Premier Inn.

Staff were very friendly, always a smiling face. You are waited on for breakfast, service is quick, and food is freshly cooked – not lukewarm from a hot plate. Evening meal was also very nice; food well-presented and full of taste. Unfortunately it was more or less the same menu every night so I was please I had only booked us to eat for three of our nights – I was with a fussy eater who was selective over what she will and will not eat.

Town Centre is a short walk away, as is a pleasant riverside walk both routes lead to alternative options for evening meals.

Very good value for money will be recommending it family/friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGH_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Spent 2 nights here and had a very enjoable stay. The room was large and comfortable. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aileena122016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Rooms were clean, staff were very helpful and friendly and breakfast was lovely. We were a large group and the hotel coped really well with all of our needs. Would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaydey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.1 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.6 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Queens Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Queens Lodge

Property: Three Queens Lodge
Address: Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Three Queens Hotel Burton Upon Trent
3 Queens Lodge
Three Queens Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing