We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Meal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balti Tower

Balti Tower
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
davew5705
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing Meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We decided to eat at Balti Tower with friends at the weekend, having had a couple of take-a ways and previous visit a long while ago.
I have to be honest and say that this was not what we hoped for. On the plus side it is good that you can bring your own drinks and my main course was quite good but unfortunately the starters were all very bland, the main courses all looked very similar (despite ordering different) and my wife and our two friends didn't enjoy theirs.
The staff were not particularly friendly and the service pretty indifferent. The decor was OK but the toilets pretty dire.
Unfortunately not somewhere I would go back to any time soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davew5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    15
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Would not want to go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We visited this restaurant at the weekend and it was pretty awful. It's gone down hill in our opinion over the past few years and I would not return or recommend it to anyone. The food is really poor quality, the decor tired and in some places dirty. The carpet leading to the upstairs restaurant is filthy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramsfan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

5 of us called in and really enjoyed the food and the price and will definitely be returning again very soon..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iancadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit rough and ready.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Basic. Could do with a makeover. Food is ok....get what you pay for i suppose. Staff a bit indifferent. Can take in your own drink which is handy as there is a Burton Bridge pub across the road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul504150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just ate there, Staff-style lamb, chef special chicken tikka, spinach/chick peas/mushrooms - all balti - all excellent. Service quick and efficient and the fact that it's a bring-your-own-booze place kept us to just water which was all that was needed for a good feed. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FulhamPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balti Tower also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Balti Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing