We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic informative experience with a beer at the end!”

The National Brewery Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Re-opened in 2010, the Centre incorporates the former Bass Museum and tells the story of the birthplace of british beer, its people and the history of brewing in the UK. Our tour guides offer daily tours at 11.00am and 2.00pm each day and really bring the story to life. Sample some of the excellent real ales brewed at the Centre's Worthington Micro Brewery or enjoy a bar meal or a full flagon banquet in our restaurant with a beer and food guide to help you appreciate the flavours of beer. The Centre's corporate and function rooms (and our 400 capacity permanent marquee) are set in the historic brewery buildings and offer a great venue for your company function, weddings, parties and social gatherings.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was my birthday present and it was a fantastic day out for my wife child and I. The gentleman who showed us around gave us bright and colourful descriptions of the different things that were used in brewing and how Burton was the brewing capital of the world. There was a fantastic amount of historical information and some interesting facts to take away like the origination of the term "Gone for a Burton." There is some working machinery too which thrilled my young boy. Time was given to enjoy displays including the train set... And finally we all ended in the bar where the beer is excellent and the food and restaurant are politely staffed and provided quality food. I would definately go again!

Thank Gazzo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, General Manager at The National Brewery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent experience. I’m very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable birthday experience at the National brewery centre and that all of our team members looked after you and your family

Kindest Regards

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 389 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely Nicky ,she knows everything about the history of Burton, Brewery, Bass and Beer. And the Entrance fee is refunded at the end when you geht to taste different types of beer at the bar, vor habe Softdrinks instead. Definitely worth a trip!! And you geht ro see real Shire horses up close.Living giants! Even those who rather like Oldtimers or carriages will geht their money's worth

Thank SunnyBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, Manager at The National Brewery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent experience. I’m very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable guided tour and you found all aspects of the building interesting and informative. I'm also very pleased to hear that our team member Nicki looked after you

Kindest Regards

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Visited this attraction via Groupon tickets. Found it very informative and interesting. The guide Nicola Harvey was brilliant (having to contend with loud music from a function held in the nearby marquee). The museum was well laid out making use of original buildings and displayed equipment used in the brewing of ale. Our tour was approximately 90 minutes; however to do the museum justice you need to either return, or spend time after the official tour revising some of the exhibits. If you are really interested you probably need to allow 3 hours for a comprehensive review. Included in your admission price are vouchers which allow you to choose 4 x 1/4 pint of selected ales in The Beer Tap bar at the end of your tour.

Thank Marcopolo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, General Manager at The National Brewery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent experience. I’m very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to the museum and one of our great team members Nicki looked after you

Kindest Regards

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I went on spec and was not disappointed. Managed to get on a tour at 1100 and had a very good informative tour of Brewing and also social history in Burton. The tour lasts an hour and is finished with a sample of beers. The guide (Nicki?) was very informative and was able to explain and answer our questions. We were fortunate to see a working steam engine (the steaming times are limited - so check this out before a visit). Once the tour finished we were free to go around in our own time. I was a tight schedule but wished I had more time to visit; you really need at least three hours to get the best out of this museum.

Thank As_Seen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, Manager at The National Brewery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent experience. I’m very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable day and found the museum interesting, it was also great to hear that Nicki looked after you and made the day even more enjoyable

Kindest Regards

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We came here for the Fawlty Towers dining experience in the private dining room. Well, it was so funny, the three 'stars were brilliant. They put on such a fantastic act from start to finish. We had a three course meal which was lovely, the staff were very good and attentive. The manager kept an eye on the overall running of the evening and she did a great job. We are returning soon to do the brewery tour, looking forward to it.

Thank logamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david e, Manager at The National Brewery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your experience. I’m very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our fawlty towers event. These themed events are a big part of our business and are always a great success so please look out for all our fantastic future events through our website www.nationalbrewerycentre.co.uk

Kindest Regards

David Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Brewery Centre also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The National Brewery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing