We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Attraction and Guide”

The National Brewery Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Re-opened in 2010, the Centre incorporates the former Bass Museum and tells the story of the birthplace of british beer, its people and the history of brewing in the UK. Our tour guides offer daily tours at 11.00am and 2.00pm each day and really bring the story to life. Sample some of the excellent real ales brewed at the Centre's Worthington Micro Brewery or enjoy a bar meal or a full flagon banquet in our restaurant with a beer and food guide to help you appreciate the flavours of beer. The Centre's corporate and function rooms (and our 400 capacity permanent marquee) are set in the historic brewery buildings and offer a great venue for your company function, weddings, parties and social gatherings.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Attraction and Guide”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just go! This is a very good place to visit and I rally cannot say much more.The exhibits are very good and you realise how vast the Brewing Industry used to be

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank harveyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    132
    34
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“long journey”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We travelled from Suffolk for an event advertised in Best of British magazine promising a 40s /50s weekend. We booked for a meal and entertainment on the Saturday night and were looking forward to the whole thing.A couple of days before we were informed that the meal and show had been cancelled and our money would be refunded which it was. But......we had booked a hotel so decided to come up anyway. There were some vintage stalls, a young lady singing, various people in costume, but no re enactments or staged events. We enjoyed our day as we like the horses and had abtour of the brewery, but all in all a bit of a let down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lonnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rather Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Went to one of their vintage car days, and didnt think it was up to much. We arrived mid afternoon, which we did not think a problem as it was on until 6.00. We were told by the woman who gave us our tickets, that she had not been told what time any of the attractions were scheduled for. We found most attractions were finished and being cleared up.

The last guided tour round the brewery had finished, so all in all a waste of time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank morsequay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had our wedding reception here on 5/7/14 the room we hired was brilliant and looked amazing the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble and all throughout leading up to the day Dawn was very helpful and understanding everything went according to plan and we were extremely happy and all at an extremely competitive price. From the Goddards

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex boy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value visit.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Interesting exhibits, the horses were a joy. Very good value as the entrance fee included beer samples. Spent two hours looking around then sat down to excellent samples of Worthington White Shield at the bar. Pub Grub served for lunch was very good, Sausage and Mash was one of the best I've eaten out of home. Parking was free. A great way to spend half a day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Essexman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Brewery Centre also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The National Brewery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing