We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central ....I think not!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Gharb, Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Central ....I think not!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel because it was described as "Central" to find that it is a couple of miles out of town is a bit of a shock. Not really a problem to drivers but if like me you've arrived by train very very annoying.
Having said that he room is clean, spacious and very acceptable, just miles from anywhere!

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. Whilst I apologise about the issues regarding signage and hotel location, this is something we are working towards improving. The reception are always on hand to help with any travel arrangements should you need any. Thank you for your feedback and we hope this hasn't deterred you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    130
    31
    5
    6
See reviews for
154
104
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Hotel was so clean and staff very helpful and friendly, the bed was enormous never slept in a bed as big , it was bigger than king size, i slept better than i had in a long time. the reception staff were always helpful. Meals were next door at the beefeater restaurant and again the staff were great and couldn't do enough to please you, and all the food was spot on x the breakfast was lovely and bacon ooohhhhh sooo tasty and so much choice all you can eat x

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed the enormous bed and that the staff were helpful and friendly. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for the positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Premier Inn's guarantee of a comfortable night or your money back isn't worth the paper it's written on. My wife and I had a terrible nights sleep, on and off all night because of the hard beds. We told the receptionist who just said different people like different types of bed and there's nothing they could do! Like I say, waste of time having the "guarantee"

Everything else was great, couldn't fault it - but no use if you can't sleep!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrumpyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to review the Hotel, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the appropriate service on check out regarding invocating under the good night guarantee. Please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly and ask for the Manager so we can promptly resolve this issue for you. Your opinions really do matter so we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I hope this does not deter you from using Premier Inn in the future and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

As we were travelling up from London for two days at Alton towers, we booked this Premier inn a few weeks in advance for £29 a night. This is great value considering much lesser hotels and hotels on the park are considerably more.

It is a fairly new build, and although pretty boring to look at, it ticks all the boxes for a simple overnight stay. Plenty of parking, rooms are clean, a good size and smells like new still,

the foyer is small but what more do you need - and it has lifts as well. When we arrived, we asked for a room at the back to avoid noise from the Morrisons across the road, and they moved us and had my sons bed made up and extra towels delviered in 10 minutes.

The breakfast and dinner are in the new Beefeater next door which is also a great little diner and has great food for the price.

Overall, we would definitely book this again.

I guess the only downsides are that it is about 40 minutes from Alton Towers, and the hotel has no additional facilities. But really, what more do you want for £29 per night?

Room Tip: Book a room at the back (carpark side) as apparently it can get noisy out the front as it is a main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hotel, we appreciate your time. We are delighted with your comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed your £29 stay. We are pleased you received great service and thought the restaurant and breakfast was good. We hope we can welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The hotel is very new and the rooms are clean and well decorated, although there was some road noise from the main road at the front of the hotel. The reception was very helpful on arrival and it was nice to have ample parking available even though I arrived mid evening. The hotel price included breakfast, and although room rates are higher than other chains, the quality of the stay was far better.The hotel is next to a Beefeater restaurant (which provides breakfast if booked), but was also handy for an evening meal. There is a Morrisons supermarket opposite the hotel and a short walk down Wellington Road away from the city centre brings you to a McDonalds (0.5 miles) or a Toby Carvery (0.8 miles). There is also a Bannatyne Heath Club next to the McDonalds!

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the rear away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for all your comments in your review for the Hotel, we appreciate your time. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your business stay and that staff were friendly and helpful. We welcome all feedback, thank you for sharing. We hope we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. family of 5 . 2 adults and children 12, 11,9 . Booked 2 family rooms and were given inter joining rooms which we were not sure they would have .So that was a nice surprise.Beds very comfortable choice of pillows and plenty of them if you need 2 .
Nice clean room and decor. Not stayed in any other premier inns and this looked like a fairly new build which may add to the newness of everything.
Had dinner and breakfast in Berni inn opposite. Impressed by selection of food for breakfast all you can eat .Choice enough for majority of people I would think.
All in all a really nice few days with family. We dont stay in hotels that often but would think of staying in premier inns again for the value for money for a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaF222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed the interjoining rooms for your family and pleased to hear that you thought your stay was good value for money. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Room was excellent. Staff were all very polite and helpful. Beefeater next door did a great meal and breakfast was outstanding! Only complaint was the hotel's postcode took us into an industrial estate and we couldn't get through on the phone to ask for directions

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenuttyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, we appreciate the feedback you have given. We are delighted with your comments and appreciate all the praise you have given the Hotel. We are sorry to hear that the postcodetook you out of your way but glad to hear that you got to the Hotel eventually. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.6 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Address: Wellington Road | Burton On Trent, Burton upon Trent DE14 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burton upon Trent
#2 Business Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City sights, country quiet or big days out? It's all on offer at Premier Inn Hotel Burton on Trent Central. In a great location close to St George's Park, you'll also be well placed to explore business and leisure destinations around the West Midlands. Take a wild ride at Alton Towers or Drayton Manor Theme Park. Show your support at St George's Park. Enjoy an afternoon's stroll around Alrewas National Memorial Arboretum, or take a tasting tour at the National Brewery Centre. Then relax with a meal in our tasty restaurant and a great night's sleep in your extra-comfy bed. Directions: Exit A38 at Branston junction and take exit for A5121 to Burton. At traffic lights proceed forward. At roundabout take the 3rd exit, hotel is on the left hand side. Hotel is right opposite Morrisons supermarket. Sat Nav post code DE14 2AR. Transport and local information: Branston Water Park 0.8 Miles Coors Museum 2 Miles Claymills 4 Miles Rosliston Forestry Centre 6 Miles National Memorial Arboretum 7 Miles Conkers 10 Miles Twycross Zoo 14 Miles Drayton Manor 19 Miles Alton Towers 24 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing