We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Planters At Bretby Garden Centre
Price range: US$6 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This may sound surprising, but we have visitors who come to Bretby just for our food! Our restaurant manager Chris Rich-Bate has some delicious, mouth-watering new recipes all freshly prepared from local British produce and of course our staff are always on hand to offer outstanding service. Food for thought... From humble beginnings, the restaurant has continued to expand and we can now accommodate up to 200 customers - and plans are afoot to improve the layout even further. Chris and his team are proud of their reputation which is spreading beyond the local area and it is obvious to everybody that they all enjoy preparing food which is freshly made using on the finest of local ingredients. We change our menu every week and of course, if you have any suggestions for forthcoming menu ideas we are always delighted to receive them. Our restaurant also offers a delicious selection of snacks and refreshments.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“2nd visit”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

nice centre, my son was disappointed the "beach" was not longer there but had installed a wooden climbing centre. nice restaurant and shop

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Premdor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    13
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive & dirty carpets”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

After spending lots of money in the garden store, we decided to have a bite to eat in the cafe, very expensive and bland food, next time I will wipe my shoes on the way out, carpets very dirty, leather sofas not much better either..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smurfy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Planters”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I recently had cause to visit Bretby garden centre. Whilst there I sampled the food and drink in their restaurant. the food was very good and the place was clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are ever visiting Bretby garden centre or are in the area. I would recommend you try Planters.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjohn2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You need to get your carpets cleaned regular .”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Food not to bad but the carpets in the main food seating area are a disgrace . They need cleaning . I found food stains and tea and coffee all over the shop . They seem to have gone down hill in the last six months .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttonsmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Food At Bretby Garden Centre”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Have been to Bretby garden centre quite a few times now, each time I have something to eat there. Garden centres are never the cheapest for food, but the prices are there for all to see, and you have a choice to use or not. I've always had good food, last week i was there mid week, I had Jacket potato, beans and cheese, there was also plenty of salad with it. There was plenty on my plate, the food was nice and hot, the staff are very pleasant, and the tables are quickly cleared and wiped down. I have no problem giving it 5 stars, and I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Planters At Bretby Garden Centre also viewed

 

Been to Planters At Bretby Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing