We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breackfast.dinner.afternoon tea excerlant.”

Planters At Bretby Garden Centre
Price range: US$6 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This may sound surprising, but we have visitors who come to Bretby just for our food! Our restaurant manager Chris Rich-Bate has some delicious, mouth-watering new recipes all freshly prepared from local British produce and of course our staff are always on hand to offer outstanding service. Food for thought... From humble beginnings, the restaurant has continued to expand and we can now accommodate up to 200 customers - and plans are afoot to improve the layout even further. Chris and his team are proud of their reputation which is spreading beyond the local area and it is obvious to everybody that they all enjoy preparing food which is freshly made using on the finest of local ingredients. We change our menu every week and of course, if you have any suggestions for forthcoming menu ideas we are always delighted to receive them. Our restaurant also offers a delicious selection of snacks and refreshments.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“breackfast.dinner.afternoon tea excerlant.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had lunch time meal excellent..
nice just for coffee and cake.
good seroudings..staff all ways pleasant..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersatBretby, Public Relations Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your valued review, we appreciate you taking the time to comment on our centre. We look forward to welcoming you back to Planters at Bretby in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    13
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Chips were old and greasy could not eat them baguette was dry and salad not very fresh also coffee not very nice will not be eating here again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersatBretby, Public Relations Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello, I'm Ben and I'm the marketing manager for Planters at Bretby. I'd like to thank you for your much valued review, we're very sorry that your experience was less than perfect on your last visit. We'd love to discuss what went wrong a little further and hopefully improve what we do. I'd really appreciate it if you could drop me an email to ben@plantersgc.com where I'd love to have a chat about how we can improve our service and hopefully welcome you back to us x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband ordered a breakfast here was not cheap and not worth the money . Raw sausage under cooked eggs rock hard toast . The cafe was not even busy . Don't waste your money

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireWendy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersatBretby, Public Relations Manager at Planters At Bretby Garden Centre, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello, I'm Ben and I'm the marketing manager for Planters at Bretby. I'd like to thank you for your much valued review, we're very sorry that your experience was less than perfect on your last visit. We'd love to discuss what went wrong a little further and hopefully improve what we do. I'd really appreciate it if you could drop me an email to ben@plantersgc.com where I'd love to have a chat about how we can improve our service and hopefully welcome you back to us x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“well stocked centre”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

the covered area where the plants were all situated, a lovely cafe with delicious cakes, a good pet centre and gift shop

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Smelly cafe”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I have just taken my Mother for a ride out to Planters garden centre at Bretby for a cup of tea " oh dear " not an experience we will be
repeating. The cafe smelt of old cooking oil but as we only wanted a cup of tea I was not worried. I should have been. The cups had a taste of frying and the tea had a strange taste. We left in disgust having not drank it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Planters At Bretby Garden Centre also viewed

 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
 

Been to Planters At Bretby Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing