We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“As expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here with my family last weekend and found the hotel exactly as I expected. It is a reasonably new budget hotel.
Check-in was busy as there were lots of people trying to check-in early and the rooms were not ready, we had two rooms booked and were able to access one. The first room was on the first floor and the second room allocated was on the top floor. The staff were helpful enough to swap rooms for me so that we could all be together on the same floor.
Our stay was uneventful although it sounded like someone was having a firework party close by at 1am - this was nothing to do with the hotel and surprising considering we were out of town on a retail park.
Breakfast was really busy but there was plenty of food available, just not enough seats, however they did open up the conference room for us to eat in.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the playground of what seems to be a pre-school - late s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    130
    71
    11
    8
See reviews for
63
83
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hotel is generally good in all areas, room was clean but got smell coming from bathroom drains as I think the bedroom had not been used for sometime. Bit of a fight at breakfast time as self service but can't really complain. Good value. Approximately 45 min drive from Alton Towers. In close proximity to McDonald's, Toby, harvester, beefeater and Morrisons

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great welcome. Checked in a little early and they tried really hard to accommodate us. Forgot my toothbrush and reception gave me one foc.

Location is on a business park and by the A38 so is likely you'll hear that.

Room was fine. Good size and clean. All we needed for a one night stay. Fine for that but wouldn't want to stay much longer. Bed was not very comfortable and could feel some springs. Not special but acceptable for a swift stay.

Breakfast was busy but nice enough. Some cooked items plus croissants, toast, fruit, yogs etc. Won't blow you away but everything we needed including earl grey tea!

Overall not a sparkling atmosphere but is functional. Not somewhere I'd go for romance though!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkyh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights here using it as a base for a long weekend visitng attractions in the area. From our arrival to our departure the service was superb. A very warm welcome on arrival, clean room with everything we needed and at a superb price. A limited breakfast is included in the price and despite being completely full the staff managed to keep clearing the tables and maintained the level of food available.

There are a number of inexpensive restuarants all within a few minutes walk so the location is superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my daughters ,had a lovely time nothing to fault so thankyou .staff are lovely could not do enough breakfast very nice , chambermaids done a brilliant job .would defiantly return to this hotel

Room Tip: We stayed in room 117 nothing to fault and chambermaids where lovely and done a brilliant job thanky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Deborah b
Many thanks for your kind comments with regards to your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Kind regards
David Parrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This Holiday Inn Express isn't one of the most beautiful but for the price is good value for money. I stayed for a night prior to an early morning meeting and the location suited me perfectly. Arrived late and don't know what's around apart from a McDonalds - the hotel seems to be between office and retail parks. Room was fine, breakfast acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear N_McL,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the breakfast served during your stay and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

2 brilliant receptionists. Great sense of humour popping bubble wrap to Xmas carols in August. Lovely to see human staff and not robots- ladies you know who you are! Lol. Great clean room. Good air con or heater. Good space for working whilst still being able to see the tv. Food was alright ish, it filled a hole but wasn't brill. Breakfast complimentary again was ok. Coffee was very good and the service was lovely

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Helen M

Many thanks for your kind comments with regards to your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent.
Your comments will be passed on to the staff members mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

David Parrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#9 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent East...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Address: Second Avenue | Centrum 100 Business Park, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at the friendly Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent hotel, close to the A38 and A50. Our modern hotel is handily located in the Centrum 100 Business Park, just 30 minutes' drive from both Birmingham and East Midlands airports. Guests of Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent can wake up to an Express Start breakfast each morning and leave vehicles parked in our car park. Car parking is charged at £3.00 per night. All 82 of our comfortable Guest rooms have free wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs. You can host events for up to 65 guests in Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent's 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms. We're easy for your delegates to reach with convenient links to Birmingham, Derby, Nottingham and Stoke-on-Trent via the A50, A42, M6 and M1. Major conferences and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC are just 30 minutes drive from our hotel. Spacious Family rooms make us a good choice if you're visiting the nearby National Memorial Arboretum or thrilling Alton Towers theme park, a 45-minute drive away. Back at Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent, you can relax over drinks with friends and choose pub-style evening meals from the dinner menu in our sociable Great Room. Kids aged 12 and under eat free when accompanied by a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Holiday Inn Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing