We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and value for money”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights and the rooms are spacious and clean. The reception staff were helpful. The breakfast in the morning was good. We could hear the traffic from the road on one night however it did not spoil our stay. It was however a good value hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear RosD20

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent.
I'm pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay.
Please accept my apologises for the road noise, we try where possible to accommodate guests on the quieter side but during busy periods this isn't always possible.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
David Parrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    132
    73
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
85
12
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were attending a wedding at the nearby Alrewas Hayes and stayed on a saturday night. We had a double room with a double Z-bed (which we didnt need in the end) The room was fairly small and basic but was very clean and had everything you could need. We asked for some glasses and an ice bucket from the bar and the reception team were great and got these for us immediately. The bathroom was very clean - but watch out for the shower as it is incredibly hot!
Overall, would definately recommend for a quick stay over.

Room Tip: Watch out for the shower - the water is scalding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Helen B

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent.
I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff force, it is always extremely rewarding to hear positive feedback.
We hope to be able to welcome you back within the near future.

Kind regards
David Parrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
268 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Must be the most friendly, helpful staff I've encountered on business travelling. The hotel is very close to a busy road and this can be heard albeit not obtrusively throughout the night.

I'm afraid I did find the bed too soft and a lot of sound coming from other rooms, but on the plus side the shower was great and loved the free tea and coffee in the lounge/bar area.

Like another reviewer, that egg substitute in the morning was not pleasant at all, but then the sausages were excellent. However, the food was well laid out, really great 'drip' coffee and as much as you wanted.

I think the hotel really provides excellent value for money and service with a true smile!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear londonlady2

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent.

I'll be sure to pass on your great comments to staff here.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Parrett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel clean & the rooms are more than adequate. Shower was hot & powerful. You can eat & drink in the lobby should you need to, although nearby Toby Carvery & beefeater are also ok. Plenty of car parking. I liked the vending machines in the lobby should you need anything. One of the best cheaper hotels & I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spooky100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Spooky100

Thank you for leaving a review for The Holiday Inn in Burton on Trent.
I'm glad to hear your stay with us met your expectations and that you'll be happy to stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back should you be in the Burton area in the near future.

Kind regards
David Parrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I am 70+ and was travelling alone so a little apprehensive prior to checking in for an overnight stay.
Friendly welcome on arrival and fast check-in.
The room was spotlessly clean, in excellent condition and the bed was extremely comfortable with a choice of pillow comfort.
Continental-style breakfast was self service and good choice.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear jeanhartley

I was pleased to read the review you left for the Holiday Inn Express in Burton on Trent and I'm elated to see we met your high expectations.
We welcome all age groups and party sizes here at our hotel and I'm glad to see you felt safe whilst being a lone traveller.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
David Parrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is bright and clean however I found the staff were not all that friendly or helpful. The free wi-fi access is a good selling point but I felt the hotel made access far more compliated than it needed to be. I would stay here again but it should be a better hotel than it actually is.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear J D,

Thank you for your taking the time to evaluate our property. I am elated that our free WIFI exceeded your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with our staff service. I appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate people and departments.

We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I had a one night stay as i was on business in the area. The hotel was very easy to find and the car park had plenty of empty spots.
The checkin and checkout were quick and efficient and i was offerred free wi fi .My room was comfortable, very clean with all the usuall things you would expect,
. I did not eat here as i find HIE food pretty poor but the breakfast was adequate. Overall a good stay and for the price value for money, if i am in the area again i would certainly stop here again and would reommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Wrenvend

Thank you for leaving a review for The Holiday Inn in Burton on Trent.
I'm glad to hear your stay with us met your expectations and that you'll be happy to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
David Parrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
209 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
478 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Property: Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Address: Second Avenue | Centrum 100 Business Park, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at the friendly Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent hotel, close to the A38 and A50. Our modern hotel is handily located in the Centrum 100 Business Park, just 30 minutes' drive from both Birmingham and East Midlands airports. Guests of Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent can wake up to an Express Start breakfast each morning and leave vehicles parked in our car park. Car parking is charged at £3.00 per night. All 82 of our comfortable Guest rooms have free wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs. You can host events for up to 65 guests in Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent's 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms. We're easy for your delegates to reach with convenient links to Birmingham, Derby, Nottingham and Stoke-on-Trent via the A50, A42, M6 and M1. Major conferences and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC are just 30 minutes drive from our hotel. Spacious Family rooms make us a good choice if you're visiting the nearby National Memorial Arboretum or thrilling Alton Towers theme park, a 45-minute drive away. Back at Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent, you can relax over drinks with friends and choose pub-style evening meals from the dinner menu in our sociable Great Room. Kids aged 12 and under eat free when accompanied by a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Holiday Inn Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing