We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Myself and a colleague stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We managed to get a upgrade to a king-size room for no extra charge by calling the hotel prior to arrival. The rooms were very modern, a good size and exceptionally clean. There was plenty of parking, the staff were friendly, polite and helpful and for these reasons it was better than other hotels we have stayed at in the area. However, what we were disappointed with was the food. The continental breakfast was very basic and the quality was poor, and there was no option for a full english. We also ate in the hotel one night and again found the quality of the food to be very poor. I would recommend staying at this hotel but would certainly find alternative meal arrangements.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

Booked this hotel for two nights as we where visiting Drayton Manor over Easter weekend.
Excellent hotel, Paid £49.00 for two nights what a bargain.Room very clean and modern with flat screen tv with 11 free channels also pay movie channels.Relaxing Pub across car park 2 mins walk serving pub grub which was very tasty called Corner House.
Hotel have menu's for takeaway service and happy to arrange also provide paltes etc, can eat in room or lobby area.
Lobby area has large flat tv wall mounted and nice to sit with drink watch tv or read for 10 mins time out. Also outside sitting, away from this area smokers are provided with heat lampif you feel the need.
Staff that we spoke too all very proffessional and frendly.
Really enjoyable stay, were just looking for somewhere to sleep to turned into nice break.Also 5 mins by car into town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night and considering the low price of a room I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. It has been recently refurbished so all the rooms are clean and nicely decorated with a flatscreen TV (about free 10 channels available). Breakfast is only continental but there was still a reasonable choice and there's always Morrisons on the same estate if you're desperate for a fry-up. The hotel doesn't do food in the evenings but there is a pub next door which offers reasonably priced meals. There was a small business centre in the lobby but it's 25p per minute to use the internet or £15 a day to use their wi-fi service - surely all brand hotels should be offering free wi-fi by now?

Apart from this minor quibble i'd recommend this hotel if you want a good budget hotel on the Staffordshire/Derbyshire border.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshiregal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We struggled to find a reasonably priced hotel to stay after a long day at Alton Towers as we left it a bit last minute due to the terrible weather last summer. \when this hotel had a family room free I thought the worst, but this hotel was lovely and clean, the LCD tv was a nice touch, the room was lovely and clean and the breakfasts are great with a help yourself buffet and eat as much as you like. There is a great pub right next door which does great pub food and is reasonably priced. Would definately book again on our next visit to Alton Towers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khristyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Booked this hotel as part of a LastMinute.com package with a 2 day pass to Alton Towers. After reading up on all the other hotels on offer (and not being entirely impressed by others comments) I settled on the 'supposed' 2 star Express By Holiday Inn, Burton-upon-Trent. But upon arriving I can say this is definitely NOT a 2 star, it's easily 3 and a half.
We had 2 rooms, both were presented well, nice decor and fittings. Very comfy bed, LCD TV, good sized bathroom and A/C.
I don't think there is a restaurant on site, but there is a very good pub (just refurbished, very nice) about 30m away. And for those who want a Big Mac, there's a McD's across the road.
The hotel is sort of on the outskirts of the town, but we were so tired from the awesome day at Alton Towers, we had dinner at the pub and went straight to bed.
Breakfast was included, and whilst there was no full English on offer, the toast & muffins & cereal was adequate.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mat_in_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TigerTimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
515 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
281 reviews
3 mi away
Travelodge Burton
Travelodge Burton
#7 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
122 reviews
2 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent

Address: 2nd Avenue Parkway | 100 Centrum, Burton upon Trent DE14 2WF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: £51 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at the friendly Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent hotel, close to the A38 and A50. Our modern hotel is handily located in the Centrum 100 Business Park, just 30 minutes' drive from both Birmingham and East Midlands airports. Guests of Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent can wake up to an Express Start breakfast each morning and leave vehicles parked in our car park. Car parking is charged at £3.00 per night. All 82 of our comfortable Guest rooms have free wireless Internet and flat-screen TVs. You can host events for up to 65 guests in Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent's 3 air-conditioned meeting rooms. We're easy for your delegates to reach with convenient links to Birmingham, Derby, Nottingham and Stoke-on-Trent via the A50, A42, M6 and M1. Major conferences and exhibitions at Birmingham NEC are just 30 minutes drive from our hotel. Spacious Family rooms make us a good choice if you're visiting the nearby National Memorial Arboretum or thrilling Alton Towers theme park, a 45-minute drive away. Back at Holiday Inn Express Burton upon Trent, you can relax over drinks with friends and choose pub-style evening meals from the dinner menu in our sociable Great Room. Kids aged 12 and under eat free when accompanied by a paying adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Holiday Inn Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Burton-Upon-Trent Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing