We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the moment we arrived at this hotel it was beyond our expectations. We had booked a weekend deal to visit family and friends and were pleasantly suprised. We were given a suite and it had a 4 poster bed and a jacuzzi bath!!! once we got used to the fact that this is an old property and floors not necessarily even it all added to the character. The service was faultless and the staff were really friendly particularly the night porter who let us in "late" on 2 occassions. The food was exceptional and the added touches such as the morning tea and newspapers made you feel as though you were valued guests. Definately recommend a stay and we are looking forward to returning

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibs1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed in the Waldorf in London at Christmas,it was over priced and pretentious, I will not go back.................... I will return to The Three Queens.
Ok it looks abit worn in places but they are working on it. From arriving the service was excellent, pleasant friendly receptionist who checked you in quickly and then showed you to your room, a well manicured finger pointed to the lift at The Waldorf!!
Very nice executive room, lovely and clean. though not the most comfortable bed Ive slept in.
We paid £190 for two nights with meal's included, and what value for money........... Dinner the first night delicious, best Goats Cheese and Red Pepper Tart Ive ever tasted, the food is excellent. Lovely Waiter who spent the time to give us some history of the place when we asked. Next morning Tea and Newspaper brought to the room, never had that before without paying for it.
Very good full breakfast, the menu choice was very good inc Kippers, Haddock, eggs on toast etc.
Again Dinner that Evening was excellent, the Chef had forgotton to inc a Veggie option but I was offered the Mushroom Rissoto from Al a Carte and while we were waiting the Chef sent 'nibbles' as an apology Lovely.
All the little extra's like morning cuppa in bed and complimentary newspapers are a nice touch,and you can have your meals in your room at no extra charge.Also includes free parking and if you are staying mid week they wash your car!!!!!!
We went for the Large Model Airshow so if you have a reason to be in the area I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I cannot praise the hotel enough. We stayed on a Special Deal and found the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The quality of food is excellent both at breakfast and for the evening meal. Our room had everything you would possible need and plenty of drawer space which is often lacking in many hotels. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We anticipated from the start that this hotel was going to be a good find. From the moment we arrived at the reception desk it was clear that the ethos of this hotel is friendly, helpful staff providing a really good service.
The room was very clean, comfortable and welcoming - not the usual functional arrangements! We stayed for 2 nights while we visited the Inland Waterways Festival. All the staff were fantastic. They were helpful and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The restaurant was great.. nice atmosphere, good food and again, very helpful (I have a gluten free diet). Nothing was too much trouble. A big thank you to everyone who made us so welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights as our base for Alton Towers. Was walking distance from the shops. We stayed in the new Lodge. Family room was fabulous and big and the bathroom was very luxurious. Only 1 down side was the room was very warm (with no heating on) so a fan would have been welcome but didn't put us off.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My husband and I ,being retired now, were in the area doing some gentle research into family history as some of my relatives had lived and worked in Burton-on Trent and Barton-under-Needwood nearby. One had worked for Bass all his life, so we found it extremely interesting to go on a conducted tour in the National Brewery Centre ( 5 mins. walk from the hotel). The free tasters of beer were a bonus as Burton beer is really something special. Just opposite the hotel is the Burton Bridge Brewery, the last small independent brewery, where again we experienced authentic Burton beer. We did not have a car (but family members who visited us by car found ample space in the hotel car-park) so we used the local bus services to get to Barton , and also the the National Memorial Arboretum - unmissable. As we only booked a 3-night stay at the hotel, it can be seen we did quite a lot during our short stay.

Although the Three Queens (so called,we were told, because queens Mary, Anne and Victoria had all once slept there) is situated on a busy street, at no time were we disturbed by noise of traffic - even though our bedroom overlooked Bridge Street. The room, and bathroom, were spacious and generously furnished in keeping with the building's architectural heritage. The bed was most comfortable. The breakfasts were
a delight, with food cooked to order (the Arnold Bennet omelette being especially recommended by us both).

The best feature of the Three Queens I have left till last, which is the fine cuisine and pleasing ambience of their Grill Room restaurant . The menu provided a good range of choice, and whatever dish was selected it did not disappoint.( I think my husband would strongly recommend the slow-cooked beef.)

We found all the staff most friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them.
With our research completed, we may not go to Burton again, but for anyone else staying in the area we can thoroughly recommend the Three Queens Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive room and were totally satisfied with it. There are Standard rooms and Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The location isn't great being surrounded by busy roads but nonetheless we didn't really hear much traffic noise.
Our accommodation was clean, well presented and perfectly adequate for our needs.
The restaurant meal was very good, the breakfast even better, just how the full English should be, hot, fresh, perfect egg and nice bacon and sausage rather than the hideous cheapo catering fare that many places serve

I cannot overstate how nice the staff were, they were so friendly and really gave the impression that they were determined to make your stay as pleasant as possible and nothing was too much trouble, for example; we were on a motorbike and when we asked if there was a secure place to park the bike they were prepared to let us lock it in a hotel storeroom, in the end we left it in the car park but it was a still a brilliant they they had gone the bit extra to meet our request.

So I would sum up, good value made even better by excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onmebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: £41 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing