We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed 25 September 2011

On arrival at the hotel the staff were fantastic. The service, rooms and staff were excellent. The outside of the hotel does not do the inside justice. A group of 30 of us stayed at the hotel for two consecutive years and would not hesitate to go there again for a third year. The evening meal was excellent and so was the breakfast. All the room were of a very high standard and the staff, especially Julia who I believe is the manager could not do enough for everybody. I would reccomend that anyone who is going to stay in Burton look no further than this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just back from Burton on Trent where we stayed at this hotel and we would definately recommend staying there. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite and it was so spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and everywhere very clean. We only ate breakfast there, the choice was very good and the food was very enjoyable. Next time we would have evening meals too. All the staff were very cheerful and very helpful. Roll on our next visit. Mrs & Mr Walton. Lincs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martiandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the moment we arrived at this hotel it was beyond our expectations. We had booked a weekend deal to visit family and friends and were pleasantly suprised. We were given a suite and it had a 4 poster bed and a jacuzzi bath!!! once we got used to the fact that this is an old property and floors not necessarily even it all added to the character. The service was faultless and the staff were really friendly particularly the night porter who let us in "late" on 2 occassions. The food was exceptional and the added touches such as the morning tea and newspapers made you feel as though you were valued guests. Definately recommend a stay and we are looking forward to returning

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibs1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed in the Waldorf in London at Christmas,it was over priced and pretentious, I will not go back.................... I will return to The Three Queens.
Ok it looks abit worn in places but they are working on it. From arriving the service was excellent, pleasant friendly receptionist who checked you in quickly and then showed you to your room, a well manicured finger pointed to the lift at The Waldorf!!
Very nice executive room, lovely and clean. though not the most comfortable bed Ive slept in.
We paid £190 for two nights with meal's included, and what value for money........... Dinner the first night delicious, best Goats Cheese and Red Pepper Tart Ive ever tasted, the food is excellent. Lovely Waiter who spent the time to give us some history of the place when we asked. Next morning Tea and Newspaper brought to the room, never had that before without paying for it.
Very good full breakfast, the menu choice was very good inc Kippers, Haddock, eggs on toast etc.
Again Dinner that Evening was excellent, the Chef had forgotton to inc a Veggie option but I was offered the Mushroom Rissoto from Al a Carte and while we were waiting the Chef sent 'nibbles' as an apology Lovely.
All the little extra's like morning cuppa in bed and complimentary newspapers are a nice touch,and you can have your meals in your room at no extra charge.Also includes free parking and if you are staying mid week they wash your car!!!!!!
We went for the Large Model Airshow so if you have a reason to be in the area I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I cannot praise the hotel enough. We stayed on a Special Deal and found the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The quality of food is excellent both at breakfast and for the evening meal. Our room had everything you would possible need and plenty of drawer space which is often lacking in many hotels. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We anticipated from the start that this hotel was going to be a good find. From the moment we arrived at the reception desk it was clear that the ethos of this hotel is friendly, helpful staff providing a really good service.
The room was very clean, comfortable and welcoming - not the usual functional arrangements! We stayed for 2 nights while we visited the Inland Waterways Festival. All the staff were fantastic. They were helpful and friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The restaurant was great.. nice atmosphere, good food and again, very helpful (I have a gluten free diet). Nothing was too much trouble. A big thank you to everyone who made us so welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights as our base for Alton Towers. Was walking distance from the shops. We stayed in the new Lodge. Family room was fabulous and big and the bathroom was very luxurious. Only 1 down side was the room was very warm (with no heating on) so a fan would have been welcome but didn't put us off.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central Hotel
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
502 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: £42 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing