We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I travelled from Canada and stayed in Three Queens Hotel for one night...having read many of the reviews I was looking forward to my stay. The room was a nice size but basic and tired with old beds and worn carpets.

I paid 100 pounds for one night for a room that any where else would cost 40 pounds ....and then I was told I had to pay extra for wifi .... seriously what hotel in this day and age can't afford to offer free wifi.

On the up side ..the staff were friendly and did make my stay pleasant. I however will not be staying again in this basic hotel with its inflated ego.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    139
    46
    31
    26
See reviews for
43
196
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly. We'd booked a room in the lodge and we were expecting basic room but walked in to a beautiful inviting room with sofa, arm chair and 4 poster bed. The room was spotless and so so comfortable. We returned to the hotel after attending a wedding and the night porter was a delight to chat to, making coffee and joking with the guests, nothing seemed like to much trouble. The breakfast service in the morning was the same friendly atmosphere and each breakfast was cooked to order. We have no reason to go back to Burton but are trying to find one just so we can stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMay216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I was just visiting Burton overnight and this hotel looked good value so I booked online. First off, it is easy to find, coming from the M1 and it has decent parking too. Reception was efficient and showed me to my room. I had booked a standard single but that had been upgraded (at no cost) to executive. Not sure what a standard room would be like but the executive single was very nice - threequarter double bed, the usual amenities and a really nice bathrooom.
I rolled back into the hotel at 1am, after attending a friend's 60th and the night porter was very understanding! (Burton upon Trent is the capital of real ale so inevitably a lot got drunk!)
Included in the price is a cup of morning tea or coffee brought to your room and your choice of complimentary newspaper. There are also tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Breakfast was excellent with a huge range of choices, including the full fat English, kippers and omelets. The staff were friendly and efficient and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit the midlands and to explore the beer heritage One more thing, the reception area contains a fantastic range of cartoons (originals?) on the theme of Oliver Cromwell - very funny!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13thEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Have stayed in this hotel a couple of times whilst visiting friends, on both occasions have received a very warm welcome and shown to our rooms. Extremely clean and beds very comfortable. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and again staff were very hospitable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We weren't sure what to expect, but can only agree with other reviews on this site. The parking was excellent and the hotel itself was easy to find. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly and we had help upstairs with bags etc. The rooms were very clean and there were complimentary toiletries. The decor wasn't the most modern, but the bathrooms had obviously been upgraded fairly recently. The breakfast was lovely and again the service was superb. We both thought it cheap at the price. We would have no hesitation in staying there again and we are happy to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forteanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Ash
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

On arrival at the hotel the staff were fantastic. The service, rooms and staff were excellent. The outside of the hotel does not do the inside justice. A group of 30 of us stayed at the hotel for two consecutive years and would not hesitate to go there again for a third year. The evening meal was excellent and so was the breakfast. All the room were of a very high standard and the staff, especially Julia who I believe is the manager could not do enough for everybody. I would reccomend that anyone who is going to stay in Burton look no further than this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just back from Burton on Trent where we stayed at this hotel and we would definately recommend staying there. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite and it was so spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and everywhere very clean. We only ate breakfast there, the choice was very good and the food was very enjoyable. Next time we would have evening meals too. All the staff were very cheerful and very helpful. Roll on our next visit. Mrs & Mr Walton. Lincs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martiandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
305 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
2.6 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing