We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Lovely hotel,very friendly staff,excellent food,nicest ever stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My partner & l have just returned from a weekend stay,21st & 22nd Sept.We booked through the Groupon deal but upgraded to the Elizabeth suite,lovely four poster bed,jacuzzi etc,lovely room full of charm & Olde worlde,just what we like.
On arriving we were warmly greeted & shown to our room,which was a first for us,my first impression of the room was that we were visiting a stalely home,the room was huge with a marble fireplace,oak beams, four poster bed,chesterfield settee,lovely lamps,and very nice wardrobe & dressing table,l could go on...
The bathroom was huge too with a jacuzzi two sinks,freestanding shower,& complimentary toileteries.It really had the wow factor & was spotlessly clean all looked pretty recent refurbishment.I could've spent all day just relaxing in the jacuzzi myself!
We were offered a complimentary newspaper in the mornings,also a nice touch was a chocolate on our pillow.We had tea, coffee & biscuits in our rooms that were replenished every day.
Although we visited on a very busy weekend & the staff were rushed off their feet,they were fantastic & couldn't do enough for us in the restaurant especially.We had a laugh with the staff & our thank's go especially to Paul & Paula a good team in the restaurant,they were lovely.Also on the second night was the young lad Henry who was working on both reception & the bar,he couldn't do enough.
The breakfast staff were lovely too & were on hand to offer us top ups & whatever we wanted.
The food in the restaurant was out of this world,I gather they have a Michelin star chef.
This was our first visit to this hotel & l have to say that although we often go for hotel breaks this hotel knocks spots off the others for their extra little touches at no extra cost.We shall be returning again soon & just wished we'd booked another night or two.
Many thank's for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night in September 2012 using our Groupon voucher which was great value. The staff were most welcoming and couldn't be more helpful and friendly. They were also very efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was excellent, both the evening meals and the served breakfasts. The whole hotel was inviting and pleasantly decorated. The bedroom was very clean and included most of the normal facilities.
The location was great, a 2 minute walk from a riverside stroll and 10 minutes from the town centre. Although our room overlooked a busy road junction, traffic noise was hardly noticeable. Car parking is ample and free.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We Stayed for two nights Saturday and Sunday 15th-16th September 2012
This is a Very Welcoming Hotel, Check in was Fast Smooth and Efficient.
We Upgraded to The Victoria Suite which overlooked the street so expected a bit of traffic noise etc. Our room was not modern but full of character and the style of the room was appropriate for a Listed Building Dating back to c1500. It was very comfortable, with plenty of room, airy and light.with a beautifull modern bathroom with shower and bath.and air conditioning.
We had two Modern Flat screen tvs with internet access through the tv and also access to Films on a pay basis using the Genesis entertainment system.
We also had access to the Internet with our Laptop from Two Hubs in the Room which plugged straight into the computor.
All the Team at the Hotel were Fantastic and Couldnt do enough for you, Nothing Was too much Trouble. They Catered for our every need, All we had to do was Ask!
The Food and the Service we couldnt fault. Everything we asked for we got, Not a problem.
We asked for Duck Cooked Pink and it was.We requested Steak cooked Medium and it was spot on. The Breakfasts were Faultless and the taste Wonderful .Our Compliments to the Chef
If You Like Real Ale there is a pub across the road which is well worth a visit,Small but Quaint and Good choice of ales
We Would Recommend this Hotel to anyone,It has Private Parking and easy access and egress
Thanks to everone we met for making our stay a wonderfull experience

Room Tip: If You want a quieter room Maybe one in the Courtyard or the newer part of the Hotel would suit you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CUMBRIAVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The staff at this hotel were all extremely helpful and approachable. Their friendly demeanor made us feel very comfortable and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The evening meals were in a relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant and the food was gorgeous with very attentive restaurant manager and staff. Likewise, breakfast was a really good meal served by friendly, and again, very attentive staff. Reception staff and overnight staff were also supportive and helpful. Location, good - very close to town centre with a large car park. Facilities in our room were good and the old building is very charming and characterful - so good to be in a place with a bit of history rather than a modern sterile concrete block. Would definitely come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

It really beggars belief that tripadvisor can rate this the #2 hotel in Burton! Really people?! The room decor was tatty & worn and badly in need of modernisation. The bathroom was just grotty with a loo that didn't flush, taps caked in limescale and a worn out suite that was out of the 1970s. The only modern feature was the large flatscreen tv, but that was it. Not even a kettle.

That said, the service was ok and they even bring you a cup of tea and a paper in the morning, if you want. Breakfast seemed a bit chaotic and was slow to arrive. But it was a nice fry up when it arrived.

Location is near the town centre on a busy road, so dont expect a good nights sleep without earplugs.

So in summary, a decent level of service which is let down by tatty & tired premises. So its 3 stars from me, and thats being generous.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich201367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldHotelier, Owner at The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for your kind remarks about the service and I am sorry you didn't like your room. Our rooms are not 'modern' in style as this would be innapropriate in a building dating back to 1531 and with several restrictions from the Conservation bodies. However, the suite is not from the 1970's, the hotel was only built within the building in 1992 and the rooms were all totally refurbished in 2005. Since then a rolling programme of improvements has added large flat screen televisions all with the latest Genesis entertainment system. As for the kettle, its in the drawer marked 'Courtesy Tray'. It would be easy to follow the route of the many group hotels with standard modern bedrooms all uniform in size, but surely there is room in the marketplace for hotels with character and good personal service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and two teenagers have just returned from an extremely enjoyable stay at the Three Queens Hotel. We were accomodated in one of the Lodges and, at the budget price, our expectations weren't too high. However, our light and spacious Family room was a very pleasant surprise. Immaculately clean and very well appointed,we found everything we could possibly need...piles of fluffy towels,kettle and tea and coffee pleased the adults,whilst a large plasma TV and Wi-Fi kept the youngsters happy. The first night of our stay we ate in the Hotels' Restaurant. Service was excellent-attentive yet not overbearing. The food was second to none.Beautifully presented and of top quality ingredients,our childrens' faces were a picture. Following a most comfortable nights' sleep,we were presented with a lengthy and very temting breakfast menu which,as well as the usual items,also had on offer smoked fish,American waffles with berries and Arnold Bennett omlette. Again,service was excellent.(We did observe a waiter dealing with a particularly difficult lady with remarkable patience!)
We stayed at the Three Queens en-route to Alton Towers from our East Yorkshire home,but extended our stay by a second night because we were so happy with our accomodation and the service at the Hotel . We definitely can unreservedly reccommend you try it!

Room Tip: The Lodges overlook a fairly busy road junction but the double glazing prevents excessive noise, how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at the Three Queens for two nights on a Groupon offer, and were delighted with the level of service from all of the staff who were all very friendly. The hotel is well situated, close to the town and brewing museum (within easy walking distance), the rooms are clean and a good size with lifts to all floors. The food is of a very good standard with good wines at a fair price. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeg2002uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
80 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#2 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
431 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#4 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
337 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range: £54 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing