We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I am full of praise for this hotel, we stayed here 2 nights from the 28th September and from booking in until leaving we couldnt fault anything. We were a large party for a special weekend the staff were terrific, nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent the room was clean and decorated to reflect the period of the hotel. Absolutely fantastic weekend and would certainly recommend Three Queens to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan11149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    144
    48
    33
    26
See reviews for
47
200
36
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Booked this through Groupon and Arrived Saturday around 4.oopm, to be told our room was number 14, well I am sure that room should have been a store cupboard and at the last minute threw a bed in there, the view was and old peeling roof and things dumped there, went down for "dinner" we were quite sure the person who cooks there (they do not deserve the word chef) ran down to iceland and got me a chicken breast in breadcrumbs and then cremated it for good measure, went back up to room and the heat would have killed you, no window up there and outside the door they kept old broken furniture, so was scared to keep the door open in case anything was living in the old chairs, if we had not have had a drink we would have drove home.

The breakfast in the morning worst I have ever had, really cheap bacon, sausage and the egg was done to a crisp.
We eat out at least 2 times per week, usually go away at least once a month, this was the worst place I have ever been in home and abroad!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My partner booked a stay in September with a Groupon voucher as a relaxing weekend away. We usually go to London but wanted a change of pace and it would also enable us to visit relations.

My partner had also booked the Elisabeth suite, and as we entered the building we were warmly greeted, booked in and shown to our room, the receptionist even carried my partner’s case to the room, we entered and found a lovely room that had a high ceiling with oak beams, there was a TV in the far corner with a chesterfield settee and coffee table, there was a fireplace and a wardrobe to the right. At the entrance there was a four poster bed with a chocolate on the pillow and a dressing table, the room was clean and tidy and there were complimentary biscuits and drinks in the suite. We then wondered where the bathroom was we went back into the corridor and found the entrance in the bathroom. In there were a Jacuzzi, shower cubical and a double sink with smellies. Let’s put it this way my partner is already thinking can she have the Jacuzzi in our house!!

We unpacked and went into town, we asked for directions and the receptionist gave us directions to the town centre and asked what time we would like dinner.

We went to dinner and we had a lovely meal, Ok it took time for the food to come out, we found out that they were short staffed but the staff were brilliant, they were very friendly and polite, I had the muscles in white wine, followed by the pork and the tiramisu.. The muscles were freshly cooked and the broth was delicious, the pork was crispy and succulent and the tiramisu was a good finish to the meal.

We both slept well and went down to breakfast, this was fabulous, as much orange and tea or coffee as you would ever want, Cereal, fruit and either a continental or full English breakfast which was freshly cooked. The staff were again really friendly and nothing was too much trouble, We went all day without having to eat again. We decided to go into Derby for the day and asked reception for the directions to the railway station, the receptionist called up a map and showed me the directions and also offered to print a map for us.

Dinner on the Saturday evening was even better than the night before my partner had the prawn cocktail the presentation was superb I’ve never seen a prawn cocktail like it the prawns were in a basket made with cucumber and I was told it tasted fantastic, I had the chicken Liver Pate, it was lovely and smooth and being greedy I finished the lot! We both had the chicken and followed with the cheese board. Again the meal took a long time to come out but again the staff were again brilliant and made the night, nothing was too much trouble. We sat in the bar area after the meal and chatted with two other couples that were near us, the night porter came in and we had a chat, we were in fits of laughter when he told us about the ghosts in the cellar.

Again breakfast set us up for the next day as we drove off to see our relations.

We came for a lovely relaxing weekend and that’s what we were after, the staff especially Paul, Paula and Henry in the restaurant were fantastic and not forgetting the ladies serving the breakfast, the little touches like remembering our names and showing us to our rooms, you wouldn’t get in mainstream hotel chains.

We had read the reviews on trip advisor before booking this and after visiting we fell that the 5 star reviews are an accurate reflection of the hotel, my partner and I will be going back to the Three Queens Hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: If you can afford it try the Elizabeth suite really quiet and a big step up from a normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterboro_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My partner & l have just returned from a weekend stay,21st & 22nd Sept.We booked through the Groupon deal but upgraded to the Elizabeth suite,lovely four poster bed,jacuzzi etc,lovely room full of charm & Olde worlde,just what we like.
On arriving we were warmly greeted & shown to our room,which was a first for us,my first impression of the room was that we were visiting a stalely home,the room was huge with a marble fireplace,oak beams, four poster bed,chesterfield settee,lovely lamps,and very nice wardrobe & dressing table,l could go on...
The bathroom was huge too with a jacuzzi two sinks,freestanding shower,& complimentary toileteries.It really had the wow factor & was spotlessly clean all looked pretty recent refurbishment.I could've spent all day just relaxing in the jacuzzi myself!
We were offered a complimentary newspaper in the mornings,also a nice touch was a chocolate on our pillow.We had tea, coffee & biscuits in our rooms that were replenished every day.
Although we visited on a very busy weekend & the staff were rushed off their feet,they were fantastic & couldn't do enough for us in the restaurant especially.We had a laugh with the staff & our thank's go especially to Paul & Paula a good team in the restaurant,they were lovely.Also on the second night was the young lad Henry who was working on both reception & the bar,he couldn't do enough.
The breakfast staff were lovely too & were on hand to offer us top ups & whatever we wanted.
The food in the restaurant was out of this world,I gather they have a Michelin star chef.
This was our first visit to this hotel & l have to say that although we often go for hotel breaks this hotel knocks spots off the others for their extra little touches at no extra cost.We shall be returning again soon & just wished we'd booked another night or two.
Many thank's for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night in September 2012 using our Groupon voucher which was great value. The staff were most welcoming and couldn't be more helpful and friendly. They were also very efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was excellent, both the evening meals and the served breakfasts. The whole hotel was inviting and pleasantly decorated. The bedroom was very clean and included most of the normal facilities.
The location was great, a 2 minute walk from a riverside stroll and 10 minutes from the town centre. Although our room overlooked a busy road junction, traffic noise was hardly noticeable. Car parking is ample and free.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We Stayed for two nights Saturday and Sunday 15th-16th September 2012
This is a Very Welcoming Hotel, Check in was Fast Smooth and Efficient.
We Upgraded to The Victoria Suite which overlooked the street so expected a bit of traffic noise etc. Our room was not modern but full of character and the style of the room was appropriate for a Listed Building Dating back to c1500. It was very comfortable, with plenty of room, airy and light.with a beautifull modern bathroom with shower and bath.and air conditioning.
We had two Modern Flat screen tvs with internet access through the tv and also access to Films on a pay basis using the Genesis entertainment system.
We also had access to the Internet with our Laptop from Two Hubs in the Room which plugged straight into the computor.
All the Team at the Hotel were Fantastic and Couldnt do enough for you, Nothing Was too much Trouble. They Catered for our every need, All we had to do was Ask!
The Food and the Service we couldnt fault. Everything we asked for we got, Not a problem.
We asked for Duck Cooked Pink and it was.We requested Steak cooked Medium and it was spot on. The Breakfasts were Faultless and the taste Wonderful .Our Compliments to the Chef
If You Like Real Ale there is a pub across the road which is well worth a visit,Small but Quaint and Good choice of ales
We Would Recommend this Hotel to anyone,It has Private Parking and easy access and egress
Thanks to everone we met for making our stay a wonderfull experience

Room Tip: If You want a quieter room Maybe one in the Courtyard or the newer part of the Hotel would suit you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUMBRIAVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The staff at this hotel were all extremely helpful and approachable. Their friendly demeanor made us feel very comfortable and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The evening meals were in a relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant and the food was gorgeous with very attentive restaurant manager and staff. Likewise, breakfast was a really good meal served by friendly, and again, very attentive staff. Reception staff and overnight staff were also supportive and helpful. Location, good - very close to town centre with a large car park. Facilities in our room were good and the old building is very charming and characterful - so good to be in a place with a bit of history rather than a modern sterile concrete block. Would definitely come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burton upon Trent hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Central Hotel
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent Cen...
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grail Court Hotel
The Grail Court Hotel
#11 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
74 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
491 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#5 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
309 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
Address: 1 Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1SY, England (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tracing our roots, this 16th Century Hotel hides a venue for personal service, modern meeting facilities, Bar and Restaurant. We have 62 rooms in total within the Hotel and Lodge. These rooms range from our well-equipped standard singles through executive air-conditioned doubles and Four-Posters to luxury suites and newly refurbished Lodge. Facilities include an in-room entertainment system, 24 hour room service, car park and free WiFi in Public areas. Ideal for trips to The National Brewery Centre, Donington Park, Alton Towers, the Derbyshire Peak District or even the National Memorial Arboretum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Queens Hotel
Hotel Three Queens
The Three Queens Hotel And Lodge Burton Upon Trent, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing